We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Short Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Short Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Lodges very comfortable. Beds however were very uncomfortable in all 3 bedrooms and would benefit from new mattresses, far too soft! Lovely espresso coffee machine with starter pods but unfortunately the shop only had a very small supply of replacement pods and didn't know when they would be getting further supplies. Shop assistant very offhand when I queried this. All other staff in all areas very helpful. Lovely break and our Australian visitors had a great time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the lodge accommodating for yourself and your party.
Thank you for your comments regarding our staff - I know they will be delighted to hear that they made you feel welcome.

Please note that you comments regarding the shop has been passed on.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    33
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
66
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kintore, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Originally I'd booked rooms at the Highland Hotel at the Aviemore Resort but approximately a week before the trip I'd been advised that the booking had been upgraded to the Lodges. The lodges are exceptionally well appointed and the one we had all the bedrooms had on suite bathrooms. Last time I stayed at the Highlands Hotel (approx 2yrs back) the rooms were exceptionally tired. This time the Lodge was an absolute treat despite having to download instructions on how to use the Nespresso coffess machine and get a new remote for the DVD player... Who needs DVD in such surroundings anyway??

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. It is great that you found the lodges so accomodating for your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We booked 4 lodges for a gathering of friends.

The lodges are spacious and well appointed. My personal bug bears are bed comfort and shower strength. 50-50 here. Incredibly over soft beds but pretty decent shower strength (plus big shower stalls).

The bits that were missing for me were that the lodges had very limited cooking facilities (a 2 ring hob and a microwave) and no outdoor seating.

For a 6 bed property, that's just not up to scratch. Aviemore has plenty going on but sometimes you just want to be a bit of a homebody.

Location wise, the lodges are bang on. They're in the centre of the village with only a 5 minute walk to the likes of the Cairngorm pub and Roos Leap restaurant.

Finally, they are quite expensive. I guess if you split the cost by 6, they're not too bad but I feel they are priced a bit too high for what they are.

Would I stay there again? Probably but I'd be looking for an early deal to get a bargain.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyMcFatboyfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your resort experience.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was accommodating for your stay.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the facilities available in the lodge - your comments have been taken on board and passed on the relevant departments.

We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked lodges numbers 3 and 4 for six adults and four children 1/6/7/8 - for three nights Friday to Monday - price was excellent for the lodges including breakfast and evening meals - which were all excellent with great and friendly service - aspects/ steak house/ Giovanni's - faultless. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Lodges were warm, clean and beds were very comfortable. We were beside the play park which was great for the kids/ swimming pool was lovely - they even let us in early on the Friday as the lodges were ready . Would highly recommend. Especially as it's in such a beautiful area in Scotland. If I could suggest improvement it would be that there were a few outdoor activities on show but no one was using them - not sure why?

Room Tip: Lodges three and four great for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am delighted to hear that you has such a wonderful stay with us - it is joy to read.
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff, it is something that we work very hard on and I know they will be delighted to hear that they made you feel welcome.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

These lodges are effectively 3 4* bedrooms with added living accommodation. The master suite was a very generous sized room with king sized bed and the en-suite has both a bath an desperate shower. The two other rooms were a good sized double and a twin room, both with large en-suite shower rooms. The double was upstairs and had a small seating are for 2 people on the landing, there was also a useful storage cupboard for cases etc. downstairs is an open plan kitchen/dining/living area. No oven in the kitchen but there is a combi microwave. Also a toaster and Nespresso coffee machine with a sample pack of pods. There is a dishwasher and tablets were provided for this. There is a log fire and this was set ready to light, with more logs in the shed at the back of the lodge. This was lockable and could also house bikes, skis etc. wi-fi was included and was good enough to stream the Formula 1 live when we were there. Housekeeping came by every morning to see if you wanted anything done and were friendly and helpful when you did. Two of us used the pool and had a good time, at check in you get a card to get towels at the pool. We ate on site and elsewhere in Aviemore. Tescos is a short stroll aware for supplies and the shopping centre on site has a well stocked deli counter. Takeaway Italian can be delivered to your villa from the on site restaurant if required. Red squirrels and rabbits outside most morning was a nice extra. We had a great relaxing break with 2 older teenagers, having 2 keys meant we could do our own thing and meet up later.

Room Tip: The A9 runs not far from the site. If traffic noise bothers you (it's not very loud) ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sassilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of the lodge you stayed in.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your family and found the resort and lodge accommodating for your stay.
I am glad that you found everything that you needed was available in the lodge and that you had the opportunity to make use of the dining options available on site.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend for a friends hen weekend we had 4 lodges of 6 the beds were comfortable and all had en suites with showers. living area was big ,kitchen was wee but only thing it didn't have was a oven but everything else. Nice pool & spa wiyh gym too nice woodland walks too. Wouldnt recommend the Italian restaurant govannis we booked a meal here and it was very nice we ate it tho needed something to soak up the booze.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank joannebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your resort experience.
I am delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay in the lodges.
Thank you for your kind feedback and comments.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I booked three lodges for a Hen party of 18 ladies and had a fantastic weekend. The lodges were ideal as all the bedrooms were en-suite, and there was enough room for us all to gather in one lodge. There was also ample car parking at the lodges for all our cars. The resort staff were very helpful during the initial planning, and all the staff, including those at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante were efficient and friendly.
The area offers lots of activities to suit all tastes, and some retail therapy at Spey Valley Shopping or Aviemore which is within easy walking distance of the lodges.
A great weekend which the Bride-to-be will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with your party in the lodges.
Thank you for your wonderful comments.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
6.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.3 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
8.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: | Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Luxury Woodland Lodges At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing