We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner”

Giovanni's Italian Ristorante
Ranked #41 of 60 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Saturday night had a lovely dinner in Giovannis, food was good and tasty, service was great, can say was first class (exelent).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank changue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    15
    18
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Substandard pizza - not worth the price”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had enjoyed a nice day at the Macdonald Resort, having a lovely swim and a walk. Afterwards we were going to go to the Aspects restaurant, but instead fancied something tasty; Giovanni's seemed like it might be an option.

It didn't bode well when the staff were shocked that we hadn't either booked (the place was one-quarter-full, if that) or stayed in the hotel. The service though during the meal was pretty good, if a bit too intrusive.

The pizza though was awful, and if I had paid £1 for in Tesco would have returned it. £12.50 for a pizza that was not only one of the poorest pizzas I had ever eaten, but probably one of the most tasteless main meals.

The food served at Giovanni's is just not good enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perrinado32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Go to asda and cook the pizza yourself!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Walked in and wanted to walk back out due to awkward atmosphere. But hungry so decide to try, order taken by a very nervous waiter (with manager peeking over his shoulder) then food arrived, pizza and pasta. Pizza was out the oven and tasted bland at best. Pasta was soggy and tasteless - At £16 a total rip off!! When asked if out meal was ok by two different waiters, they didn't look surprised and shrugged and apologised! Don't go here!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lmccall113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Warm welcome,superb food and lovely log fire. We had the buffet which was fresh,plenty of salads(bean salad etc) and pasta.Great service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank enjoygoodfoodsc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, all of the team here at Giovanni's work hard to give all of our customers an excellent experience when they choose to dine with us, I will pass your comments on to our team, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality Italian nosh”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Just arrived at the resort tonight with the wife for a couple of days snowboarding and staying D,B&B. Went to Giovanni's on for our first night and restaurant was really quiet when we arrived at 7 but the staff weren't over at our table all the time. I had the belly pork for the main course and it was amazing!!! My wife won't eat belly pork normally but tried it and she even found it amazing! Wife had the gios pizza and it was an excellent pizza and I had some of hers to help her finish it! All round excellent meal had for each course by both of us!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic 5 Star Review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us at the Aspects and I will certainly pass over your kind words to the staff and Chef who I am sure will be delighted with your comments.

best regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giovanni's Italian Ristorante also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Giovanni's Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing