We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Spent 2 days on a short winter break at Hiton Hotel. The facilities are excellent, plenty to do if you have kids and the outdoor activities are numerous.
The hotel itself is well laid out for a Highland resort. The staff are curteous and the rooms very good.
Was slightly disappointed at the leisure facilities. Although there are two pools, the sauna is tiny and was always busy. There is no steam room which I find amazing for such a hotel and there are two jacuzzis, one is part of the pool and is cold. The orther, a stand alone proper jacuzzi, which was not operational when we stayed. My wife does not swim and there were no separate steps into the pool jacuzzi, so I had to lead her around the side of the pool which she was not too happy with.
The food at the hotel was excellent with a varied menu and I would recommend eating at the hotel. We stayed as part of a dinner, bed and breakfast deal.
The lounge area at front of hotel is very open and cold last week. We had to go back to room to finish our drinks as it was so cold. However, the next evening we went across to a separtate lodge style bar (which also caters for timeshare lodge guests) which had two roaring fires and I eventually had to take off layer after layer. Very cosy next to fire with comfortable setees.
There was a pub quiz going on which was fun. This would be a great place to go during skiing season.
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Stayed on ground level which was fine. Didn't hear anyone above. There are 3 levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom284Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    1,032
    635
    333
    181
See reviews for
1,414
920
54
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in this Hilton in July 2012. The property should be officially declared as ''children's hotel''. When we arrived there was a children party in the lobby with clown and everything, so it was very noisy and kids were running around screaming. Following days and even without party taking place, the reception was still full of kids with the same atmosphere of kindergarten which lacks supervision. This is definitely something that you do not expect from chain like Hilton. Room was quite spacious, but furniture a bit dated. We opted for Breakfast - Dinner rate and were satisfied with quality of food. Breakfast was as expected from Hilton + waffles which was a pleasant surprise. Note that you have to book dinner time slot in advance (booked at reception in the morning). However, at one occasion, receptionist probably forgot to pass our reservation to restaurant staff so they could not find it. Nicely handled by pretty and efficient West European girl (just saw in a previous review that she is Russian and her name is Svetlana) and we got our table straight away. Hotel surroundings are quite nice for a walk after dinner.
There was a very unpleasant surprise waiting for us when checking out. Apparently they have charged a smoking fee to our room. Indeed I had a cig or two every evening out of the window so was not going to object it. However the ground for a charge was that they would not be able to give a room for a day since it had to be 'refreshed'. It could all be avoided if for instance I was warned the first time it was detected by the cleaner. Fine was disappointing but the way the matter was handled by receptionist and the manager was even more disappointing. I felt like being accused of murder.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Chocka car park, but hotel was only half full.
Run down rooms and rather chilly generally. Radiators dated from the Ark.
Dinner surprisingly good with lovely Russian Svetlana giving great tips on what was best.
Breakfast drab and although dinner had show pieced the excellent Stornoway Black pudding, breakfast Black Pud was cheap cr*p! (sorry about language but I am actually being polite)
Horrible, clammy, leathery fried eggs, so typical of breakfast buffets combined with the usual idiosyncratic toaster which did nothing of the kind.

But guess what, dinner proves that this most un Hilton like monstrosity has a beating heart. So the question remains, why can't places that have a good chef demonstrate similar understanding of breakfasts.....or was this a different chef?

When will hotels learn that a traveller who makes it maybe 500 miles to their place, might appreciate a warm room...and a nice breakfast. The FIRST and LAST impressions.

Room Tip: That's a difficult one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saddletramp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

What a fabulous place to get away from it all. We took the children and they were thoroughly entertained with all the activities. Food brilliant, staff really worked hardto please guests nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We recently stayed here at the end of our roadtrip around Scotland. It was meant to be saving the best until last but ended up feeling disappointed.
When we arrived we struggled to find a parking space and ended up being no where near the hotel. On a freezing night with a young child and luggage it wasn't ideal. We were checked in and given directions to our "Family" room (room 3) which was on the ground floor. When we opened the door the room looked very nice but in no way suitable for our needs. 2 double beds, a desk, chair, armchair, table, bedside table & chest of drawers. without shifting furniture there was no where to set up the travel cot we'd specified we were bringing. I ordered my husband back to reception to complain that the room wasn't right for our needs and could we move or have some furniture removed. About 30 minutes later he returned and told me we were bring moved rooms but at a charge. We were moved to a family suite up 1 flight of stairs. This room was split over 2 rooms with a double bed, desk & tv in 1 room and bunk beds and tv in another. Although we didn't need 2 rooms this room was a lot better and less crammed with furniture.
We had enquired about the Funhouse which they have on site but were advised that it wasn't suitable for our 14month old and that we could use the pool after 6:30pm. Prior to this its adults only. Seemed a bit odd to allow kids in in the evening when most places work on the opposite thinking.
After our swim, we headed to the bar for a drink. Lots of families were there but it didn't seem very child friendly. Automatic doors lead directly outside so its impossible to let them go and play. We ended up having to take our drinks back to our room where we found a letter from reception advising that the hotel wasn't fully booked the next night and they were offering rooms at a discount if anyone wished to stay on an extra night.
When we finally settled down to sleep, the bed was so soft that neither of us had a great night. The corridors were also very noisey as they clump families together.
After our rubbish sleep, we headed down to breakfast. We were showing to a table and given a highchair for the baby. The breakfast wasn't anything special and the rolls were verging on being stale. However, what did annoy me was the staffs attitude. The sat 2 ladies down behind us then proceeded to make a fuss about wanting to move them as our daughter was being noisey. It was the rudest display i've ever seen that i had to leave the restaurant.
When we checked out there was 1 girl on reception who had to keep interrupting us to answer the phone and her manner was appauling. A charge of £30 was put on our bill for the "upgrade" which shocked me as they had been begging people to stay longer and the room they had offered us wasn't family friendly in the first place.
I'd certainly return to Aviemore but i don't think i'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights from 29/10/2012 to 1/11/12 as a family of 2 adults and 2 boys aged 8 and 9.

Check in was very prompt and efficient, we arrived a tad early but this was no problem for the pleasant receptionist. A member of the team helped to carry cases to our first floor Family Room. We had no problems at all with the fact that the hotel did not have a lift. All staff were extremely polite and helpful in particular Alan and Tim who did the best Hot Chocolate ever(according to my two boys). Waitresses at dinner and breakfast and at the bar were very friendly in particular Corinne and Sarah. Our room had two double beds with plenty of storage and flat screen telly with usual channels with a few sky ones thrown in. We thought decor in room was nice with the bathroom also being extremely clean.

We stayed on a bed, breakfast and 3 course dinner deal. Breakfast was lovely with a huge choice from the buffet which included pancake and waffle stations as well as the usual huge buffet of cooked and non cooked items. Really set you up for the day and meant you didn't really need lunch. We chose to eat as a family each evening in the main restaraunt with food being first class. We had stornoway black pudding and apple starters, smoked haddock stovies with poached egg starters along with mains such as chicken stuffed with haggis, cod wrapped in pancetta and fillet of beef. We like to eat well and everything we had was of the highest standard. Boys loved their meals too with staff allowing them a starter off the main menu for no extra so we all had three courses each.

Was lovely to relax in the foyer in front of the log fires after a day up the Cairngorm Mountain Railway, we used the hotel pool on a couple of occasions and found it to be lovely and warm with the flume being a hit with the boys and the sauna/jucuzzi a hit with us adults. Changing rooms were fine, don't know what people are whinging about! Boys played in the play barn one evening at £4 each per child resident of hotel. They also played indoor mini golf at £2 each which was good value.There are lots of outdoor things in hotel grounds such as trampolines, dry ski slope with instructions, quad bikes etc however we just ran out of time.

In the evening there was a vocalist or band on playing easy listening music with kids being able to have a little dance and this was great for us adults as well as the kids. Some of the little toots were so cute..One minus is however price of wine in hotel: do expect a mark up in such a hotel however a minimum price of £8.30 for a glass of red rising to around the £14 mark is ridiculous.This was for normal, easy drinking, run of the mill wine. Bottles were also priced way too high at cheapest being well over £20 per bottle. Due to this we did not see many people either ordering wine with their meal nor ordering it to drink later in the foyer.

The hotel has great scenery surrounding it and is a great place to explore both Perthshire and the highlands. This is our second visit and we will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Went for a long weekend with the family…
Rooms ok, nice and clean, not the most modern.
Pool good as was the gym. No children under the age of 16 allowed
to go swimming, you have to accompany them...
Breakfast great, what a choice, don’t leave it till near the end of the sitting, very crowded.
Meals at night, were fine, kids could book a table and eat by themselves.
Drink as you would expect on the pricy side…

All in all great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
12.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing