We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed with service and food”
Review of Super Panther - CLOSED

Super Panther
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Cuisines: American, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Well! We waited and waited and waited. Watched other customers leave due to the wait and then completely unimpressed with what was provided. Service was provided by children with no supervision and completely unorganised. Watched one employee reduced to tears. The owner should be ashamed they "manage" this place. Prices were way too high for what was provided as well. Felt sorry for the kids

Thank FreeFallAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SImonH801, Owner at Super Panther, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

I can only apologise for your experience with us. The day you came in our staff did indeed struggle to cope. It was exceptionally busy and one of our bar staff hadn't turned up and neither had a chef. The manager (who ordinarily would have been running things in the restaurant) and owner unfortunately had to work in the kitchen to meet the demand leaving the floor short but in the very capable hands of three experienced waitress in their twenties - i guess they must look younger! This was an exceptional day and I am very sorry that you had to experience this and that we fell short as this is not normally the case.

In response to your comment on our pricing. We are comparably priced to all other restaurants in Aviemore and if you factor in the fact that unlike most others nothing we serve is bought in pre made (absolutely everything is made in house, locally sourced, and of the best quality we can find), then we real are quite cheap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Despite what other reviewers might make of this bar, we spent 2 nights in a row at this place as we enjoyed it so much. TBH, for our tastes, age and personalities, Super Panther was the only place in Aviemore we felt suited.

The décor is modern, the menu has ALOT of choice and the staff very friendly and approachable. We were camping so needed to charge our phones etc and the staff were very accommodating and happy to help. The food arrived in good time and they were not shy on the portions!

This is not a place for everyone - its has a niche and those frequenting should bare that in mind when looking for somewhere to eat. It is probably aimed at the 18 - 35 age range past 8pm - it isn't a country pub with floral carpet and open fires!

We would go back there a 1000 times over!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EveandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Service was awful. When we asked a member of staff about a particular item that was on the menu he could not give us an answer. We waited approx 15-20 minutes for them to take our order. The drinks arrived around 20 minutes later(it really was not busy), after waiting approx 1 hour after that our order still had not arrived so we gave up and left. From what I did see of the other customers food it did look nice but come on.........

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SImonH801, Owner at Super Panther, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We are very sorry to hear about your recent experience with us, it is something that we take very seriously and we will address this with staff right away.

Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances our head chef left us the day before the half term period which has meant our manager has had to spend his time working in our kitchen. As this is not his usual role and due to him being pulled away from the bar area, clearly our service has suffered.

We can not apologise enough for this and are briefing the staff this morning and continue to seek an immediate replacement for our kitchen.

I do hope that you will give us another chance, as previous reviews show our food is widely enjoyed.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Dropped in for lunch while in the area. The service was a bit slow and we were a bit worries if we were going to get the right food as we had a wait to get it.

Well the food was Great, Tasting and large potions, well worth the price on the menu. The menu was not so large but had a good range. The best was the chips and the cake, although the rest was also great and worth another visit for something else and chips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisamay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were enticed in by the manager who told us they had just brought in their new winter menu. We were surprised how nice and hip the interior was, as this wasn't immediately apparent from outside. Our toddler was made to feel welcome and the menu was well put together. The food we had was very well cooked and clearly great thought had gone into the design of the dishes. I would agree with other review that the service was on the slow side. Not sure if this was understaffing or if the staff were just not attentive enough. Food took a bit longer to arrive than we might have liked but we were ready for that having been told that the menu was new. General impression was of somewhere that may well find itself at the top of the Tripadvisor league table for Aviemore at some point.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank acha_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Super Panther also viewed

Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing