We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast to get up for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairngorm Guest House
Ranked #12 of 28 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Last minute stay as the place we did go to was ..............,,,,,,!! But cairngorm g. House a perfect place to stay ,nice folk ,can't do enough for you ,and the breakfast was getting up for ,even if it was half a hour earlier than I was thinking ,a clock thing not working right in my head, yip just about perfect ,would tell anyone it s the place to stay if in that part of the country

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

As per other reviewers, this place isn't 5 star but then again you aren't paying 5 star prices. Got off to an average start with a very impersonal greeting from a Margaret but gradually improved with a great finish with Gail ( I think) in the morning. Facilities are basic but clean and comfortable, house is in a great location and close to everything. Shower was a bit hit & miss especially for a taller guest but managed in the end.
Good choice for breakfast in the morning, if I may suggest the option of plunger coffee? I judge a place on the quality of its coffee and rate highly when plunger coffee is an option.
Overall an enjoyable 1 night stay in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingScorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
139cairngorm, Owner at Cairngorm Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for your comments. We would just like to explain about our coffee . We use fair trade filter coffee supplied by Matthew Algee . (Lots of tastes and trials of different types) . The coffee filters into a vacuum flask which is really the same as using a plunger type jug.
Sorry to hear you had trouble with your shower. They are adjustable. I wish you had commented at the time . I am glad though you managed to resolve it and you enjoyed your stay in Aviemore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

this is a great bed and breakfast in the centre of Aviemore, so very convenient for exploring the beautiful area. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the hosts Peter and Gail make you feel very very welcome. Breakfast is a feast, all local produce, beautifully cooked and served by very friendly staff. A great base for a fab holiday

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberleyjane_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very nice property with excellent and accommodating hosts. Very nice breakfast - don't miss the porridge. Lovely common room, laundry facilities, etc. Rooms are small but well appointed - though bathrooms might be a squeeze for some and getting consistent water temperature can be a bit tricky. Would definitely stay again but be sure to book ahead - we booked in March for a visit in October!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nulptr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

After trying quite a few guest houses, hotels and B&B which we disregard because they were either too expensive or not enough character we stumbled upon this place. Ideal location in easy reach of the town centre and activities. They seem to have thought of all the small things - hair dryers, soap, tea/coffee, wifi, homemade cake in the room etc etc. would def recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkp198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and was bitterley disappointed. We arrived to quite a rushed welcome i.e this is that, check out is this etc. inside of the hotel is a replica of alot of hostels i have stayed in travelling through oz and nz. Rooms were were very clean but furnished to a very basic standard and were really small. Breakfast was...well i didnt finish it which says alot! Black pudding was hard as a rock and sausages were non-descript. And upon leaving we were packing our stuff into the car and one of the staff chased us out as though we were about to do a runner! Not a great way to end our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stopped here on our grand tour of Scotland and we were very happy we did. Room was good and great location on the edge of town - 10 mins walk to the shops/cafes/restaurants. Facilities were good and we were given lots of good advice on things to do, food options and walks. Great breakfast too. I can see a longer visit in years to come...

Food wise we explored a few options but the stand outs for us in Aviemore were the Ski-Ing Doo restaurant for a fun evening meal and the Mountain Cafe for coffee or breakfast - not that you'd need more food after the one at the Cairngorm Guest House!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abumonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.5 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,350 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 28 in Aviemore
532 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Guest House

Address: 139 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range: £77 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter, Gail and staff invite you to our lovely Victorian home in the Cairngorm National Park. Some rooms on ground floor, some with mountain views, some with kingsize beds. 24 hour access, drying/storage, free parking and Wifi. Real log fire in guest lounge. All amenities – ten minutes walk. Ideal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairngorm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Guest House Hotel Aviemore
Cairngorm Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing