We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs to do better as it is sliding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I have been here upwards of five times. Food is good, service excellent. Rooms ok, but the family suites are much better, with really decent bathrooms. Good childcare, lovely bar area, but.... It really needed a decent clean when I was there in sept 2013. The pool area and toilets were very bad indeed and not cleaned for two days - and you could tell by the same dirt there two days in a row. Disappointing and worrying. I hope they get on top of this, I want to go back. Can be fab for families... I want them to get back to where they were.

Room Tip: Bear in mind it's mostly aimed at families. A lodge might be best for non families. No lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your comments on your stay in September. Our pool and changing room are cleaned very regularly but do require some renovation which may have caused their appearance to be perceived as dirty. Your feedback is very valuable to us and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,005 - 2,011 of 3,087 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our family of 5 enjoyed a three night break between Christmas and New Year. The hotel is very popular with families and has a range of facilities and activities to keep the kids entertained. The young ladies who run the kids' club are enthusiastic and creative and a credit to the hotel.
In fact, every staff member that I encountered during my stay was professional, friendly and helpful and their attentiveness really added to the enjoyment of our holiday.

My two oldest children participated in most of the activities offered over the course of the weekend including the popular 'funhouse' sessions. The swimming pool is also ideal for kids. We mostly swam/played in the pool with the slide as this was warmest which was perfect for our baby. Both pools are quite shallow at 1m and 1.2m deep. Those looking for a luxury hotel health club setting may be a little disappointed however as the swimming pool and changing room areas don't have a luxury feel and would benefit from refurbishment in the near future. We also made use of the playpark and the Outdoor Discovery Centre. At £5 for 30 minutes on the ringos (sliding in a ring down a small, dry ski slope) it was great fun and good value.

Both the Inverdrui and Bistro restaurants are contemporary and comfortable. The staff do an excellent job and we were very satisfied with the level of service we received, especially considering how busy the hotel was during our stay. Breakfast was typical Hilton standard with a great selection on offer. My son loved the pancakes which are cooked to order and being allowed to eat pancakes and syrup for breakfast each morning made his holiday! The selection on offer at the family buffet is good and the food is decent quality. We also enjoyed a meal in the Bistro restaurant and paid a little extra as the cost of the food we ordered was over our allocated allowance. It was well worth it. Iced water is provided free and brought quickly to your table on request.

Drinks throughout the hotel can be expensive depending on what you order. Wine is very expensive (I paid £6.25 for a small glass of Rose in the main bar), spirits slightly more reasonable with lager, beer and cider being the best value options. There are a few drinks machines around the hotel (one in the games room) where you can buy cans for the kids for £1 which is cheaper than buying from the main bar. The Woodshed bar has a cosy atmosphere and most drinks are a few pounds cheaper than in the main hotel. Kids must be out by 8pm so I imagine this would be quite a nice sanctuary for adults travelling without children.

The rooms are clean and well-presented but not luxurious or spacious. I knew what to expect having read earlier reviews, looked at photos online and taken note of the room sizes so I was perfectly happy with the room. I requested a ground floor room with a nice view at the time of booking and was happy that our room was on the ground floor overlooking the woods rather than the car park. If you have small children, pushchairs, lots of luggage etc, it is worth requesting a ground floor room because there are no lifts.

Room Tip: Make dinner reservations early as the Bistro and table d' hote Inverdrui spaces fill quickly. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxileocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your very positive review on your recent stay and was delighted to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I visited this hotel because they claimed to be dog friendly. Although a dog was allowed in the room for an additional cost that was the only place we could be with our dog within the building(s) - not very dog friendly in the end! Besides that, we were charged for an additional room cleaning fee which was clearly not being used as the rooms were far from clean. A great big dissapointment in the end when considering the Hilton brand.

However, the walks around the hotel were very nice.

Room Tip: the ground floor rooms we were in should be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prassi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your review. In the interests of all our guests we have a Pet Policy which we are currently reviewing and this is available prior to arrival. As our bar an lounge area are food service areas, pets are not allowed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for one night in December for an organised party night.The rooms are basic and a bit tired but this is a ski hotel so par for the course really.The bar area and large seating area is nice but the drinks are at the high end of extorsionet!
The spa lol, is a pool and sauna that is broken,the whole place could do with a bit of TLC.
Breakfast was first class and the staff excellent.
If you are going here for skiing or outdoor activities this hotel will suit you fine but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your review and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Generally speaking there were only four things I could fault with this place and one of those nothing to do with the hotel.
Firstly the good things. We ( my Wife and I) opted for bed and breakfast with evening meal. Two restaurants, The Inverdrurie and the Bistro. With the bistro you have to pay for your drinks plus anything over £16 each. Food was very good. In the main restaurant Inverdrurie food is included in the price (except drinks). There are two sittings, early for families, self service and later (about 7pm) Table d'Hote. The selection/options are pretty good and again the quality and presentation very good. The breakfast was also very very good. The staff are a credit to the hotel, efficient, polite and courteous. The location is great, the lounge facilities good and the general principle of the hotel is good. Now the negatives.
The standard double room is too small. The corridors and stairwells are tatty and smell musty. The third negative is that everything you have to pay for is far too expensive. Finally my biggest complaint; the place is over run with kids. It suffers from the typical British family complaint; as long as the parents aren't being disturbed by their own kids they can do what they want. I witnessed parents enjoying themselves with peers whilst their kids run (literally) riot, through the lounge, including the bar, up the stairwells to rooms even in corridors, we'll out of their parents view, little did they care. Sadly very typically common these days. We stayed between Boxing Day and New Years Eve, I hope some of the parents read this, some ought to be ashamed of themselves. Unfortunately staff are powerless to stop the frequent 50 metre sprint from reception to the hotel shop by 10+ shouting kids, all day every day. They do a decent job in trying circumstances.
Overall a good stay, food very good, hotel good shame about the irresponsible parents!

Room Tip: Apparently top floor rooms have been refurbished the most recent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gedgemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your review and that, generally, you had an enjoyable stay. This festive period has been one of our busiest and most successful and as you experienced very busy with families and children. Our Woodshed Bar which is located within the hotel grounds is restricted to over 18's only daily from 8pm for those looking for a child free area. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again and if we can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here as a birthday treat for my partner.

We got a nice room on the 2nd floor (no lifts, but that wasn't an issue for us as we didn't have too much baggage). Room was clean and had everything we needed.

Hotel sent a platter of fruits and biscuits to our room, which was a surprise and after a very good evening meal in the restaurant, the waitress came through with cheesecake which had a candle and happy birthday in chocolate writing on the plate - very nice touch!

All in all we had a lovely stay. There was entertainment on in the bar in the evening and the breakfast in the morning was good (though I had expected more than instant coffee).

The hotel is a bit of a walk from Aviemore, but well situated if you want a peaceful break and the pool looked great. We paid £72 for dinner, bed and breakfast and I thought that was very good value for money. Great hotel for kids with facilities on the doorstep and Rochiemurchus Estate, Loch Morlich and the Cairngorms are all within a short drive.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pernodqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your very positive review on your recent stay and do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have just returned from a three day Xmas break. I was a little nervous when I booked it given some of the very negative reviews the hotel has received. I could not have been more pleasantly surprised. It was fantastic! Service, excellent. Facilities, spot on. Atmosphere, perfect.
In my opinion this is not a business hotel and if I were travelling on business I may have approached my review differently. However we were a party of three, with our little six year old girl. We had a family suite and she was delighted with her room (as were we!) she thoroughly enjoyed the activities that were laid on and she made lots of new friends. The service from the staff is of note and despite the hotel being very busy they were attentive and friendly.
The two main gripes that I think most of the reviews share are the price of the drinks and the lack of a lift, however I had scene the wine list on list so even this wasn't a surprise.
The Wood shed bar was fantastic, as were their nachos! I would definitely recommend this hotel if you have children and still want quality food and service, if you don't like children this probably isn't for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent stay and was pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable time. As a family resort we are very busy with families and children at weekends and during school holiday periods but do have quieter times outwith these times which may suit couples and business guests. If guests have concerns regarding the number a children in the hotel they are more than welcome to contact the hotel prior to booking to check this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,336 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £89 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing