We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful, comfortable B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairngorm Guest House
Ranked #11 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheerful, comfortable B&B”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Cheerful, comfortable B&B with welcoming hosts. We had a lovely room with access to a living room as well. Welcoming breakfast room with the opportunity to interact with other guests. We were even offered cake on our arrival! Pity we didn't take up the offer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nandita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    79
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
145
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

The room was nice but really didn't serve much more than a base of operation. The shower didn't drain well but the room was clean. We didn't have a chance to fall in love with the place because we were always out exploring the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakealina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

When we arrived, we had to let ourselves in and wait 15 minutes before anyone arrived to welcome us. We were offered "cake" - dried up, under clingfilm! The bedrooms we and our friends had were very small and cramped. There is a bedroom off the guest lounge - somewhat embarrassing for all concerned! The breakfast "window" was 7.45-8.45am - very rushed and regimented. The food was good with quite a good choice. However, we would not stay there again and would not recommend to friends. Rather disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
139cairngorm, Owner at Cairngorm Guest House, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Let me say how disappointed we were to read your comments. Peter ,myself and our staff strive to make all our guests feel welcome and enjoy staying with us. We like to take a mobile phone number so we can contact guests to find out time of arrival . Either Margaret or ourselves are available to attend to guests, however, when we do need to be out of the house,for whatever the reason, we have installed a state of the art intercom/bell system . When rung guests are able to speak to us by mobile phone and they can gain entry to the lounge . We are never far away .
We offer our delicious cake as a goodwill gesture, wrapped in cling film to keep it fresh .
Many of our returning guests ask specifically for the room off the lounge because it has several advantageous features.
We are a small enterprise and cannot offer 24 hour round the clock service as in a hotel but we do try our best to cater for individual needs. We offer a breakfast tray in your room or bacon sandwich, juice and fruit " to go" .
On departure guests are asked if they enjoyed their stay and if everything was fine for them . Perhaps if you had let us know of your grievances they could have been dealt with at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amerongen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

A busy guest house run by very hospitable people. Breakfast is very good, you have a lot of choice. We had a room upstairs. Downside was the busy road but more the noise from the wind moving the curtains and the window. Nothing a few brochures between the window can't fix. The location is the best feature. Aviemore center at walking distance and the cairngorm mountains nearby and in view.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Yes this is the first guest house we gave stayed in we always use hotels,but we have stayed in Aviemore so many times and have passed this place more times than we care to count so hey Ho let's give it a go.
Good choice as its more like a small friendly hotel rather than having to tip toe thru someone's home which is what has always put us of staying at a B&B.We were checked in by Margaret very pleasant and welcoming and shown to our room.aha now it gets even better, the room in the wife's words were omg it's beautiful.Nice view excellent bed spotlessly clean with pleasant neutral colours( no chintz).tea, coffee,bottles of water and even delicious cake was offered to us which I have to say went down well when we returned to our room after our night out.Another nice touch was the fridge in the lounge for guests so we chilled a couple of small sparklers to have while getting ready to go out for the night.
The couple that own it had just returned from a wedding in Switzerland late the previous evening but they were there getting on with the breakfast.You can have your meal in either the conservatory or in the main room,as the sun was hot we chose to eat in the main room very nice to.Breakfast was a very relaxed affair with everything you could want,and all very good quality.I started with the excellent porridge made by Peter.vg indeed with a wee drop of milk and honey.
Now there is one thing you have to do and that is to ask Peters wife("what is in the potato scone"?)His wife is a real character and we shall without a doubt return here again, but one tiny little thing I shall show Peter how to poach an egg?next time lol cheers

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed here for one night.
Excellent hosts who made you feel welcome and also interested in what you were doing.
Accommodation was good and a very satisfying and healthy breakfast.
Good advert for Scottish tourism

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john542186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We spent 3 nights in this guesthouse and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Cairngorm Room at the front of the building. There is a lot of traffic during the day, but at night not so much. If you don't like traffic noice I suggest you ask for a room at the other side of the building.
The room is not very big. We had 2 suitcases and we there was hardly room for them.
That were the negative points. The positive points are that the room and bathroom were very clean, the wifi was quick en the shower was marvelous! Also the staff/owners were very nice and helpful. I would definitely recommand this guesthouse!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heleenvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
6.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
250 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#9 of 29 in Aviemore
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Guest House

Property: Cairngorm Guest House
Address: 139 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter, Gail and staff invite you to our lovely Victorian home in the Cairngorm National Park. Some rooms on ground floor, some with mountain views, some with kingsize beds. 24 hour access, drying/storage, free parking and Wifi. Real log fire in guest lounge. All amenities – ten minutes walk. Ideal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairngorm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Guest House Hotel Aviemore
Cairngorm Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing