We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very noisy room”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Sad to give just 3 stars but I was really looking forward to staying here and left exhausted. The plus points:
- staff are superb from reception to the bar and restaurant!
- beds are really comfortable; definitely the comfiest i've had in any hotel!
- rooms are really clean
- the food is incredible and again, better than any hotel i've stayed in. Hilton always amaze me with their range and quality - really worth going to this hotel just for the food alone!

Sadly though my stay was tainted somewhat by the noise at night. I was in a room on the 2nd floor and the aircon or something outside the window was really loud, constantly. It really was tough to get to sleep, watch TV etc. On top of that, I don't know what was going on but around 5.30-6am on both mornings there was a repetitive banging noise close to my room for a good few minutes - so sleep was in very short supply. My stay would have been perfect if the room was quieter. Sorry to say that i'm a little disappointed or just tired and cranky perhaps!! :) .

Room Tip: Maybe try for a room facing away from the main reception as this is where the noisy air/con is (or w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at hilton Coylumbridge. Please accept our sincere apologies that you found your room to be noisy and do hope that you advised us at the time to in order to give us the opportunity to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    1,022
    618
    331
    181
See reviews for
1,393
909
53
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Booked a two night break very last minute ( on morning of departure). For what we paid I would say this hotel offered good value for money. We last stayed here about 20 years ago when our kids were small and although public areas looked upgraded not much has been done in the interim to the rooms. As it was a bank holiday weekend there were a lot of family groups with children but we had no problems with this there are lots of other hotels out there who provide a more tranquil atmosphere. On checking in we were advised to book our dinner at adjacent table for both evenings. This was included in our room rate. Two eating options are available one a family buffet and the other a bistro. We were advised that bistro was better option for ourselves as there were a lot of children in hotel and restaurant could get a bit manic. Good choices on menu with daily specials. You have an allowance of £16 on DBB which just about covered main course but obviously drinks and other courses bump up the end price. Service was very good first night less so second as there appeared to be less staff around. Notices were posted at reception regarding breakfast advising of times to avoid because of long queues we just took our chance around 9.30 and although had to queue this moved fairly quickly. Have to say breakfast spread was one of the best I have encountered with food regularly topped up and never running out. Used the pool first day, very busy but they do have adult swim between 5 and 6.30 which wasn't too busy on night we went. As rooms are quite dated they do not have controllable heating/air con this made it very warm even with windows open. Soundproofing is quite bad, could hear conversation in next room & £9 for a glass of wine is up there with more classier hotels we've stayed at. However taking everything into consideration if we could get a good deal we would certainly return.
.

Room Tip: No lifts so if you find stairs a problem ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniem15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are a Face Book user please check our page for all of our great offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed with my 8 year old. Food was excellent, staff amazing, rooms clean and comfy (although very warm) and the only complaint would be the really cheesy singers they'd hired to entertain at night.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josieb19_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Coylumbridge Hilton is a fantastic place, its location could not be better and it has some great facilities, however it is starting to look tired and needs some serious money spent on it if it is to remain one of the areas flagship hotels.
Lets start with location - The Hotel is situated at the very heart of the Cairngorm National Park able to take advantage of all that the Aviemore area has to offer. It is possible to walk or cycle from the hotel off into Rothiemurchus or the Glenmore Forest Park & Loch Morlich.
Facilities - With several dining rooms, a great leisure complex as well as a number of on site activities to participate in the hotel is good, modeling itself on the Scottish hydro hotel or even some of the American National Park lodges - We booked an all in package - £140 per couple inc 3 course dinner and breakfast - not bad for a Bank Holiday weekend. The hotel is dog friendly and for £25 you can bring your 4 legged pal along as well.
Investment - The hotel is starting to look tired, while the rooms were ok, I have stayed in far better. It is also worth noting that while the hotel boasts a Costa coffee shop, it closes at 10pm and the bar although open is unable to get you a coffee .... Following a trip last year to Las Vegas - Costa was open 24/7 ...... While maybe excessive for Aviemore, a slightly longer opening time would be appreciated.
Yes go, enjoy, it is a fantastic place, however Hilton Management spend some money, you are making enough from this jewel in your estate and sooner or later you will not be able to trade on peoples good memories.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highlandcolliedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and do hope thatw e can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great weekend with my wife and children at Coylumbridge. Hotel location is excellent – quiet wooded grounds, but close to Aviemore and other attractions.
Inverdruie Restaurant was first-class – menu, service and food all top notch. Our family suite was a bit cramped, but it had been recently refurbished and it was very clean.
Public areas were good and atmosphere was friendly and efficient. All in all a great weekend.
Any negatives? The swimming pool and changing rooms could do with some investment, but the high standard of the food and staff more than overcome that negative.
Worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to palce a review on your recent stay at hilton Coylumbridge and was pleased to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Six of us had taken advantage of an offer that was advertised online. We were there overnight for the weekend of 3rd/4th May.
We arrived at 2.30 and the very friendly lady on reception quickly dealt with us and the two dogs and our rooms were all ready for us, although we had been prepared for a wait as we were early.
The public areas are very smart and the rooms, although a little "tired" are quite comfortable, clean, and have adequate facilities. We had booked dinner in the Inverdruie restaurant for 8pm and were greeted and shown to our table, settled down with menus and drinks orders were taken.
We had previously studied the menu online and were ready to order. The selection of dishes is very good and we mostly ordered different dishes to compare. The standard of food was really excellent and we all enjoyed our choices, although we all agreed that the food could have been warmer. We should have lingered in the restaurant and had coffee, but we thought we would go to the bar and enjoy coffee and a dram. This turned out to be a mistake as we couldn't get coffee in the bar and the Costa closes at 10. Oh well, off to bed!
The next morning after an early swim, we assembled for breakfast and joined the short queue at the restaurant. We were soon sorted and shown to a table, the waitress explained the system and we all went off to the huge buffet. If you couldn't find something there to suit you would be very very picky indeed. I am a sausage buff, and am usually critical of the ones found in chain hotels, but these were very good. The only thing that we all commented about was the fact that the food was again not very hot.
To sum up, we had one or two niggles that we reported on the assessment form, but nothing that would prevent us from returning to this hotel.
One special point, every member of staff that we came into contact with was very friendly and helpful, a good sign that they have been well trained.

Room Tip: We were in 45, our friends were in 51 and 52. Their rooms seemed a little better tan ours but not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was delighted to read that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us and do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a spa break. Unfortunately when we booked the break we weren't told that it was toddler break!! So, as you can imagine we were expecting a tranquil experience, instead we got lots of little people running around. Don't get me wrong I like kids but would not have booked a spa break during toddler break. Let's Relax, the on sight spa, is absolutely wonderful, words cannot express the magical experience we had. Relaxing best part of the stay. Would recommend their signature massage wonderful experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sanded55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and will certainly pass on your comments to the Let's Relax team and do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
736 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing