We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FINE - GREAT VALUE, GOOD BREAKFAST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is just a good value routine hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great - tasty, good quality and lots of it. The rooms were ok, a little small and a little dated but they were warm, clean and tidy. They need a lot of updating, which they were in the process of doing. The spa and leisure facilities were disappointing. The pool and changing room was cold and there were swimming lessons going on which meant that we couldn't swim in the large pool. The steam room was a little grimy and the sauna not as hot as it should have been. But the gym was very good and better than most I have been in. However, all in all, a decent place which would be great for families and excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cprior26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found it accommodating and of good value.
Thank you for you contructive feedback - it is always much appreciated, the Highlands Hotel, as you mentioned, is currently undergoing refurbishment of the rooms.
I am sorry that you were dissapointed with the leisure facilities - your comments have been passed on to the department.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and the breakfast - it is something that our guests always tend to enjoy.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here in a group, and it was a decent hotel. Quite old in places and beds weren't the comfiest but all round would recommend this place if going to Aviemore. They have a swimming pool but unfortunately didnt get to try it out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a reivew as we appreciate all guest feedback.
I am happy to hear that the resort was accommodating for your stay and we hope to welcome you back again. Hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy the leisure facilities that we offer on site.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a room in the Academy Hotel which as previous reviews state is a bit run down but the rooms are large and clean. It had all the space and facilities we needed for a short stay.
All the staff in the resort were friendly, helpful and efficient.
The girls loved the pool and play area, though the pool was quite cool and the waves were only on one day of the four times we were there.
We enjoyed the breakfasts and ate in the Italian Giovannis every evening as we didn't fancy the menus in the other restaurants as much. Giovannis was great, lots of choice and lovely service.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muttsnutswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience with us, it is always much appreciated.
I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and found the Academy Hotel accommodating.
It is great that you had the opportunity to take advantage of the leisure facilities and enjoyed them - they always tend to be popular with our guests.
Thank you for your kind words regarding your dining experience - it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed both breakfast and dinner.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was staying here with my 4 year old daughter. From 10pm until 1pm there was a banging and rattling sound coming from the central heating pipes and radiator. This kept my daughter awake until mid night. I got to sleep around 1 am. We were then woke up again around 5am by the same noise starting again. As a result we just headed home rather than have the day out we had came to Aviemore for.
I complained before checking out and was told to wait in the lobby for the duty manager who never appeared. I was then told by reception staff someone from customer services would call me and this never happened either!
This is very disappointing. I spent well over £200 in total for a one night stay with hardly any sleep just to drive back home again.
Before writing this review I also gave them another chance by emailing them over 2 weeks ago and again no one from McDonald hotels has bothered to reply. If I had spent this money on a product I could send it back or return it for a refund. With a hotel you have no choice but to let others no what happened after they took your money and kept it after a very shabby service.
I have stayed at this resort numerous times and always give the staff and resort the benefit of the doubt so much so I joined the "Club". Only to find that when things go wrong not one word from them and in the end the "McDonald club" only wanted our money.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has had previous complainants about noise as there is no way anyone could have slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sttigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

myself and husband decided to do a tour of the highlands we stopped off at this wonderful hotel it was well worth every penny staff,food,room everything was perfect!
thank u very much we shall be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine44c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us - it is a pleasure to hear.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Decided to get away from it all this Christmas so booked a 3 night break here. On arrival checked in at alternative reception - no problems. Arrived at room, slightly dated but good clean room and for a family of 4 plenty of storage. It was a 3 star hotel we were in and we were pleasantly surprised at how clean etc it was.
Pool was a big hit with the kids. Clean tidy changing rooms, toilets and showers. Pool clean and plenty warm enough too.
We had dinner in Giovanni's on the 1st night and this was excellent, the. On Christmas Day it was a set menu, this too was excellent, room well decorated and kids entertainment at the table. Evening entertainment was also VERY good, and enjoyable.
Our overall experience here was a good one. Yes reception at our particular hotel in the resort was unmanned but this wasn't a problem. Staff at the Conference reception were only too happy to help. We would definitely consider coming back again. Staff were friendly and the housekeeping was definitely efficient.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank MrsBDornoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest
We appreciate the time taken to write a review. Thank you for your positive feedback – it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were well looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again in the near future.

Best Regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We visited the Carvery on Boxing day for the buffet lunch. The service was excellent, with friendly helpful staff. There was an interesting choice of food (thankfully no turkey!!) We enjoyed the salmon en-croute which was beautifully presented. The desserts were delicious and the portions generous. We then took advantage of the bargains available in the clothing department sale. Which finished off our visit nicely.
We met many locals who were visiting to see the Panto. With so much to do for families it offers a perfect destination on a wet and windy afternoon. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suiecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, guest feedback is always appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch that you had with us - your wonderful comments have been passed on to the relevant department.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
796 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £110 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of three 4-star hotels located within Macdonald Aviemore Resort situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands. This hotel is most popular with families who enjoy the special family rooms featuring special bunk rooms giving kids their own space within their parents room - a popular option with all family members! You'll find everything you need and more within the wider resort - luxury brand shopping, a cinema, top-class restaurants, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing