We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My partner and l stayed here on the 7th Dec 2013 for one night which included our evening meal, a show and breakfast. We couldn't really find anything to complain about. We arrived and walked into the main reception area, where we were greeted with a warm smile, Hanna was so lovely and helpful and fully explained everything to us and couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed in room 2119 which was on the ground floor but that didn't cause any problems for us. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was massive and very comfy, we both slept very well. Our evening meal was lovely and we enjoyed the whole evening. Breakfast was perfect, with everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Every single member of staff we came across was helpful, courteous and always smiling. This review sounds like an advert for the hotel, but everything was perfect, this was our first visit and it won't be our last. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FizzScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience with us. It is a pleasure to read your review and learn that you had such a wonderful stay with us and found the resort and staff accommodating and helpful during your stay.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience that we offer and enjoyed both your dinner and breakfast.
Thank you for you wonderful words in regards to our staff - it is something that we work very hard on and I know that they will be delighted to hear your wonderful comments.

We look forward to welcome you back again, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    484
    406
    204
    128
See reviews for
704
618
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a Santa weekend staying at the Highland Hotel. (6 adults and 6 kids) It's was great with loads to do for the kids. I loved the hotel reception, lovely decor and a lovely log fire. I had planned to spend some time relaxing there, but I never got the time. There was so much on for the kids we just went from one thing to another. They loved all the activities with the elf's and Santa in his log cabin was fantastic.
All staff in the resort were very nice and friendly.

We went to the pool a few times and loved the big slide and waves machine. The water was however a bit on the cold side. The kids also loved the soft play area. The cafe was really nice with lovely food and coffee. Reception staff there were very nice too.

We had dinner twice in the main self service restaurant which was really nice and the third night we went to the Italian restaurant. The food and service was very good although service was a bit slow.

The family entertainment was good and the kids were really enjoying taking part. Drinks in the resort were very expensive.

The only disappointing part of our stay was when everyone was woken up by drunk party goers returned to the hotel at 3 am singing and playing loud music. This went on for quite a while until someone did knock at their door and they did quieten down, I assume it must have been hotel staff.

Apart from that it was a great stay enjoyed by all.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your positive feedback after your recent stay at the resort.
We sincerely regret the disturbance caused by other guest returning to their rooms in the early hours, our Night Manager spoke with them immediately and as you say they did quiet down then.
We hope in the future to welcome you back to the Resort.
Best Regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel. I could go into the details, but the whole affair is very Faulty Towers. Comments on the stay were poorly managed, in my opinion: a 25% discount on next booking was proffered. This is not at all an incentive to return. This hotel is my first and final experience of the seemingly budget class MacDonald brand.

Room Tip: If you like small bathrooms with chipped baths, choose room 2129.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback, we take all feedback received seriously, and sincerely regret that we didn’t meet your expectations.
Best Regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Arrived and followed directions to Resort Reception only then to be greeted by a small sign saying reception closed. Why not post a sign at the entrance? Not exactly the best weather to be wandering around the resort in in December! The hotel seemed to be going through a refurbishment, and my parents were initially placed in a small dark room near where the renovations were going on, which smelled damp. We had booked into one of the lodges, which were very good. I think as it was not peak season, they were on a bit of a skeleton staff, as a call to reception / guest services took 30 to 40 rings to be answered, after 2 earlier calls went unanswered - and this was the number they provide to call in emergencies! When I asked if there was something wrong with the phones, I was advised only to use the reception number, and told huffily that 'staff on reception have other duties too'!
The pool was great for the kids, but the water wasn't adequately heated, which was a shame. Also the staff at the pool-side,were pretty dismissive, and only ran the water slide for short periods, despite them advising it would run for 20 minute periods. The staff at the pool reception were very friendly and welcoming.
The food at Aspects restaurant was excellent, although as others have noted, the wine prices are a bit OTT. Also the service could be a bit more attentive. Despite the restaurant being pretty empty, still had to ask for water to be refilled.
All in all the lodges are great, and would recommend this for a family/group holiday, as the location is very handy. But really, this is not a 5 star hotel in quality of accommodation, ambience, facilities, or service. As an example the Premier Inn we stayed in near Dubai airport on the trip from Oz had friendlier staff, and the rooms were almost as good. At the prices, this place still has a ways to go to represent anything like good value.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodges, and avoid the hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest
Our pricing is in line with hotels in this area of the same four star standard and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that I am truly sorry.
Best Regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Overall the hotel was quite good - a bit of a maze though! The party night was very slow to get going but eventually was good. However the compere / warm up act was very poor to say the least. Also the sound system within the complex left a lot to be desired! Also the bar prices were extortionate - though some large handbags from the girls came in handy!!!

Finally at breakfast the waitress proceeded to twice spill milk on my wifes lap!!!! Overall not entirely impressed & will probably not revisit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caolsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. Our pricing is in line with hotels in this area.
Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards that morning, and for that I sincerely apologise. I have reviewed your feedback with the restaurant manager.
Best Regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forfar
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel in the past , taking advantage of our tesco vouchers. The room was very clean with a decent double bed. The breakfast was very good and was table service for the first 2 days and then buffet service on the Sunday. There was a good choice of cokked items, and also cereals and croissants etc. Whilst we were there I used the swimming pool in the leisure facilities. It is a nice sized pool, with a wave machine. We also had a look around the shops at the resort which were very good. There is also a cinema on site, although we never used it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities on site and had a chance to take advantage of most of them whilst staying with us.
The breakfast always tends to be popular with our guests, and I am delighted that you enjoyed it as well.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in the macdonald highland hotel before and left a good honest review,only fair i do the same for the academy one.
Took my nephew as it seemed a perfect place to take kids.
On arrival we checked in at the highland hotel as the academy reception never seems to be manned. Room was nice and clean as expected, bit silly though that we had 4 single beds. Thought this was strange so called to ask for a double bed,was told there was nothing could be done and that sometimes 3rd parties advertise them as double rooms - sorry but thats not good enough and is false advertising!!
Made the most of it and id two beds together to make a double bed with the danger aspect of falling to the ground if was tempted for a cuddle in the night. Breakfast we were told by a staff member to head to the highland hotel, turned up there to be pointed to the conference room area - food was pretty decent and catered everyone,was all a bit mad in there though with kids running everywhere. Cant knock the food as it was decent.
As in the last review i cant knock the excellent facillities or the shops or that. Though they could explain there offers a bit better,was told nothing of a passport thing we needed and was refused entry to a kids entertainment Party without it-paying for it wasnt the problem-no one knew where to get it from.
All in all i wouldn't tell anyone not to come here but i will make them aware of the difference in treatment when going as a couple or a family.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotels of our Macdonald Aviemore Resort are situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands - a magical location. Stay amidst ancient Caledonian pine forests at one of our four distinctive hotels or our luxury woodland lodge accommodation. You'll find the perfect room for your stay in one of our luxurious Scottish Highlands hotels at Aviemore. Our Highlands Hotel offer four-star luxury for all the family along with our newly refurbished Morlich and Aviemore Hotels which are due to open Spring 2015. Choose one of our Luxury Woodland lodges for a stunning escape in the forest surrounding our resort. You'll find everything you need and more at Macdonald Aviemore Resort - luxury brand shopping, 3D cinema viewing, top-class restaurants, our brand new, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. Designed by Dave Thomas, former Ryder Cup player, it features the longest hole in Scotland - a par 5 measuring 635 yards. Are you up for the challenge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing