We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great service and great food. Would definately recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We went to the hotel for 2 nights on 2 January 2013. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the bistro the following evening, both meals were lovely with a good choice. The beds were comfy and the room very clean. The staff in the reception and dinning areas were all lovely and very helpful. My only small complaint would be that only children over 16 years old and swim unaccompanied, I know health and safety has to be foremost but I do think that is quite old! My 13 year old and 14 year old are extremely competent swimmers and I ended up having to go in with them when I would have much prefered to sit with a glass of wine! Overall it was a lovely break and I would definately go back.

Room Tip: We were in a family room, number 36 on the ground floor which had 2 double beds and a lovely view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitchA231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay and am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,394 - 2,400 of 3,052 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

My son and I joined friends spent 2 nights at the end of our half term holiday here. It was luxurious after our freezing cold camping experience prior to this. The rooms were lovely although the corridor smelt mouldy. The A la Carte menu was far better than the cafeteria style breakfast and dinner. Admittedly it was busy due to being Scottish Half Term school holiday week. The kids enjoyed the Kids entertainment, tennis in the snow and swimming pool and there is lots to do in the area. Adults can eat while the kids go off to kids soft play which was very civilised.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquibaggaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in October and do hope that we get the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights at the Hilton Coylumbridge, the hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and efficient. It was a bit too hot in the rooms but i guess they're used to colder weather than we had. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast tariff and the food was lovely, I'm vegetarian but still had a good choice, at breakfast there was such a lot to choose from. We used the pool and gym and I had 2 treatments in the Thai Spa which were fantastic, I would highly recommend it! A trip at the dog sled centre just up the road was the icing on the cake for me. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a twin room as that's all that was left when we booked, but the beds were big so we only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for your positive comments concerning your recent stay. I will certainly pass these on to the staff and also to the Thai Lodge, thank you and hope that we see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Went here on 28th Dec for a few days and had a great time the kids love the pool and it is great to be able to relax in the reception area and play games or just sit and read. There is also plenty of entertainment put on for the kids and the fun house next to it is brilliant. Also the Woodshed Bar outside is great and much cheaper than the hotel. The drinks in the Hotel are really expensive at £12.30 for 2 vodka and cranberry only about £6.50 in the woodshed. They also do a lunchtime barbecue in the woodshed and the food in the funhouse is cheaper and great selection.

Room Tip: All Rooms are good but no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mum1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and wa pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I stayed here for the second time for two nights in January 2013. On arrival we were swiftly checked in and told we were given an upgraded room. Our room was nice, well equipped but no different to the standard room I'd had before, if anything smaller. Our stay included dinner and breakfast and it didn't disappoint. Dinner was three courses with good choices and it was superb on both nights. Breakfast had a great choice, too much to have it all. The hotel has a gym, pool and sauna and there was an adult only time which was nice and quiet. We had a great stay, room was nice and comfortable, staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. The only small niggles I had were the rooms were not very sound proof and the heat. Each time someone on our floor left their room you could hear the door close. The hotel was very hot, even with our window open I was sweating, it made sleeping a bit uncomfortable. It was similar in the restaurant, only in reception/lounge area with the front door opening and closing was it cooler.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cwhyteklb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that, overall your stay was enjoyable but apologise that you found your room too warm. The outside temperatures have been very changeable, currently being very mild but colder weather expected in the next few days and we do adjust the hotel temperature to accommodate these fluctuations. We do hope that you will visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We visited 30th Dec 2012 till 2nd Jan 2013. Party of 7: Myself, two daughters (26, 22) plus boyfriends, and son (23) and daughter (16). We enjoyed this and can recommend the Hogmanay break.
Pluses: The Reception staff in particular were very, very helpful and friendly, as were the wait staff in the main restaurant. The activities were fun (tho a lot were targeted to young children). The Thai Spa was excellent, as was the pool facility (perhaps an adults only morning session, would be good, in addition to the adults only 1.5hrs at 5pm). The gym was small but well stocked (tho would have liked bar weights). Céilidh band were very good.
Negatives: Room cleanliness on arrival fine but bins not emptied during stay, dirty towels not replaced and toiletries not refilled. Not a negative for some, but we found uncontrolled small children running through the dance floor during the Céilidh annoying and potentially dangerous (part of the problem is that the Hotel charge £20 for a child seat at the Hogmanay Céilidh, so lots of parents don’t buy these and the kids have nowhere to sit and spend the whole time on the dance floor). This should be addressed as the kids are small and get knocked over!
Overall a good buy, probably best for families with children under 10, tho’ still fun for the older folk and we solved the entertainment problem by out-sourcing quad biking at Rothiemurchus and archery at Craggan outdoors (both highly recommended by us).

Room Tip: Family room has two double beds and was only £4/night more on our bill allowing much more space for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay at Hilton Coylumbridge over the Festive Period and thank you for taking the time to psot a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We just returned from our 4 night Hogmanay break in Scotland. The hotel and its staff are lovely.
There is so much to do there that we felt spoilt for choice at times, especially given the high quality of entertainment throughout the festive period. (Ceilidh dancing, Piper band, Clay pigeon shooting, to name a few)

Cuisine was fantastic with very wide range of choices to satisfy our tastes. Gala buffet dinner on New Year's day took our breath away (amazing choice of meals! I had 2 desserts as I simply couldn't chose one). There was an ice sculpture above the seafood platters and band playing music provided a very relaxed dining experience.
I do believe we put on some weight as food was simply impossible to resist!
There were both healthy and more indulgent meal options (but we gave in to the temptation as this is what holidays are about). The atmosphere in the hotel was very friendly and there were many families with children, who were very well looked after and enjoyed their stay just as much as we did. A couple we sat next to during New Year's Gala dinner returned to the hotel fifth year in a row together with their friends and children. I do believe this is what gives this hotel such a relaxing and friendly atmosphere, as people often come back after their initial stay.

We also had a great experience with a School of Snowsports, who were very accommodating given the adverse weather conditions. We took a dry slope lesson after a couple of skiing lessons cancellations (due to adverse weather) and we were lucky to join a skiing class on our last day there. The staff in the School of Snowsports were nice and very friendly. There is a great selection of equipment + clothes to buy or hire (I didn't have a weatherproof jacket and jacket hire was less than £10/day) also the teaching was of a very high quality and a good fun too.

All in all this was a great place to spend holidays in and we will certainly come back again.
Big thanks to all the staff who made our stay special by working hard during holidays. It was very much appreciated! Many thanks again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank away_from_home_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for your very positive comments on your recent stay with us over the Festive Period. Your comments will be passed to our staff and also to the School of Snowsports who are located within our grounds. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,317 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
796 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £93 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing