We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just right for what we wanted....”
other travellers have booked this property
The Shelter Stone Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shelter Stone Cottage
Front Bedroom: Kingsize bed Kingsize bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
The Shelter Stone Cottage
Front Bedroom: Kingsize bed
Kingsize bedroom
Kingsize bed
Twin Bedroom
Twin Room
Living Area
Dining Area
Kitchen
Cooker and Fridge
Washing machine
shower room
shower
Aviemore Sunrise
rear patio area
Car Parking area
Cottage front garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alanskki
1 review
“The only upside were beds were clean”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

shower was filthy, only one toilet roll to last us 4 days and one bin bag only good thing was beds were clean. Garden was a disgrace weeds every where wont be booking again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
As I recall 2 people were booked in for 3 nights!! Normally 4pm arrival and 10 am dept. such a pity that you did not contact me whilst you stayed in the cottage and my cleaner or myself would have been to see you straight away....why wait 2 weeks + to complain??...strange you never mentioned that I collected the 2 of you from the bus stop at 2 o'clock and took you along to the cottage with your bags either.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrianafa...
England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just right for what we wanted....”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

two bedroomed self catering ideally located in walking distance to everything - perfect for family with two children - really enjoyed our stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, everything on same floor.
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
thank you so much...you are also what we in the trade call "ideal customers"!! you are most welcome at any time and I much appreciate how nicely you left the cottage....like so many of my guests over the years who arrive as strangers and leave as friends
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia F
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location for a Ski Weekend”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is modern and cosy, which is great in the middle of a Scottish winter. The cottage itself is located on the main street of Aviemore and is easy to find with lots of off road parking. The owner was really flexible with our arrival time, as she lives nearby, which was fantastic as we had a late start from Aberdeen.

Furthermore, upon arrival the owner was quick to mention that we shouldn't feel any need to rush to leave on our departure day. Unfortunately, due to the weather not being on our side, we couldn't ski on the Cairngorm ski resort and went to the Lecht on our first day and on our depature day, Glenshee. Because Glenshee is a little further away, we decided to leave early and this was no issue for the owner. The front door is self-locking so we left the keys in the cottage and were on our way.

We used the oven on the first night and this was easy to operate. Also, there is a Tesco nearby which is really convenient for grabbing what we needed. The best thing was that there was enough hot water for all 4 of us after a day on the slopes. The cottage had towels provided which was a bonus for the price that we got for it!

During our weekend, we visited the Winking Owl to watch the Calcutta Cup and also found Ski-ing Doo, which is a great little snow sport enthusiast hidey-hole. Unfortunately, we didn't stay long enough to visit much else but I'm sure I'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and abundant hot water
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
I'm glad you all had such a good time in Aviemore and look forward to a return visit! Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudz-St
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really good value accommodation”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Owner friendly and welcoming, bothy small but warm and comfortable, had everything we needed. Great for small family group.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2013
so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for leaving everything so neat and tidy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leona van...
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
I am so glad that you had a lovely stay in The Shelter Stone Cottage and I look forward to seeing you again...regards Dorothy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janny V
Steenwijk, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
So glad you had a lovely stay in Aviemore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$79
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing