We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy amazing evening Meal”

The Rowan Tree Country Hotel Resturant
Ranked #20 of 63 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aviemore, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy amazing evening Meal”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Experienced a lovely evening at this restaurant, courteous staff and friendly warm atmosphere. Food presented very well, and all deliciously tasteful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    22
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

What a find on a freezing winter's night in the highlands. Our last night on our Christmas holiday and we were all set for 'whatever we can find' to eat before a long drive back down south prior to the coming of the new year. Driving aimlessly around snowy Aviemore, it appeared that most places had shut up shop to prep for the festivities, so by chance we stopped at The Rowan tree.
We were welcomed in out of the cold and within five minutes we were happily sat around a fire enjoying pre-dinner drinks whilst greedily eyeballing the menu!
This is the best food I have ever been served in a hotel, restaurant, anywhere, in fact. I tip my hat to the chef for what can only be described as a thoroughly incredible dining experience - just the ticket on a family holiday and it finished our winter break in style!

We will be returning.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely evening here. The food, service and staff were second to none. Lovely meal (I recommend the pork done three ways!!), friendly attentive staff and a brilliant atmosphere....I will definitely be back..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jacmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful dining experience”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Nice place. All aspects were good - food, service, atmosphere, price - the lot. Lovely venison perfectly cooked. ouldn't fault any part of the meal. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Myself and 8 members of my family went for a meal tonight, we were shown in to the bar area to a very comfy open fire sitting room, we all had a drink sitting waiting for our table the staff were very friendly and helpful and we all felt very relaxed.
Food was first class homemade and all 3 courses were of the same quality.
Excellent and will definitely be returning in the future.
Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 667Jackadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rowan Tree Country Hotel Resturant also viewed

Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to The Rowan Tree Country Hotel Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing