We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 8 June 2014

On arrival myself and my husband were greeted warmly at reception. Our room was of a good standard and nice and clean. Dinner service was also good but whilst at dinner i did find myself thinking where am i Scotland or Europe?, as since arriving at the hotel i had not met any scottish members of staff, this i find very sad. A hotel in Scotland set in the beautiful scottish landscape. I would have expected to at least met one member of staff that was scottish. Puting that aside i would probably go back to the hotel as it was perfectly situated not far from the cairngorm mountains and Loch Morlich. Also not too far from the centre of Aviemore where you can take a step back in time and take a trip on a steam train complete with its very own 'fat contoller'.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniemac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. As an international hotel brand we offer employment to staff from around the world, as do many other major hotel chains, so can make no apologies for this. We are very proud of our international staff as as we often have guests from all over the world this can only enhance what we offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,832 - 1,838 of 3,097 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Another lovely time at this family hotel. There are so many places to visit in the area and at this time the RSPB site at Loch Garten promises a special viewing of the ospreys. The hotel is very comfortable and relaxing and the staff are exceptionally kind and helpful. Breakfast is very good but the dinner menu needs changing. It was the same as our last three visits and some were unappetising. Otherwise no complaints and we will be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Olive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. Your comments concerning the menu have been passed to our Food and Beverage team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the start of this week following my illness. Just what the Dr ordered. Staff were outstanding at all times from the moment we arrived till the minute we left. Room was great, food was lovely and the music was a great extra as it give a lovely end to our night. Breakfast was fantastic, there was ample choice for all. Great stay and we will certainly be back. In this day and age we are very quick to complain but not always as good at saying well done. Thank you. Maria & Stephen Colquhoun.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs Colquhoun, thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Another Hilton that needs knocked down the rooms are appalling and can only of been renovated in the 1960’s. When I booked at almost £400 per night I asked twelve times now you are sure this is one of the renovated rooms yes yes sir to my disbelief it wasn’t.

I really will never stay in this dump ever again.

If you want to spend New Year in a Jerry Springer show then this is a must for you.


I did complain and ask why to the management at the time who didn’t give a monkeys.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review and would be obliged if you could contact me directly and advise what date(s) you stayed with us and the issues you experienced so that I may look into these for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here loads when our own kids were small. Returned with our two Grandsons at the weekend and felt it had gone down hill drastically. Kids pool was not in use, outdoor adventure was poor and not suitable for all ages, indoor play was fine however, a lot of the machines in the amusement were broken. Advertised as dog friendly which it certainly wasn't. What they mean is that they let you keep your dog in the room but all other areas are out of bounds. Wouldn't take my dog again as I felt really sorry for him. I would rather Hilton were honest and say they are not dog friendly than pretend to be something that they are not. Room was ok, nothing special and certainly not the standard of Radisson. Staff were very friendly and helpful and food was good but unfortunately it didn't make up for all the things promised on their website that we didn't experience. We felt it was falsely advertised. Would probably go to McDonald's next time we are in Aviemore. Sorry Hilton but you don't get our vote on this occasion :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roseanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was sorry to read of your disappointment on this occasion. Concerning our Pet Policy, we have to take into consideration all of our guests as we have had unpleasant incidences concerning dogs in the past. Our Pet Policy is available on our web site so that guests udnerstand what we do and do not allow and, where we are notified that a pet will be travelling with a guest, this is emailed out prior to arrival. Although I am unabl;e toa scertain what dates you were with us we did have a major problem with our pool which resulted in the children's pool being closed for a few days although the adult pool remained open. You do not mention is you visited our Fun House which offers soft play, indoor golf and an arcade which is very popular with our younger guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Room was unbearably hot!! I thought at one point during the second night I would have to go outside but resorted to a cold shower to try and cool down. Room was very clean but also small and being under 5ft I don’t think that even I could have lay down in the bath if I wanted to. One of the wardrobes had a lack of function due to safe being in the way it didn’t open. For being a “Hilton” hotel, I don’t think it did live up to the name definitely not up to standard as other Hilton hotels. Hotel is definitely in need of refurbishment in parts. We did not eat here the second night due to wine being outrageously priced and very restricted menu. The woodshed bar was the highlight for me with some live acoustic music and great atmosphere. All staff were very pleasant and polite. Extensive breakfast choices, I don’t think you could ask for more. I would like to see this hotel have a bit of TLC then I’d consider a return visit, stunning surroundings and has potential to be better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or you'll be looking at the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusieQ121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having stayed here many years as both a family and also a couple... enjoyed another brilliant stay. Staff very friendly and helpful... location excellent... Woodshed bar enjoyable, especially for couples and overall site excellent. Suits both famuilies and couples alike...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £72 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing