We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unforgettable gem in the Highlands”
Inshriach House Lawn side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inshriach House Lawn side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Inshriach House Lawn side
The kitchen
The bothy project.
Inshriach House front
The Beermoth
Inshriach yurt
View from the back door
Mrs Blacks
The loch
The library
French maids room
Miss Blacks Bedroom
The nursery
Spare Bedrooms
Upstairs gallery
Cluedo Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
10 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ihearthol...
1 review
“Unforgettable gem in the Highlands”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a wonderful time celebrating my sisters Hen Weekend at Inshriach House. We loved this quirky period home, it was the perfect setting for the Murder Mystery Dinner we held there one evening. Truly felt like stepping back in time with the added bonus of electricity and WiFi! It is in a beautiful setting in the Cairngorms, in the rolling countryside, river and forest within the grounds. We spent lots of time chatting, cooking, playing games and exploring the many delightful rooms in the house. You can tell this charming house is well loved and cared for, and it’s comfortable and homely. Log fires and the huge Aga in the kitchen keeps the house nice and cosy, the kitchen is fully loaded with everything you could possibly need! The Bedrooms have pretty feature fireplaces and wash basins and the beds are very comfortable. The roll top baths are a real treat and quick to fill. We got to sample Inshriach Gin (and took some home) in the rustic Gin Saloon which was super fun and super delicious! The perfect place for a house party! I’m sure this haunting place will lure us back for a return visit some day, hopefully. Thank you Walter so much for letting us stay, was AMAZING!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aimeeleco...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So magical, it's tempting to keep it a secret”
Reviewed 6 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Inshriach is somewhere I've been going for the last 10 years, it's a very special place, filled with so many treasures and imbued with an enchanting, old fashioned charm.
The horse box sauna and swim in the spey is probably the best wellbeing treatment I've ever had, far better than any spa - I've never felt so refreshed in my life. That's if one manages to leave the cosiness of the house. Whether it's sitting around the kitchen table reading the papers or getting dressed up for banquet suppers and drinks in the main hall, it's a house that hosts great escapes and parties.
One of my favourite places in the world.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiannM94
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend in the shepherd's hut”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Just back from an amazing weekend spend in the shepherd's hut at Inshriach. It was very relaxing and peaceful, set in an idyllic location. My boyfriend and I were looking for somewhere to simply chill for the weekend and we definitely chose the right place. The log burner made the little hut very warm and cosy, the surroundings were beautiful and Aviemore is only a short drive away. Can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect venue for a convivial, homely and atmospheric week with friends and family.”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Inshriach House is the jewel in the crown of a fascinating & fun estate, full of quirky & welcoming accommodation, with hosts to match! Walter & his team are there when you need them, ready to help but respectful of the peace & quiet you likely came to find. The furnishings are a mix of the grandiose & the slightly faded, but all are charming, comfortable & add to the character. Attention to detail makes Inshriach House very homely but also provides a constant supply of enjoyable surprises & trinkets to examine. The kitchen is extremely well equipped (we held a self-catered wedding!) & the Aga keeps the whole house lovely & warm (surprisingly so for such a large house). The range & layout of living spaces is great for big groups or diverse groups, from young to old. The baths are fantastically large & quick to fill! We also loved the garden... not over-landscaped but plenty of attractive borders & space for kids to play. The week exceeded our expectations! Thanks! Chris & Liz.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P M
Isle Of Skye
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful old Highland hunting lodge reeking with atmosphere and character.”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It is with some sadness that we approach the end of an idyllic house party which climaxed with the wedding here of our daughter and (now!) son in law yesterday. We could not think of a better place or way for we have just experienced

Be clear though, Insriach is totally unsuitable for superficial, supercilious plastic people of the sort who wrote the May review. It is not trendy, full of modern furnishings and up to the minute decor. Definitely not for the fashion conscious slaves of social media rushing to tick off their 'must do' list.

Inschriac has been a family home to generations of the same family, it is full of their furniture, trappings and memorabilia, all of which tell the fascinating story of a house of great character and its family. Inevitably much of the furniture is old, some a bit worn - as should be expected - and all of it very comfortable. To compare it with junk shop purchases is uncharitable and, bluntly, untrue. An awful lot of work and care has gone into conserving the character of the house. the aura of a slightly faded throwback to a long gone era is captured to perfection and enchanted all of the sixty plus people who have visited during the past week.

Our hosts have been most helpful and invisible!

An additional highlight has bee watching red squirrels feed from the birdfeeder by the kitchen window!

We couldn't recommend Inschriach more highly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalergis
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved the Beer Moth ”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the Beer Moth for a romantic weekend in the Cairngorms. We absolutely loved it!! The truck has all the things you need for a nice stay, a cozy bed, wood burning stove, pots and pans, and even a fire pit. The owners have kindly given us extra blankets and despite January's frost, it really was nice and cozy. There is no electricity, which means no modern day distractions, and the truck is lit by candles and candle lanterns which gives it a lovely feel. The horse box sauna was amazing too, and you can jump straight into the river to cool down :-) Not to mention the surrounding lush woodland and the absolutely dark skies at night - the stars were amazing. Best glamping experience of my life, I would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
92amb
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great size, but sad and creepy”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

To get a house this size in this beautiful part of Scotland means you can have a great house party, which we did, but all our guests commented on the junk-shop decor and horror-movie props of children's clothing and empty cots - parts are genuinely creepy. There's a sadness about the house, of a family down on their luck renting out a run down place and not quite able to let go (they call in often). Could be great if time and love were invested.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2017
Amongst the 400 plus bookings and thousands of people who have stayed here, many of whom return year after year, inevitably there are one or two individuals who are unreceptive to the spirit and stories of Inshriach, who don't care for the atmosphere or the history or the patina of old things or simply don't get what we do. That's fine, you can't please everyone all the time. Inshriach is an old house, that is its joy, and it is a family home. It is off grid bar the electricity, everything on the estate is connected and we know it very well. If the water slows somewhere on the farm, we will drop into the house to check it, if we see the chimney for the pellet boiler isn't smoking, we drop in to make sure it is working properly, if the phone or internet stops elsewhere, it may also have stopped in the house. These little attentions, often pre-emptive, usually unnoticed and always friendly and unobtrusive, keep the house running smoothly. We like and take an interest in the people who come to stay here, especially if, like the week in question, they have taken all the other accommodation on the estate. This place has its eccentricities so we are on hand to explain how things work, where things are and to make people feel welcome.

However, never in 10 years have we been greeted with such aggression, unpleasantness or paranoia. I don't know if barricading the back door with boot racks and butter churns was trying to make a point but it didn't make anyones life easier and other members of your party found it embarrassing. Thankfully we are now long in the tooth enough to not take it personally or let our week be darkened by such peculiarity and joylessness, and rather than wasting our time trying to please and placate one individual we can now simply take a step back and wait for them to go away. I really hope your negative experience didn't spoil what otherwise seemed to be an enjoyable occasion for everyone else.

Sometimes a review says more about the reviewer than about the place. This is your first review. We look forward to reading your subsequent outpourings of joy and hope that anyone else you visit will look back to this and take comfort.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing