We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont expect a hilton hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We arrived on easter weekend to a rushed reception no information about the hotel got into the room and called 3 times and several hours later to have the pubic hairs removed from the bathroom then the girl at the bar charged for kids meals that are included in my booking later to be refunded . Then on easter day the kids where chased down by a member of staff for finding easter eggs as he thought they where stealing and the easter egg hunt hadnt started when we had just asked at the desk and was advised it had it was very embarising in front of the entire foye of familys he then apoligised this just ruined our break and when i got home and complained to the manager she replyed saying we where liars.Some of the staff need basic training on customer care.Would not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for your comments. At no time during any correspondence did I, at any time, suggest that you were a liar. I merely pointed out that although you advised me that you had persistently called reception, none of the staff can recall discussing anything with you. All reported issues are recorded but none from yourself could be located.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,648 - 2,654 of 3,149 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just back from the 'toddler break'. All had a fantastic time despite the traditional scottish weather. Kids had a ball, food was good - better than the previous year, restaurant had been refurbished and was a lot nicer, brighter and cooler, entertainment was good for the little ones. Spent the days swimming, soft play and in aviemore town. Very relaxing. Will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familytime463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just returned from a great weekend break at Coylumbridge. Everything about the weekend was just perfect. The hotel staff were welcoming , warm and friendly. Professional, attentive and courteous throughout. We had a very nice refurbished room, food was excellent, enjoyed relaxing in the spacious and well serviced lounge area, and enjoyed the evening entertainment.

Hope that the swimming pool is due a little TLC soon as it's beginning to show its age, but apart from that the hotel was in pristine condition, and a great location for a fantastic spring break. Thanks Coylumbridge staff. Much appreciated. The sun shone and the skies created a gorgeous blue blanket above- snow, sun and sand at Loch Morlich. Fantastic. We'll be back.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Virtualtourists21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Let me admit it up front: I'm a Hilton junkie. I'm locked in to their reward scheme and the nice way in which they give me British Airways air miles (now "Avios") too. I also like the fact that you know what you're going to get as a minimum wherever you are: a good clean comfortable room, a very comfortable bed, wifi, a good restaurant, and a good bar with good service. And you know you can always buy champagne by the glass.

In those respects the Coylumbridge Hilton doesn't disappoint. It's also remarkably cheap for a Hilton, with a good dinner at a good price, with breakfast thrown in, although as ever the bar bill pushes the price right up.

The Hilton Coylumbridge was a little atypical for a Hilton though. The walls seemed thinner than usual, so I could hear the neighbours, which I can't usually. The room doesn't have a/c, and I found it a tiny bit cold, even when I managed to get the radiator working, but then I do like my rooms HOT. Eveyrthing else about the room was as it should be though.

The food was as good as you're likely to get in the area, and was remarkably good value. I had Stornoway black pudding for starter, duo of pork, and a pistachio panna cotta with bitter chocolate ice cream. My main criticism was that the pork was slightly overcooked. The breakfast was excellent, with a to order egg chef making whatever you like, and haggis as well! I also thought the restaurant music was awful, and a bit too loud.

The bar is a bit like an airport lounge, and lacks any character. It does seem to be full of screaming children up to an unearthly hour running around totally out of control.

I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Arrive late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homelovinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I booked this hotel on a 2 day Spring Break deal £117 dinner bed breakfast/night for couple. There was also a £100.00 voucher you could spend in Hotel, so if used to the full overall cost was £134.00.
Was upgraded to Superior Room but could not take as my wife has mobility issues and with the room on second floor and no elevator took a family room. Room was suffice although no Mini Bar. the bathroom floor tile also had a large crack which was quite sharp to the touch. Apart from that the room good.
Hotel had gym and swimming pool and lots of facilities for children outside hotel. There is also a Spa available but charges cannot be made to room.
Bar staff were excellent and the food in the restaurant was very good. Staff were very efficient.
On first day i noticed there were a lot of children from about age 4 down. Apparantly this is a family friendly hotel and during holidays is inundated with kids. If you want a bit of quiet then avoid the school holidays I was told. subsequently found out this was Toddler week hence the large amount of kids running about.
Rooms were quite cold as central heating was shut down and outside temperature had dropped to 4C whilst there. needless to say hot water bottle came in hand for my wife.
Aviemore is 1 mile away and has Tesco and local shops/railway where you can take train to Aviemore/Edinburgh/Glasgow. train I found quite costly though.
Overall opinion was very good value and kids did not really bother us but may for others.

Room Tip: If without kids and mobility is good go high as family rooms are mostly ground floor. If you have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millienumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Never having been to Aviemore before we decided to book in for an overnight .The hotel was very nicely decorated,the room was clean and comfortable and the food was fine. The facilities
for children were excellent.Being OAP's and looking for a restful holiday this hotel was very busy with children running around ,sorry not or us- but .great for familie

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolwishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We don't usually book at large hotels but we weren't disappointed with the Coylumbridge. The complex itself is very children friendly with lots to offer both within the hotel and the grounds. The 'oldies' are not forgotten with specific adult only time within the swimming pool each day.

Our room offered all we required, being clean and comfortable. Internal door to bedroom certainly ensured we weren't disturbed by the active younger guests who loved running up and down the corriders unsupervised! Down side was the two flights of rather steep steps to get to it!

We benefiited from a great 3 night dbb deal through EasyBreaks and opted to eat in the restaurant each night which offered a set 3 course menu. We could have chosen to use the Bistro, having a £16 per head allowance. Stayed with the restaurant as menu had lots of choice, was well presented and tasted wonderful. The restaurant itself is large but extremely well presented having very modern decor.The down side in the restaurant was a slightly disorganised team i.e. no time to look at menu before order being requested, wine arriving after food was served, long time taken to take order!

The lounge was also comfortable to use in the evening with 'easy listening' entertainment during the evenings we were there. The Woodshed also offered a quiet, adult only option after 8pm.

Overall, we had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. There is no need to stay within the complex as there is a lot on offer in the local area to suit all age ranges. We have already decided to return once our first granchild ' Bob the Bump' makes an appearance!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kari68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
269 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £76 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing