We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lodges in great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb lodges in great setting”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Exceeded all expectations during a four night family stay to celebrate a significant birthday. All very clean and well equipped. Good quality toiletries in all three bathrooms where under-floor heating makes them particularly cosy. Nice extra touches such as bathrobes and slippers along with complementary spa water and biscuits on arrival. Wood burning stove a fantastic feature with a complementary supply of wood which was replenished without having to ask - makes the living area really snug and inviting with temperatures down to minus 10C outside. TV in every bedroom reduces arguments about which channel to watch. Very minor issues in the kitchen was lack of an oven and limited kitchen utensils - suggest bring your own large frying pan, mixing bowls, sieve and sharp knives. Have to pay for wireless internet but speed fine (online TV etc ok - suggest bring HD lead to plug into large flat screen in living area, there is also a TV in each bedroom). Onsite was very quiet while we were there (late January) but not really an issue as is a very short walk to centre of Aviemore (see review of Old Bridge Inn). Fitness centre fine as is pool if avoid times when lessons are being given. Ski hire worked well (although suggest bring your own ski goggles) - mountain closed due to blizzards for one of our pre-booked days but received rapid refund. Aviemore supermarket fine for basics with larger one in Inverness. All staff very friendly and helpful with daily offer of cleaning, towel changes etc. All round a great stay in fantastic accommodation and looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear DaveCoys
I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay in our Woodland Lodges, it is always our aim to not only meet but exceed the expectations of our guests and I am so happy that this has been the case with your stay. It is great that the lodges were so accommodating for you and your family – and I am happy to inform you that we now offer free internet in all of the lodges.
Thank you for you kind words about our staff – I know they will be happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    36
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
69
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highlands,Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Just returned from a weekend break with family staying in one of the three bedroomed Woodland Lodges which we all thought was great.Situated next to the childrens playpark was a real bonus which my two grandkids loved. The small hill directly outside the lodge proved a big hit with the kids as well as it was covered with snow and great for sledging down.We had a Dinner & breakfast deal with meals being taken in Aspects Restaurant which was very child friendly! Food was very good but service a bit slow on the second night which meant the kids were getting grumpy and had to be taken away early. Swimming pool and play area was great as well.
We would certainly return again in the near future

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_henderson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear mike_henderson77
Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am thrilled to read it and see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you got the opportunity to enjoy the resort and all that we have to offer from its accommodation and dining to the leisure facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I travelled up to Aviemore for a stag weekend and we had 2 of the 6 person lodges booked, both were fantastically clean and well equipped and none of us had a bad thing to say about them. Each of the bedrooms had an ensuite bathroom and the lounge area was well kitted out with sofas and a wood burner. The kitchen area was fairly small but had everything you need.

I'd definately use these lodges again if i was up in Aviemore in the near future!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear MK1980
Thank you for your positive review, it is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guest expectation and provided the best service possible. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the lodges comfortable and clean.
We look forward to welcome you back again in the future.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Very poorly equipped , table which sits four in a lodge for six , lack of basic cooking equipment , faulty micro wave , a fridge which had no seal , curtains falling apart , kitchen units affected by damage for some time , en suite tiles cracked and lacking frosting in places - long standing issues which were notified on arrival . Especially the fridge , nothing was resolved during our stay or since dispute several opportunities , expensive for something far from luxury !!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racheltraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Racheltraff
Thank you for taking the time to write a review – as all guest feedback is always appreciated. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the lodge you stayed in. We always strive for the highest guest service available and I am genuinely sorry that you did not feel this was the case during you stay. I can assure you that your comments have all been passed on to the departments involved.
If you do feel you would like to discuss you stay in further detail with us, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,283 reviews
6.6 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: | Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Luxury Woodland Lodges nestled amongst Macdonald Aviemore Resort's ancient Caledonian pine forests. 18 deluxe Highland lodges combine luxury with outdoor living; after a day of adventuring in the surrounding mountains, store your bike or skis in the woodshed, order a pizza takeaway from Giovanni's - the onsite Italian restaurant, and settle into your woodland home-from-home in front of a cosy wood-burning stove. Enjoy long summer evenings with a drink on your private deck, take a stroll to one of the resort restaurants nearby or for the more energetic take a walk to the Craigellachie Nature Reserve. Alternatively guests have use of the on-site Aviemore Activity Centre featuring 25m indoor leisure pool, gym, soft play and activity rooms for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Woodland Lodges At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing