We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff Excellent, Room not ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Staff Excellent, Room not ideal”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

From the moment we arrived, the staff at this hotel could not have been any more friendly or helpful. They went out of their way to provide assistance and are a true asset to the Hilton brand. The rooms were tidy and clean, and the kids loved the bunk beds with their own TV in their room. My only downside was that our room seemed to be close to the function suite and the music had my lying awake till 1 o'clock till it finished. Just a minor point though, and my family and I enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Stay away from room above function room, we were on 1st floor, room 17*
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajmacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. Please accept our apologies that you were disturbed by one of our very popular Christmas Party nights and should you choose to stay with us again please mention this and we can ensure that you are allocated a room away from the function suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    1,011
    607
    328
    180
See reviews for
1,379
897
53
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Seton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

On check-in, was asked which room I like then was put in the furthermost room. I asked about wifi and was informed only gold or above members were given free wifi in their rooms, although I did receive a password to give a free 1hr session. The room was tidy but the windows rattled and there was a cold draught blowing under the door, I had to place a towel down to reduce it. There was no spare sockets to put the kettle on without either switching tv or clock off. The evening meal also left a lot to be desired. The starter of pate consisted of a slab of very chilled chicken and haggis pate laid in top of two oat cakes which were soggy from lying on top of a chutney. The main ordered was meant to be a 10oz grilled pork loin steak, it was lucky if it was 6oz and for the price it was very poor standard (dry).
The wind rattled the window and the draught eventually led me to rise very early have breakfast, which was probably the best value of my stay, then check out asap.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalkyPortSeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay and was sorry to read of your disappointment. It is not clear if you raised these issues during your stay but can assure you if you had done so then every effort would have been made to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I've stayed in a number of Hiltons and they all have several things in common - they are not cheap; they are well appointed; food is good; ditto service. The Coylumbridge is no different, except this product of the sixties badly needs a revamp.
The dark green painted corridors are unappealing and battle scarred. The small gym was well equipped, but the sauna and steam room were both broken when we stayed. The plumbing was dodgy to say the least. Our shower was either scalding or freezing - luckily we only stayed for two nights. And neither of our beds was comfortable.
Our room was otherwise fine, but I find the charges for wifi and even freefone calls objectionable.
There was no snow when we went up so we did a lot more walking around the resort than we might otherwise have done. And we couldn't shake the view that the whole place could be doing with being dragged into this century.
There were some good points - the food was well presented and tasted as good as it looked and the Woodshed bar served a couple of nice local ales.
But I'd think twice before staying here again.
Not a good show Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. We acknowledge your comments and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I love Aviemore. It has a lovely kitsch feeling to it, is surrounded by magnificent scenery, and is packed with things to do. Which is why a friend and I decided to spend a few relaxing days at the Coylumbridge, after picking up a fantastic rate through Expedia.

Sure enough, the Coylumbridge is in a fantastic location - outside Aviemore itself, tucked in behind pine forest and with views of the Cairngorms nearby. Upon entering the hotel it feels a bit like a mountain lodge - cosy and rustic.

Our room was entirely pleasant, although we had to haul our luggage up the narrow stairs as there was no lift in the hotel! We had two extremely comfortable double beds, as well as a clean, modern bathroom and amenities which included shortbread and tea - beautiful!

Our excellent package consisted of dinner, bed and breakfast. We were extremely pleased with the dinner at Coylumbridge. All three nights we tucked into three courses of what we thought was excellent local fare. Highlights included smoked haddock stovies, pork three ways, dark chocolate croustillant and maple and pecan cheesecake. I could have happily stayed at the Coylumbridge forever just to enjoy the evening meal! Hilton breakfast is consistently good, and filled us up for the day.

We were disappointed to discover that the Thai Lodge spa was closed during our visit due to a Thai holiday - we were hoping to make use of the spa and would have appreciated this being mentioned when we checked in. We enjoyed using the pools but couldn't work out whether they were meant to be hydrotherapy pools, what with one pool being extremely warm and one being very cold both times we used them. We were also disappointed to find the slide closed and the hot tub stiller than Lake Placid. We visited the Woodshed bar on our final night and were transported into the cosy, alcohol-fuelled world of apres-ski. The wooden, crackling-fire atmosphere more or less required the purchase of a single malt - beautiful.

But by far the most disturbing aspect of staying at the Hilton Coylumbridge was the completely overwhelming number of small children. We gave ourselves a rather congratulatory smirk at being able to disappear for a few nights away outwith the weekends/school holidays, expecting a very grown-up few days of wine, philosophy and high-brow conversation in a hotel entirely populated by fellow childfree, independent wanderlusting types. But no - indeed it was packed, floor to ceiling, with screaming, puking, crying children. I know it can't be helped, but it did put a slight dampener on what could have been slightly more relaxing.

Overall, we thought Coylumbridge was a brilliant hotel, but we'd love to see it come a little bit into the 21st century and take itself a bit more seriously as a relaxing and grown-up resort.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelchick000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Great stay for family or couples, lovely hotel in a great location, family suite with a seperate small room is a great idea. Staff friendly and helpful, facilities in the hotel and nearby very good. Look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here mid week, the hotel was quiet.
Bad points- the hotel corridors smell like a nursing home/ hospital. Beds were hard and small. Limited TV channels, wifi doesnt work in your room. Weak shower. Costa cafe in the hotel lobby is extortionate! Hotel rooms need a major image overhaul.
Good points- Staff were lovely and helpful, especially the restaurant staff. Breakfasts good, restaurant food- excellent. Lobby is beautiful, location is perfect for both aviemore and the ski resorts, lovely pool and spa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhairi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Yes i know is Dec in Scotland but the rooms were just Too hot turn off all the heating open the windows leave it all open back to your room later turn on both fans and it still to hot.Very friendly reception staff and a great menu in the restaurant. Bedroom however was disappointing very small and not a good view and that was even with an upgrade
then off to bed but No sleep the bed was just so bad. the whole hotel could do with a refit,not what you would get from a HILTON.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing