We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Much Flavor”
Review of Fish&Chips

Fish&Chips
Ranked #39 of 63 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Scottish
Restaurant details
Huntington Beach
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not Much Flavor”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Large servings sizes but not much flavor. Fish or chips. It was disappointing. I suppose being right on the main street is what brings in the customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HBSponger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor value”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Second visit here and to be honest I wish I hadn't bothered - well located on main road through Aviemore with on street parking. Has a takeaway and sit in restaurant however I can't comment on the eating in facilities. Extensive menu and food cooked to order so a small wait - the food was very pricey even by other standards in the UK which would have been OK .. if the portions were of a similar size. They weren't though and the chips were dry. Good fish clearly fresh and peas were good quality. Overall not a chippy I would go out of my way to visit again- needs some decent competition.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thedragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had fish and chips when we visited in April. It was not cheap at nearly £7 but the quality of the fish and chips was excellent and certainly the best I have had in a long time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EddieJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice start to our trip”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Lovely fresh fish & real hand made chips with great service & the option to sit outside. I would recommend very highly as a "must try" if planning a visit to Aviemore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All good”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Went here after the Movie at the MacDonald's Hotel. Great little place and nothing was left on anyone's plate. Great little place

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irnbru52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish&Chips also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Fish&Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing