We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Doesn't look that great from the outside but inside is a different story, spotless clean, helpful staff, incredible spa ( definitely would recommend), they had live music in their wood shed bar which is walking distance from the hotel, breakfast was very good with plenty choice. This is a family hotel so loads of kids running about. The wifi is not great which now adays is poor and they don't have a lift but they do offer the porter to carry your bags. Definitely go with the kids there is lots to do.
It's a fair bit from Aviemore not really walking distance but there is plenty of taxis.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was pleased to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,976 - 1,982 of 3,171 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights during the Easter break. The hotel is in a great location with lots for everyone to do. However, check in time is 3pm and we arrived at 2:30 so checked in and were told our room would be ready by 3pm. So we walked around the grounds and returned at 3pm to get our keys to be told our room wasn't ready. We then waited a further 15 mins and checked again and were told house keeping hadn't cleaned the room yet. We tried again at 3:30pm and told the same and at this point we were offered a free tea or coffee from the costa bar. I stood in line in the costa bar and ordered and was told to sit down and wait and they would bring it over. 20 mins later we still hadn't received it and so I went and asked to which the guy replied, 'it's ok I know about you, I've been busy I will bring your order over in a few minutes'. He had continued to take orders from people in the queue after me and gave them their orders but because I was getting a complimentary drink I had to wait until the queue had died down? Anyway, at 4:05pm I checked again and was told the room still wasn't ready. At this point I asked the receptionist when will our room be ready as it was now more than an hour after check in time. She couldn't answer this so I sat back down. I think she knew I was not happy and being a hilton gold honours member you get priority check in etc. This was certainly was not the case in this hotel. The receptionist came over 5 mins later and offered us a different room which was the same as the one we had booked. Why couldn't they do this in the first place? The room was in the new area of the hotel and was lovely inside with a big bathroom, a double bedroom and a children's room. I would say however that there is no lift in this hotel. It didn't bother us but may if you can't walk up stairs. We took advantage of the Italian buffet and found it was nice enough but the sauce used in the pasta was very strong. We ordered drinks but they didn't arrived until we were eating out dessert. The following night we dined in the bistro and waited over 40mins for our main course and the bistro was only half full? The third evening we dined in the Inverdruie restaurant and the food was lovely but the service was shocking as we were asked 3 times by 3 different waiters if we had ordered drinks and if we were ready to place out food order? It seemed like there was no communication with staff. They did give my daughter her main meal very quickly as she was very hungry by this time and they did give her peas instead of beans as we requested even though they sent it to the wrong table. A tip for breakfast, get there before 8:30 or you will have to wait a while on a table of the hotel is busy. We went down later one morning at 9:30 and by 9:50 the toasters etc were turned off even though breakfast is until 10am during the week. We had complimentary wifi but it was really patchy and we had to keep logging in every 5 mins as the connection would drop. We complained and were given another code to use but again that kept dropping too. All in all the hotel is a great base for the Cairngorms, the food in the hotel is lovely but the service is slow. The service Is not what I expect from a hilton hotel compared to the others I have stayed in.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Neecie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was sorry to read that you had experienced slow service during your stay but do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Seems very well set-up for kids and i am sure you will enjoy it if you are travelling as a family but if you are a couple avoid! All facilities are over-run by children making it a noisy experience that we fully regret choosing. Food was good and the staff excellent but rooms small for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review of Hilton Coylumbridge. I was sorry to read of your disappointment with the number of children at the hotel but as a family resort this is usual for us especially at weekends and during school holiday periods. Outwith these times we do have quieter weeks which i am sure you would find more suitable and so hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We went for our anniversary weekend. Lovely room. Spotless bathroom, good toiletries and nice fresh towels.
Dinner first night and last night was excellent. Middle night we went to the Italian buffet. We could only get a late slot so most of the hot dishes had gone. Antipasta was good but plates were hot. Gave up trying to get cold ones. It's really designed for families and I wish we had known. It was a bit of a disaster but we'll know next time.

The staff are friendly and James in the dining room deserves special mention. Breakfast was good. Only downside was waiting on waffle machine....a definite hit! Could do with another one when its busy. The waffles are gorgeous. Nice fresh fruits and any amount of hot and cold dishes to choose from. Considering how busy it was we were served with tea and coffee quickly It is very much a family friendly hotel. There were lots of children. Start of the school holidays and mothers day but they were a credit to their parents. Well mannered and well behaved,really nice to see.

Pool is a bit dated and could do with a revamp. We still enjoyed it. The weekend was a bargain and we will definitly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hebrideanvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have recently come back from a 3 night dinner, bed and breakfast stay at the Hilton Coylumbridge and can't wait to go back! Staff are all lovely. The hotel has been beautifully decorated with a very calm and modern feel. Food is great with a great range to choose from in the morning and a varied menu in the evening to suit all tastes. Rooms are very clean with plenty amenities. The lounge is very nice to sit at all times of the day with the bar close by. There was entertainment on 2 nights we stayed which was very good and a nice end to the evening. The hotel is in a great location a 2 minute drive from the centre of Aviemore and not far from the Cairngorms and Loch Morlich. Definitely would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was delighetd you you had an enjoyable stay and do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Visited here to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. The hotel itself is a little jaded in the room areas and certainly doesn't seem to have the "Hilton" experience, however, the evening meal was excellent in the restaurant and the dinner, bed and breakfast rate of £95 for two was fantastic value for money. Breakfast in the morning was a bit of a hit and miss affair with the chef who was trying to service undercooked fried eggs from a huge pan of fat looking particularly scruffy and dirty themselves which put me off - we had to ask for coffee, extra glasses, cutlery etc so not great but the food was acceptable. The pool area was good and I enjoyed my morning swim and the wooded bar was excellent with really good service. Overall, we would visit again and recommend to friends and family but would be highlighting that it's not the Hilton that most people would expect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. As you rightly say we are not your typical city centre Hilton Hotel, although our property, which was built in the 1960's, fits well into our beautiful surroundings and this is an aspect which attracts many of our returning guests. I was pleased to read that you would consider staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The location of the hotel is great - 5 minutes drive from the hub of Aviemore, but situated in beautiful pine and birch woodland with views of the surrounding mountains. The exterior of the hotel is nothing special to look at. There is plenty of parking in various car parks situated round the building.

The public spaces have been refurnished to very good effect. The foyer area is large, airy, and modern with plenty of comfy seating and a nice bar. The Costa Coffee in the foyer is slightly bizarre though! There is a nice wood fire and an interesting wall separating the bar and foyer lounge made of circles of sawn wood.

There are several different dining options to choose from to suit all tastes - the bar has an extensive range of 'snacks' (although the portions are enormous!), there is a bistro, you can get cakes from the coffee shop, a 50s style diner, and a more formal restaurant. We ate at the bar, the restaurant, and the diner.

At the bar the food was very good and the menu had some really interesting options. However, our order did get mixed up and we found the portions to be more like large pub meals rather than the light snacks they were advertised as.

The restaurant was very nicely decorated with silver birch details. Breakfasts were delicious - a good range of hot and cold options, including fresh salad and dressings, a selection of breads, and a pancake station. Plenty of everything, not too busy even at peak times, and everything at the right temperature. The fresh squeezed orange did taste like it had been mixed with squash one morning. What was provided on the table seemed a bit hit and miss - some tables had milk, some had salt and pepper, etc. We also had dinner here and found the food to be fairly simple but nicely cooked and presented. Would have been nice to see some venison as a main course. We did have some delays with drinks and it took a while to be seated but staff were generally very friendly and helpful.

The diner is a great venue for kids (its situated in the Fun House) and has fairly straightforward kid-friendly but not very healthy food. The decor has been well done and its nice for families taking a break from the soft play!

The rooms are comfortable and very clean but are beginning to look a bit dated, particularly the bathrooms. Plenty of hot water, towels, and very nice toiletries. Sleep quality was excellent - didn't hear a thing on either of the nights we stayed. The peace and quiet is just bliss.

We found all of the staff we interacted with to be friendly and cheerful - no complaints at all here.

The hotel has lots of super facilities for families of all ages - swimming pool, a kid's club, soft play, golf course, tennis courts, play park, bowling alley, etc. You almost don't need to leave the hotel! There is also live music on weekends which the children can dance too - very welcoming and inclusive. Additionally, there is a great apres-ski style bar called the Woodshed which is a nice log cabin style with a roaring fire, friendly and knowledgable staff, pub quiz machines, and local ales - perfect!

We came to this hotel a lot when we were children and had great memories. Lovely to see that the family-friendly spirit of the place remains while some aspects of the hotel have been successfully modernised.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children there are lots of options - connecting doors, twin doubles, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhienne40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. As your review suggest we are a very family friendly resort hotel although during the week and outwith school holidays we can be quieter for those guests who are looking for this type of stay.

I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and do hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,364 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
827 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Address: | Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £102 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing