We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 1 January 2014

myself and husband decided to do a tour of the highlands we stopped off at this wonderful hotel it was well worth every penny staff,food,room everything was perfect!
thank u very much we shall be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine44c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us - it is a pleasure to hear.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,310 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Decided to get away from it all this Christmas so booked a 3 night break here. On arrival checked in at alternative reception - no problems. Arrived at room, slightly dated but good clean room and for a family of 4 plenty of storage. It was a 3 star hotel we were in and we were pleasantly surprised at how clean etc it was.
Pool was a big hit with the kids. Clean tidy changing rooms, toilets and showers. Pool clean and plenty warm enough too.
We had dinner in Giovanni's on the 1st night and this was excellent, the. On Christmas Day it was a set menu, this too was excellent, room well decorated and kids entertainment at the table. Evening entertainment was also VERY good, and enjoyable.
Our overall experience here was a good one. Yes reception at our particular hotel in the resort was unmanned but this wasn't a problem. Staff at the Conference reception were only too happy to help. We would definitely consider coming back again. Staff were friendly and the housekeeping was definitely efficient.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank MrsBDornoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest
We appreciate the time taken to write a review. Thank you for your positive feedback – it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were well looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again in the near future.

Best Regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We visited the Carvery on Boxing day for the buffet lunch. The service was excellent, with friendly helpful staff. There was an interesting choice of food (thankfully no turkey!!) We enjoyed the salmon en-croute which was beautifully presented. The desserts were delicious and the portions generous. We then took advantage of the bargains available in the clothing department sale. Which finished off our visit nicely.
We met many locals who were visiting to see the Panto. With so much to do for families it offers a perfect destination on a wet and windy afternoon. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suiecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, guest feedback is always appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch that you had with us - your wonderful comments have been passed on to the relevant department.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My partner and l stayed here on the 7th Dec 2013 for one night which included our evening meal, a show and breakfast. We couldn't really find anything to complain about. We arrived and walked into the main reception area, where we were greeted with a warm smile, Hanna was so lovely and helpful and fully explained everything to us and couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed in room 2119 which was on the ground floor but that didn't cause any problems for us. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was massive and very comfy, we both slept very well. Our evening meal was lovely and we enjoyed the whole evening. Breakfast was perfect, with everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Every single member of staff we came across was helpful, courteous and always smiling. This review sounds like an advert for the hotel, but everything was perfect, this was our first visit and it won't be our last. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FizzScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience with us. It is a pleasure to read your review and learn that you had such a wonderful stay with us and found the resort and staff accommodating and helpful during your stay.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience that we offer and enjoyed both your dinner and breakfast.
Thank you for you wonderful words in regards to our staff - it is something that we work very hard on and I know that they will be delighted to hear your wonderful comments.

We look forward to welcome you back again, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked a Santa weekend staying at the Highland Hotel. (6 adults and 6 kids) It's was great with loads to do for the kids. I loved the hotel reception, lovely decor and a lovely log fire. I had planned to spend some time relaxing there, but I never got the time. There was so much on for the kids we just went from one thing to another. They loved all the activities with the elf's and Santa in his log cabin was fantastic.
All staff in the resort were very nice and friendly.

We went to the pool a few times and loved the big slide and waves machine. The water was however a bit on the cold side. The kids also loved the soft play area. The cafe was really nice with lovely food and coffee. Reception staff there were very nice too.

We had dinner twice in the main self service restaurant which was really nice and the third night we went to the Italian restaurant. The food and service was very good although service was a bit slow.

The family entertainment was good and the kids were really enjoying taking part. Drinks in the resort were very expensive.

The only disappointing part of our stay was when everyone was woken up by drunk party goers returned to the hotel at 3 am singing and playing loud music. This went on for quite a while until someone did knock at their door and they did quieten down, I assume it must have been hotel staff.

Apart from that it was a great stay enjoyed by all.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Yvonne003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your positive feedback after your recent stay at the resort.
We sincerely regret the disturbance caused by other guest returning to their rooms in the early hours, our Night Manager spoke with them immediately and as you say they did quiet down then.
We hope in the future to welcome you back to the Resort.
Best Regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel. I could go into the details, but the whole affair is very Faulty Towers. Comments on the stay were poorly managed, in my opinion: a 25% discount on next booking was proffered. This is not at all an incentive to return. This hotel is my first and final experience of the seemingly budget class MacDonald brand.

Room Tip: If you like small bathrooms with chipped baths, choose room 2129.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback, we take all feedback received seriously, and sincerely regret that we didn’t meet your expectations.
Best Regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Arrived and followed directions to Resort Reception only then to be greeted by a small sign saying reception closed. Why not post a sign at the entrance? Not exactly the best weather to be wandering around the resort in in December! The hotel seemed to be going through a refurbishment, and my parents were initially placed in a small dark room near where the renovations were going on, which smelled damp. We had booked into one of the lodges, which were very good. I think as it was not peak season, they were on a bit of a skeleton staff, as a call to reception / guest services took 30 to 40 rings to be answered, after 2 earlier calls went unanswered - and this was the number they provide to call in emergencies! When I asked if there was something wrong with the phones, I was advised only to use the reception number, and told huffily that 'staff on reception have other duties too'!
The pool was great for the kids, but the water wasn't adequately heated, which was a shame. Also the staff at the pool-side,were pretty dismissive, and only ran the water slide for short periods, despite them advising it would run for 20 minute periods. The staff at the pool reception were very friendly and welcoming.
The food at Aspects restaurant was excellent, although as others have noted, the wine prices are a bit OTT. Also the service could be a bit more attentive. Despite the restaurant being pretty empty, still had to ask for water to be refilled.
All in all the lodges are great, and would recommend this for a family/group holiday, as the location is very handy. But really, this is not a 5 star hotel in quality of accommodation, ambience, facilities, or service. As an example the Premier Inn we stayed in near Dubai airport on the trip from Oz had friendlier staff, and the rooms were almost as good. At the prices, this place still has a ways to go to represent anything like good value.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodges, and avoid the hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest
Our pricing is in line with hotels in this area of the same four star standard and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that I am truly sorry.
Best Regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £107 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of three 4-star hotels located within Macdonald Aviemore Resort situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands. This hotel is most popular with families who enjoy the special family rooms featuring special bunk rooms giving kids their own space within their parents room - a popular option with all family members! You'll find everything you need and more within the wider resort - luxury brand shopping, a cinema, top-class restaurants, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing