We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldnt do it again thats for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wouldnt do it again thats for sure”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in the macdonald highland hotel before and left a good honest review,only fair i do the same for the academy one.
Took my nephew as it seemed a perfect place to take kids.
On arrival we checked in at the highland hotel as the academy reception never seems to be manned. Room was nice and clean as expected, bit silly though that we had 4 single beds. Thought this was strange so called to ask for a double bed,was told there was nothing could be done and that sometimes 3rd parties advertise them as double rooms - sorry but thats not good enough and is false advertising!!
Made the most of it and id two beds together to make a double bed with the danger aspect of falling to the ground if was tempted for a cuddle in the night. Breakfast we were told by a staff member to head to the highland hotel, turned up there to be pointed to the conference room area - food was pretty decent and catered everyone,was all a bit mad in there though with kids running everywhere. Cant knock the food as it was decent.
As in the last review i cant knock the excellent facillities or the shops or that. Though they could explain there offers a bit better,was told nothing of a passport thing we needed and was refused entry to a kids entertainment Party without it-paying for it wasnt the problem-no one knew where to get it from.
All in all i wouldn't tell anyone not to come here but i will make them aware of the difference in treatment when going as a couple or a family.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    481
    401
    202
    125
See reviews for
700
609
28
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I was disappointed in the Aviemore Resort!
Its supposed to be a 5* hotel - not!

Check-in at the Conference Centre closed so directed to the Highland Hotel, receptionist foreign and I had trouble understanding her but we got there in the end.

Room was ok - smallish on the ground floor, 2 single beds (clean enough), very small bathroom

Hotel: all I can liken it to is a "motel", you have to come out of the hotel reception & bar/restaurant to get to the rooms, thru what is i suspect is a fire door and they are unlocked and on the hinge all day! so to me very little security.

Restaurant, I was offered 2 choices, the Italian at the Conference Centre or Aspects in the Hightland Hotel, plumped for the Italian - sorry I had - dismal place, huge area of the public space which is un-used, waiter on duty but asked if we had "booked"! only 2 other people in the place! could im sure be a nice dining area, overlooking the car park but on a good day might be nice , the deep red decor put me off. Food was ok, bowl of pasta was a bit glupy but tasted ok, dessert of choc cake was nice. Waiter could do with sponging his jacket and trousers as he was a bit grubby.

Breakfast was in Aspects which was very nice, helpful staff and a full cooked breakfast.

"leisure" - well thats a joke ! you have to leave the hotel - coats on and pack bags to get to the "leisure" centre - which is also open to the public. Pool cold, and have to say dirty, Jacuzzi wasnt working , communal shower and change area no private shower cubicles.

The whole of Aveimore really needs to "pull its sock up" - it would be a fab place to visit but its currently a very tired and expensive place to visit.

Doubt I would pay the money to stay again, would preferr to travel a bit further to Inverness or go to the Hilton at Colymbridge which had more life, even sitting having a coffee in their lounge had more feeling

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinklestar2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Had a very good stay at this hotel just recently but rooms are a little dated with huge TV's which spoil the overall effect of the room. Needs a better wifi system as well. Having said that, the staff in the hotel and at other parts of the resort were more than welcoming and very efficient. Cinema on site was a plus and the shopping there is always a welcome distraction.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGR247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed that facilites that we offer onsite and that they were accommodating for you whilst staying with us.
Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff, that is something that we work very hard on.
Your feedback regarding the decor has been taken on board.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Whilst it didn't quite live up to expectations, we still enjoyed our one night stay here last month. The whole place is in need of a redo, it's been knocked around a bit, mirror fallen off in the lift, bathrooms a little worse for wear and decor a bit dark and dismal. But the room was warm, the bed comfortable, the food excellent and the wifi was free! We also had a lovely view from the 4th floor over the surrounding countryside and all the lights in the trees. We didn't try out most of the facilities so can't comment on the pool or spa. Probably never will return to this beautiful part of the world but would likely stay here again if we did.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience with us.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and found it accommodating and comfortable for yourself. It it great that you dined in the restaurant and found the food excellent.
Thank you for your comments regarding the decor, the feedback has been taken onboard.

We hope you welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We picked this one purely for use of pool and steam room, sauna. We expected to get a clean, modern hotel. It is dated, the corridors need renovating and the hotel needs to lower the drinks prices. Great location and helpful staff but they are pricing it as if it is the London Hilton!
I would pick somewhere smaller and more friendly.

Room Tip: If you do not need the spa etc; pick somewhere cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roostercogburn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us.
I am happy to hear that you found the staff helpful and that the location of the resort was ideal for your stay.
Please note that your comments and concerns have been taken on board.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

we stayed at the Macdonald highland hotel in Aviemore we had a great time the hotel was of a high standard the rooms were very clean, warm and all facilities were available. we had free use of the beautiful spa. The dinning room was well set out plenty of staff to attend to our needs and the food was first class. I can highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Aviemore. Well done to all the staff

Room Tip: we had an ordinary room and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time taken to write a review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the resort accommodating. We always aim for the highest possible guest service and it is always a pleasure when guest find that this is the case.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our stay with our friends at the McDonald didn't get of to a great start , could only find one room reserved . The receptionist had an unfortunate manner and seamed to be on auto pilot. The mistake in the booking was "Booking.com's " fault !!!!. We had asked that we be located on the same floor , this seamed to be a task that was beyond the system and the receptionist capability. 3 room changes later we got a room. It must be said that our room was very nice and well appointed , sorry to say not the same for our friends , there room was in much older decor and had a damp smell in it. It must be said that the wife's used the Spa and had nothing but praise for the staff and the facility's . I found most of the staff to be very helpful and courteous . The only other issue I have with the Hotel is the price of bread !!! £8 for a sandwich , witch takes 20 minutes and £ 1.70 for a slice of bread and some oil at dinner . I think on our next trip north we will give the McDonald experience a miss

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review on Trip Advisor.
I am sorry that you experienced some difficulties with getting checked in when you initially arrived at the resort. I am however delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room you were staying in and found it accommodating.
Thank you for you kind words regarding the Spa facilities on site, I know the girls in the Spa will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed what they have on offer.
Please note that your comments and concerns have been taken on board.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotels of our Macdonald Aviemore Resort are situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands - a magical location. Stay amidst ancient Caledonian pine forests at one of our four distinctive hotels or our luxury woodland lodge accommodation. You'll find the perfect room for your stay in one of our luxurious Scottish Highlands hotels at Aviemore. Our Highlands Hotel offer four-star luxury for all the family along with our newly refurbished Morlich and Aviemore Hotels which are due to open Spring 2015. Choose one of our Luxury Woodland lodges for a stunning escape in the forest surrounding our resort. You'll find everything you need and more at Macdonald Aviemore Resort - luxury brand shopping, 3D cinema viewing, top-class restaurants, our brand new, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. Designed by Dave Thomas, former Ryder Cup player, it features the longest hole in Scotland - a par 5 measuring 635 yards. Are you up for the challenge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing