We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With some attention to detail, could be amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“With some attention to detail, could be amazing”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Had a great weekend with the family at the Highland Resort. Family rooms are in the Academy Hotel which is basic but ideal for purpose, closest to the town centre, and the kids love the pool and soft play.
As we have found with a few Macdonald hotels though, corners are cut and it could be so much better.
The hotel is set in one of the most beautiful areas of the world, with fantastic natural produce on the doorstep. None of that makes onto the breakfast menu, for example - have a look at the Mountain Cafe for what you can do with local produce. Or the cafe at Rothiemurcus and the venison sandwich at Glenmore is a must.
Service also isn't great, Sunday breakfast was really poor and with check out at 11 and the soft play and pool slide not opening until 10 the last morning with kids up from 7 seems quite long!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew. I am happy to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. It is great that you bad the chance to make use of the leisure facilities that we offer on site and that you enjoyed them.
I am sorry to hear that you found the breakfast service poor on the Sunday morning - your comments have been passed on to the relevant department. Thank you for your feedback regarding the opening times of the soft play - your comments have been taken on board.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    497
    411
    210
    135
See reviews for
723
626
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just back from a three night stay in the resort with my husband and two children. We all had a fantastic time and could not fault the resort for value for money. We loved the pool with the flume and wave machine and used it daily. We visited Inverness and Loch Ness, which is less than an hours drive away, and did some Nessie hunting. We visited Culloden, which is free to national trust members. We visited the Cairngorms and went up in the funicular for a mind blowing view that had me close to tears. The hotel is really central for so many attractions and we could have stayed for 2 weeks and not been bored.....if only! The october deal we purchased included breakfast and dinner; breakfast was an ideal buffet and the restaurants for dinner were superb. We felt really spoiled with the service and presentation of our meals; the staff were brilliant. We did not utilise the kids activities as we were out most of the day but my daughter loved the kids disco in the evening. We also went to the cinema in the hotel on our last night to see Sunshine over leith which was a perfect end to a wonderful break. We couldn't have asked for anything better. We'll be back, fingers crossed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had such a fantastic holiday whilst staying with us.
Thank you for all your kind words in regards to the resort and our staff – they are all so happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were accommodating during your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The resort itself is good and well located. Aviemore is well set up for tourists and the resort is in an excellent location, quiet but just a few minutes away from the town centre. We were impressed with the breakfast which has something for everyone. The service of the staff at reception, in the restaurants and in the leisure facilities was very good. They all seemed well trained and polite. The pool is great and the soft play (you have to pay extra for that) was a hit.
So why only four three stars? When booking a room in this resort, it's essential to understand that there are several hotels. We were initially in the Aviemore Inn. This was very tired and dated (but clean and well kept) and well below the standard finish of rooms you'll have stayed in at other Macdonald hotels. We accepted this since the Inn also has the lowest prices. However, the heat in the room was unbearable at night. Although the radiators were off, heating pipes running through the room were hot and we had a very uncomfortable sleep. To be fair, after making this point to reception on a couple of occasions the next day, we were offered a move to a room in the Highlands Hotel, which was much better. It was explained to us that the thermostat on the radiator could be altered but they could do nothing about the pipes. I am not sure if this was just a temporary problem.
I have to say if we'd stayed the whole time in the Inn we would not have enjoyed our stay as much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acha_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review shared on TripAvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and didn’t not let the issue you had in the Aviemore Inn spoil your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff – I know they will be delighted to hear that they made you feel welcome.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed using a dinner, bed & breakfast promotion. From arrival through to departure we could not fault the service nor the food however, the interior of the hotel really let's this place down which means I would NEVER pay full tariff. I would recommend "The Aspects" restaurant, the food was delicious and the setting too. Breakfast was also based in the Aspects and was equally as good. We also dined in the Italian/Giovanni's which was nice, a little more laid back dining. Our room was clean however, very dated and in need of an overhaul. It looked like they had tried to give it a lick of paint but the dark chipped walnut furniture and shabby en suite really let the place down!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fionapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time taken to write a review.
Thank you ever so much for your wonderful words in regards to our resort staff and dining we offer on site. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed it whilst staying with us.
Please note that you comments regarding the décor of the hotel has been taken on board – the continuous investment into the resort will allow us to always provide the best possible guest service.
We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We found out on our arrival that they have kids activities during the day such as treasure hunts, learning magic tricks, art, biscuit decorating and many more. These activities are laid on at no extra cost and includes evening entertainment. A big thanks to entertainment staff louisa and lauren for making this a great holiday. Food was good, pool is warm with wave machine and a flume. There is also a soft play that does cost extra but the ticket lasts for a full day. Rooms clean and comfortable. Originally booked for 2 nights but booked an extra night whilst there. Great break will return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolateskater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your resort experience with us, it is always much appreciated when guests take the time out to write a reivew.
I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that the kids enjoyed the activities and leisure facilities that we offer on site. Thank you for your wonderful comments on our entertainment staff - I know they will be delighted to hear that they made you feel welcome.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had originally booked for 2 nights but after seeing all that the resort offered we booked another night shortly after we arrived. It is an excellent resort. There are so many things for the kids to do the entertainments staff were first class(Louisa & Lauren).

We weren't aware from the website of all the daily activities for kids. Maybe better advertising on the website and timetables throughout the resort showing what is on offer each day would encourage more kids to attend these.The fact that all these are free makes this place great value for money.

The staff were attentive and polite and all the rooms were clean. I could not speak highly enough of the resort and staff. Far better than Center Parcs in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorMeldrewFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken to write a review.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with your family and found the time to make use of all the facilities and activities that we offer on site.
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding our staff - I am happy to hear that they made you feel welcome.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My family and I have stayed in the lodges at the Highland Resort in Aviemore a number of times now , as it is truly a stunning place to stay .
The log cabins can fit 6 adults and a baby and are of high standard throughout.
All bedrooms are double and have ensuite to each room making it great for families staying together . The kitchens are well equipped with all you need but a oven is missing , only a hob to make your food on .
The pool and sauna/steam room are a treat and a great time for children , there is also a small arcade and a coffee and cake shop where you can rest after a swim or a gorgeous pamper in the spa area .
The spa is lovely , very relaxing and a great choice of beauty packages to choose from , so everyone can feel very relaxed at this stunning place
The town centre of Aviemore is great with lots of lovely places to eat and some of the best Aberdeen Angus you can eat , great shops for tourists , bike hire , railway station to take you even futher around the Highlands and a Tesco for the self catering families is on your door step
The trout fishing around the corner is a fab day out , you can hire all you need there and the people who run it are very friendly people and show you the ropes and help you if you need it ..... i did !
Would recommend this Highland lodge to anyone , it is high end quality and can be expensive but you pay for what you get .
There are other options for accomodation though , there is the hotel , a small apartment village and then the log cabins in the woods , these are what i would gladly live in forever .
The only bad thing about this place is that you have to leave
5*
The scenic drives you can take from Aviemore are truly breathtaking
The staff on site are very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: log cabins are to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review on your resort experience.
I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the lodges so accommodating for you and your family. I am happy that you had the opportunity to really enjoy the resort and use our leisure facilities as well. It is a pleasure to read your review and see that you enjoyed the resort just as much as we enjoy working here.

We cannot wait to get the opportunity to welcome you back again hopefully sooner rather than later.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of three 4-star hotels located within Macdonald Aviemore Resort situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands. This hotel is most popular with families who enjoy the special family rooms featuring special bunk rooms giving kids their own space within their parents room - a popular option with all family members! You'll find everything you need and more within the wider resort - luxury brand shopping, a cinema, top-class restaurants, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing