We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need a bit of a refurb....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Overnight stay in Aviemore Inn at the macdonalds resort. Booked the week before at £81, but within 24 hours emails came through with offers of £34 a night. On checking in, The price on the paperwork was £91 including breakfast, so all a bit confusing. I felt this lower price of £34 was a bit more like the true worth of the room. The rooms are very dated and not without their problems. Shower leaked all over the floor, loo roll holder and towel rail both hanging off. Tv was an old chunky style offering just 6 channels. Beds were very soft and there was a lot of movement and when you sat on mattress the head end sank leaving your feet elevated in the air.
The room was warm, which was appreciated given the time if year and the weather we experienced that weekend. But it was hard to keep it controlled, the thermostat wire hung out from the workings, and dangled behind the curtains. Once we tucked the very long curtains up onto the radiator the room thermostat worked perfectly.
Breakfast was a pleasant surprise and very good choice. Served in a pleasant area called Aspects. Excellent service in this area, lots of staff clearing away tables and replenishing food etc.
Dint know if I would rush back at those kind of prices........ Having stayed in newer, more reasonably priced budget hotels recently, that offered more.
Didn't really feel reception staff went out if their way to help. Originally booked Italian restaurant on site, but later having seen the menu, decided there was nothing outstanding in way of choice, so cancelled reservation and went dine into the town for something to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piglet0764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review - the time and effort is much appreciated.
I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. Our top priority is always to ensure top guest services and we take it seriously when guests find that this is not the case.
It is a shame that you experienced issues with your shower during your stay - i do wish you would have reported it to us whilst staying in order for us to have it fixed for perhaps find you a room more accommodating.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast experience - something that guests always tend to enjoy with us.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,745)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,269 - 1,275 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend and were really looking forward to it after reading the reviews on here. We were aware there would be refurbishment taking place within the hotel but as it is so large we assumed we would not be staying in the middle of it all. However nearly all of the corridors were covered in plastic sheeting due to the ongoing work, builders were constantly walking in and out of the corridors and the place was incredibly dusty which exacerbated my partner's asthma and made for an uncomfortable stay. Our room was okay. It was quite large but seemed quite dated so I can understand why they are having to refurbish the hotel. Unfortunately we were placed in a cold corridor and cold part of the hotel and the corridor constantly smelt like smoke which was reported to the staff but continued throughout our stay. The heating in the room is an electric heater which only works when the key card is kept in the slot in the wall so if you take the key card with you bear in mind you will return to a freezing room!

The reception staff were quite cold and unfriendly and not very helpful at check in. The restaurant staff were lovely and the breakfast was really good. The selection available at dinner is not vast so if you were staying for a few nights I imagine you could become a bit stuck with different meal ideas. Drinks in the restaurant seemed very expensive and when we went to sit in the downstairs bar after our meal we noticed the fire was not on. Considering it is the middle of winter you would imagine this would be a good way of creating a cosy atmosphere and drawing people in to the bar area. As a result this area of the hotel was freezing too. Unfortunately the fire was off the whole time we were at the hotel. We were told if we wanted to buy drinks and take them to the room we would be charged an extra fee for this (not room service, this was literally buying drinks ourselves and taking them to our room). Also, the cinema was not on over this weekend and the slides in the pool area were also closed but with no explanation as to why.

Considering the standard you would expect from a Macdonald hotel we were both really disappointed. We popped into the Cairngorm hotel down the road from here to compare and the place was absolutely packed, with lovely friendly staff, reasonable and tasty food and open fires and a cosy atmosphere! There was no question which hotel was preferred by visitors and locals from the area. Overall, a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you resort experience on Trip Advisor as all guest feedback is always appreicated.
I am sorry to read you review and learn that you were dissapointed with your stay - we always strive for the highest standards possible and take it seriously when guests feel that this is not the case.
I am sorry that you were unhappy with the location of your room whilst staying with us. I do wish you would have notified us in order for us to possible find a room located in a place more accommodating for yourself.
The cinema tends to be on, on a daily basis except on occasions when it is being used for conference puposes - I am sorry that this was the case during your stay with us, as it is never closed for no reason otherwise.
Please rest assued that your comments regarding the fire and reception staff has been passed on to the relevant department.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our restaurant staff and the your breakfast experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed it and found it of good value, it always tends to be popular with our guests.

Please note that if you would like to discuss your dissapointment in more detail - do not hesitate to get in contact with us directly.

We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is just a good value routine hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great - tasty, good quality and lots of it. The rooms were ok, a little small and a little dated but they were warm, clean and tidy. They need a lot of updating, which they were in the process of doing. The spa and leisure facilities were disappointing. The pool and changing room was cold and there were swimming lessons going on which meant that we couldn't swim in the large pool. The steam room was a little grimy and the sauna not as hot as it should have been. But the gym was very good and better than most I have been in. However, all in all, a decent place which would be great for families and excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cprior26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found it accommodating and of good value.
Thank you for you contructive feedback - it is always much appreciated, the Highlands Hotel, as you mentioned, is currently undergoing refurbishment of the rooms.
I am sorry that you were dissapointed with the leisure facilities - your comments have been passed on to the department.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and the breakfast - it is something that our guests always tend to enjoy.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here in a group, and it was a decent hotel. Quite old in places and beds weren't the comfiest but all round would recommend this place if going to Aviemore. They have a swimming pool but unfortunately didnt get to try it out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a reivew as we appreciate all guest feedback.
I am happy to hear that the resort was accommodating for your stay and we hope to welcome you back again. Hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy the leisure facilities that we offer on site.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a room in the Academy Hotel which as previous reviews state is a bit run down but the rooms are large and clean. It had all the space and facilities we needed for a short stay.
All the staff in the resort were friendly, helpful and efficient.
The girls loved the pool and play area, though the pool was quite cool and the waves were only on one day of the four times we were there.
We enjoyed the breakfasts and ate in the Italian Giovannis every evening as we didn't fancy the menus in the other restaurants as much. Giovannis was great, lots of choice and lovely service.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muttsnutswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience with us, it is always much appreciated.
I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and found the Academy Hotel accommodating.
It is great that you had the opportunity to take advantage of the leisure facilities and enjoyed them - they always tend to be popular with our guests.
Thank you for your kind words regarding your dining experience - it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed both breakfast and dinner.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was staying here with my 4 year old daughter. From 10pm until 1pm there was a banging and rattling sound coming from the central heating pipes and radiator. This kept my daughter awake until mid night. I got to sleep around 1 am. We were then woke up again around 5am by the same noise starting again. As a result we just headed home rather than have the day out we had came to Aviemore for.
I complained before checking out and was told to wait in the lobby for the duty manager who never appeared. I was then told by reception staff someone from customer services would call me and this never happened either!
This is very disappointing. I spent well over £200 in total for a one night stay with hardly any sleep just to drive back home again.
Before writing this review I also gave them another chance by emailing them over 2 weeks ago and again no one from McDonald hotels has bothered to reply. If I had spent this money on a product I could send it back or return it for a refund. With a hotel you have no choice but to let others no what happened after they took your money and kept it after a very shabby service.
I have stayed at this resort numerous times and always give the staff and resort the benefit of the doubt so much so I joined the "Club". Only to find that when things go wrong not one word from them and in the end the "McDonald club" only wanted our money.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has had previous complainants about noise as there is no way anyone could have slept...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sttigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

myself and husband decided to do a tour of the highlands we stopped off at this wonderful hotel it was well worth every penny staff,food,room everything was perfect!
thank u very much we shall be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine44c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us - it is a pleasure to hear.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £107 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of three 4-star hotels located within Macdonald Aviemore Resort situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands. This hotel is most popular with families who enjoy the special family rooms featuring special bunk rooms giving kids their own space within their parents room - a popular option with all family members! You'll find everything you need and more within the wider resort - luxury brand shopping, a cinema, top-class restaurants, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing