We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Xmas Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
falkirk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Xmas Break”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Went here on 28th Dec for a few days and had a great time the kids love the pool and it is great to be able to relax in the reception area and play games or just sit and read. There is also plenty of entertainment put on for the kids and the fun house next to it is brilliant. Also the Woodshed Bar outside is great and much cheaper than the hotel. The drinks in the Hotel are really expensive at £12.30 for 2 vodka and cranberry only about £6.50 in the woodshed. They also do a lunchtime barbecue in the woodshed and the food in the funhouse is cheaper and great selection.

Room Tip: All Rooms are good but no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mum1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and wa pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    1,010
    607
    328
    179
See reviews for
1,377
895
53
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the second time for two nights in January 2013. On arrival we were swiftly checked in and told we were given an upgraded room. Our room was nice, well equipped but no different to the standard room I'd had before, if anything smaller. Our stay included dinner and breakfast and it didn't disappoint. Dinner was three courses with good choices and it was superb on both nights. Breakfast had a great choice, too much to have it all. The hotel has a gym, pool and sauna and there was an adult only time which was nice and quiet. We had a great stay, room was nice and comfortable, staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. The only small niggles I had were the rooms were not very sound proof and the heat. Each time someone on our floor left their room you could hear the door close. The hotel was very hot, even with our window open I was sweating, it made sleeping a bit uncomfortable. It was similar in the restaurant, only in reception/lounge area with the front door opening and closing was it cooler.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cwhyteklb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that, overall your stay was enjoyable but apologise that you found your room too warm. The outside temperatures have been very changeable, currently being very mild but colder weather expected in the next few days and we do adjust the hotel temperature to accommodate these fluctuations. We do hope that you will visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We visited 30th Dec 2012 till 2nd Jan 2013. Party of 7: Myself, two daughters (26, 22) plus boyfriends, and son (23) and daughter (16). We enjoyed this and can recommend the Hogmanay break.
Pluses: The Reception staff in particular were very, very helpful and friendly, as were the wait staff in the main restaurant. The activities were fun (tho a lot were targeted to young children). The Thai Spa was excellent, as was the pool facility (perhaps an adults only morning session, would be good, in addition to the adults only 1.5hrs at 5pm). The gym was small but well stocked (tho would have liked bar weights). Céilidh band were very good.
Negatives: Room cleanliness on arrival fine but bins not emptied during stay, dirty towels not replaced and toiletries not refilled. Not a negative for some, but we found uncontrolled small children running through the dance floor during the Céilidh annoying and potentially dangerous (part of the problem is that the Hotel charge £20 for a child seat at the Hogmanay Céilidh, so lots of parents don’t buy these and the kids have nowhere to sit and spend the whole time on the dance floor). This should be addressed as the kids are small and get knocked over!
Overall a good buy, probably best for families with children under 10, tho’ still fun for the older folk and we solved the entertainment problem by out-sourcing quad biking at Rothiemurchus and archery at Craggan outdoors (both highly recommended by us).

Room Tip: Family room has two double beds and was only £4/night more on our bill allowing much more space for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you for your comment concerning your stay at Hilton Coylumbridge over the Festive Period and thank you for taking the time to psot a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We just returned from our 4 night Hogmanay break in Scotland. The hotel and its staff are lovely.
There is so much to do there that we felt spoilt for choice at times, especially given the high quality of entertainment throughout the festive period. (Ceilidh dancing, Piper band, Clay pigeon shooting, to name a few)

Cuisine was fantastic with very wide range of choices to satisfy our tastes. Gala buffet dinner on New Year's day took our breath away (amazing choice of meals! I had 2 desserts as I simply couldn't chose one). There was an ice sculpture above the seafood platters and band playing music provided a very relaxed dining experience.
I do believe we put on some weight as food was simply impossible to resist!
There were both healthy and more indulgent meal options (but we gave in to the temptation as this is what holidays are about). The atmosphere in the hotel was very friendly and there were many families with children, who were very well looked after and enjoyed their stay just as much as we did. A couple we sat next to during New Year's Gala dinner returned to the hotel fifth year in a row together with their friends and children. I do believe this is what gives this hotel such a relaxing and friendly atmosphere, as people often come back after their initial stay.

We also had a great experience with a School of Snowsports, who were very accommodating given the adverse weather conditions. We took a dry slope lesson after a couple of skiing lessons cancellations (due to adverse weather) and we were lucky to join a skiing class on our last day there. The staff in the School of Snowsports were nice and very friendly. There is a great selection of equipment + clothes to buy or hire (I didn't have a weatherproof jacket and jacket hire was less than £10/day) also the teaching was of a very high quality and a good fun too.

All in all this was a great place to spend holidays in and we will certainly come back again.
Big thanks to all the staff who made our stay special by working hard during holidays. It was very much appreciated! Many thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank away_from_home_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments on your recent stay with us over the Festive Period. Your comments will be passed to our staff and also to the School of Snowsports who are located within our grounds. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I have just returned from a 3 day holiday to the Hilton at Aviemore and have returned wishing the stay had been longer. From arrival to departure the staff at this hotel made our stay memorable and hassle free. Every person employed by Hilton here could not do enough to be friendly, helpful AND the speed at which requests were carried out was fantastic. I was there with my wife and 2 children and have been going now for 4 years over the new year period. Every year it gets better and better and the things that are important to me are all under one roof here.

1. Although we aren't early risers there was never a Que for Breakfast when we went down.

2. For a hotel as busy as this one over New Year, when you ordered something it was delivered quickly and with a smile.

3. Lots of activities laid on by the hotel. Spent New Years day Clay pigeon shooting followed by a burger at the outdoor BBQ at the woodshed bar. All i had to do was put my name on a sheet and the hotel organised the rest.... Fantastic

4. The choice of food was impressive, fresh and plentiful.

5. The room was clean, warm and made up every day at a time that suited m(as i said, not an early riser)

It was yet again an all round great holiday which, as i write this i am planning my next trip back to the best hotel that Aviemore and the highlands has to offer (and i have stayed at a few others over the years).

10/10 Hilton Coylumbridge and thank you for making my holiday a memorable one.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 375glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you so very much for your very positive comments on your recent stay with us and will certainly pass them on to all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just back from a super New Year 2 night package in a standard double room at this Hilton hotel. We went as a couple and had first of all checked the hotel website and also made an enquiry phone call. As we have no children we were aware (from the website) that it is a child friendly hotel and during our phone contact the receptionist was very honest and advised that there would most certainly be a lot of children but we decided to give it a go anyway as the package sounded great. We were not disappointed. Our room was lovely, clean and modern, and perfectly adequate, size wise for 2 people. We were on the first floor but, as we have no mobility issues, this didn't pose us a problem. From the minute we arrived until our departure all staff that we had contact with gave an excellent, cheerful service, although they were working over the festive period. The food throughout was fantastic, particularly the Gala Buffet on New Years' day, with the chefs surpassing our expectations. All the entertainment provided was of a high quality and really enjoyable. The clay pigeon shoot on New Years' day, which was part of the package, was brilliant with all instructors extremely helpful and patient, although they had done the same thing about 6 times already. I believe this hotel is listed as 3 star, however, we felt we received a 5 star experience. I would not hesitate to recommend this package and would consider it again for 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK03LOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Many thanks for your very kind comments on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to read that you had a great time and will certainly ensure that your comments are passed on to all our staff who worked hard throughout the festive season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just back from staying at the hilton in aviemore for the new year. Had such a fantastic time and for the first time we took our dog which the kids loved. Food was so tastey especially breakfast(the cooked breakfast is amazing!). Another great thing is the free wifi which my husband wouldnt come off!! We also took part in the clay pigeon shooting that the hotel put on for us, it was great and one member of staff greig was particularly helpful organising the trip, the kids also loved the quiz he did after, a very nice guy(good job!!). We are counting down the days till next new year as we will most definetly be returning. Thank you hilton for a great time! A++

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments on your recent stay with us and will certainly pass these on to all the staff concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing