We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“strudel worth the trip on its own!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenmore Cafe - CLOSED

Glenmore Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“strudel worth the trip on its own!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Not the most modern of places, and not that false scottish shortbread tin hospitality, but cracking basic food, and the most amazing strudel. My other half remembers this place being exactly the same as a child, which is part of its charm!

Its not fancy and doesn't come with all the frills, but its a bonny wee cafe, that does decent food without costing a mortgage, with the added advantage of watching the birds and squirrels in the trees outside.

Highly recommend the circular window seat if you can get this coveted spot!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    10
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Surroundings are a bit basic but there is at least some character. Food fine at reasonable prices, staff friendly. My son was mesmerised by the birds. It was a cosy place to refuel on a cold day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gjbigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Poor service and Dirty”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Good old fashioned 1970's British poor service. Don't know how some reviewers have given this place "excellent" ratings: I can only assume that it was the proprietors themselves. The lady who served me coffee never once said "please" or "thank you". The cushion covers on the seats are filthy. The seats on the outside decking are covered from months (perhaps years) of bird droppings. It's such a shame that this facility is so awful as it is in such a wonderful location: You're able to watch birds feeding and red squirrels scurrying about. But don't bother going to this place - there's plenty of other places that will treat you much better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BurmeseDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment..!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Having driven 2 hours, looking forward to an old favourite of egg and bacon rolls, we arrived just 5 minutes after their 12noon deadline for such culinary delights..! Imagine our disappointment when told we could not have such a simple dish..! Nothing would move the lady from our request, only to be told that we could perhaps find the same at the next cafe..! Not great service nor welcome. We left and found, indeed, our chosen menu...next door! Great service at Billy Can..happy to oblige and VERY welcoming...and fantastic cafe latte too!! Avoid Glenmore Cafe, we will bypass...and head for Billy Can...!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardreoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad service”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I queued for 39 minutes to be served tasteless soup with stale roles. When we complained about the roles we were given other stale roles with a grunt.

Don't waste your time or money.

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenmore Cafe also viewed

 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing