We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a grunt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Service with a grunt”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Bedrooms rediculously hot. Bedrooms rediculously small. Advertised activities either unavailable or rediculously expensive. Wine and coffee and side orders with meal rediculously priced. Surly and non-English speaking restaurant staff. Outdated building. It's like a holiday in 1970's East Europe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Moragus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    1,043
    653
    340
    188
See reviews for
1,445
931
55
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A dreadful experience. Dinner menu very limited and only changed every 4th day. Staff attitude poor. Even tried to charge us for electricity although we were in a hotel room and not a lodge. We had paid for 3 days but left after 2. We will never use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2014. Apart from the food (which was excellent) we were disappointed with pretty much everything else. On arrival we upgraded to a family suite. Now, I know the hotel is not 5 star but the room was very small and quite dated. The bed was on wheels too so it didn't take much for it to start moving about. (Not a great first impression .... and this was after carrying luggage , buggy etc up the stairs - no lift in the hotel) Perhaps I am just spoilt from staying in 5 star hotels but I was expecting a bit more here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

stayed for 2 days and was ok .clean enough.trying to sleep was hard as the beds were soft and lumpy..staff weren't very helpfull.if u asked them something they were trying to get away with a quick 1 word answer..rude.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I take no pleasure in writing this and I would hope that the big wigs at Hilton might read this and invest in this hotel as it has the potential to be a great hotel.
First I would agree with the majority of people and state that the staff here are fantastic. The service levels throughout the hotel are wonderful and the pleasant and efficient nature of the service is refreshing.
The major problem here in our opinion is the standard of the rooms which are basically Youth Hostel level. A double family room with an antique bathroom, ripped carpets, light fittings hanging off the wall etc. The WIFI is non existent even though advertised as complimentary.
The public areas are in desperate need of a makeover as is the bar area.
The Gym is very small and is strangely located opposite the bar.
The whole place looks very very tired and in need of some TLC which is such a shame bearing in mind its location and grounds.
Also watch the drinks prices, very high for the standard of hotel.
Costa Large Latte in hotel--£4.30--in a costa coffee shop--£2.65??

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connorhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Quality of food and friendly service make this a favourite short break destination for me. Families are well accommodated as are couples. The comfortable lounge area is well used. I did not choose to be there at the evening music hour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank morganorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was disappointed with this Hilton. The staff was very professional, helpful, friendly however the room was far less than what I expected. I was upgraded to a family suite as an honors member however was traveling solo (1 adult noted on reservation). No sitting area, small rooms. Good internet and nice bathroom however only had the bedroom and desk chair for sitting. For kids I suspect this is a great place but for solo adult not so great, better value could be found elsewhere. Nice lobby with live entertainment. Room was surprisingly quiet given the number of families.

Room Tip: If you're not staying with others, doesn't seem to be a good property to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,283 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
557 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing