We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very frieendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cobbs Cafe

Cobbs Cafe
Ranked #24 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The costa Starbucks of Aviemore
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very frieendly staff”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Had a lovely coffee & cake but a little on the expensive side. However, the staff were very friendly & helpful so that made up for the price a bit .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    66
    33
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

On entering we sat at a table and looked for the menu only to find that there isn't one. We had to ask what was available and were pointed towards a board on the wall which gave the choice of sandwiches, toasties, paninis and the like, but it didn't tell you what the fillings were. All very strange. I selected a pre-made sandwich in a paper bag and my wife asked for a cheese and ham panini. Given my sandwich was already made up it took over half and an hour to be served. The staff had to run over to Tesco on several occasions for ingredients which gave the impression that they were totally unprepared for customers needs. Other customers who came in after us were served before us. We did complain and were given an apology but it was too little too late. A man and women came in who appeared to be the owners and they proceeded to make a hindrance of themselves by faffing around behind the counter and just getting in the way. You order drinks at the till and these are shouted up at another counter when ready, all very impersonal. Over all the service was shocking and the prices charged did not reflect the poor quality offered. The “homebaking” looks very tempting but when you see it being brought out premade in cardboard boxes it gives an anticlimax feeling. I can say for certain I won't be back and will recommend that you should not visit this establishment!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F C, Owner at Cobbs Cafe, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
i can only apologise to you I have written to you direct and as yet no response . I can assure you this is not how we do business ,

All I can do is apologise we have made appropriate measures from today to make sure future customers are not disappointed in their experience at Cobbs Aviemore . Two area managers are now based on site to make sure every thing is tip top.

Cobbs Aviemore is a great stop off point having recently given the place a full make over , with new menu , new look , and run by friendly local staff you will will be assured of a great welcome . Special meal deals available sit in or take away . And our world famous cakes made in our Cakery by Loch Ness .

We also have a great meeting room which can be booked free of charge as long as you buy a coffee !! Pop in and speak to Kirsty to book .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“friendy staff and good coffee”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

was up in aviemore for a long weekend, we stopped at the coffee shop for a quick bite to eat.
the cafe to a take away system which is easier, but we didnt like any of the choices available. the blonde lady said that she would make to order which was fab as we could choose what we wanted.
sandwiches were lovey and so was the coffee we had. the service was chatty and happy.
will be returning.
only negative was they ran out on Victoria sponge!!! hopefuly next time the will have it in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but strange system”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Cobbs is a nice cafe which serves a range of drinks, basic sandwich/toasties and some ice cream. We ate there on our summer holiday and the food was nice enough but a bit limited in range. They operate an odd system where they've already bagged up the sandwiches and you pick one for them to serve/toast (unless you're taking out).

This lead to confusion for most of the people who walked in whilst we were there and they clearly have the ability and ingredients to make fresh - reducing wasted packaging, increasing choice and freshness. An ok cafe, if a bit pricey, but a weird quirk.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AllWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobbs Cafe also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Cobbs Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing