We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal”

The Rowan Tree Country Hotel Resturant
Ranked #18 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Myself and 8 members of my family went for a meal tonight, we were shown in to the bar area to a very comfy open fire sitting room, we all had a drink sitting waiting for our table the staff were very friendly and helpful and we all felt very relaxed.
Food was first class homemade and all 3 courses were of the same quality.
Excellent and will definitely be returning in the future.
Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 667Jackadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    19
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, 5* food and service”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Rowan Tree is a hotel but you don't have to be a guest to dine in the restaurant although you must book as it does get very busy. The menu is superb, with Trio of Venison, Trio of Lamb etc, fish dishes and vegetarian and an amazing selection of desserts. The dishes are selected by the chef and the menu does change but the quality of the food doesn't, it is always superb. The atmosphere is lovely, very cosy and vibrant with log fires roaring, perfect for the cold Scottish evenings. The staff are so friendly and helpful, there is a lovely family feel. Most definately the best restaurant by far in Aviemore and 100% worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lennie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this place.....amazing”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Was recommended from the local taxi driver in Aviemore, so glad we took his advice and booked a table for our last nights stay......what can I say, absolutely lovely, from the setting and chilled out atmosphere, sipping drinks in the lounge area looking at the wonderful views, amazing. Now for the meal.....wow,wow,wow, you will not be dissapointed, gorgeous meal 10 out of 10, not to mention the lovely wine........if you like a nice after dinner drink you are spoilt for choice at the selection, totally made our last night very special, cannot wait to return, if your staying in the area you would be mad to miss out on this gem......stunning food, drinks and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Went to the Rowan tree with some friends recently,could not fault anything,from the time we arrived,and was greeted by a lovely young boy,think he was polish,very very polite,to the time we left,the food,the atmosphere and the service,was touch notch,Well done to all the people involved.Loved loved it,cant wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Fantastic family run hotel and restaurant. Brilliant service of a very high standard. The food is fabulous. Well worth a visit. I will certainly return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snakeyb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rowan Tree Country Hotel Resturant also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to The Rowan Tree Country Hotel Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing