We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Consett
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ski Base”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We used this resort as a base for our recent ski trip to Aviemore. The resort is well situated within the village and easy to locate. We stayed in two twin rooms, I as a single occupant wich was not over priced for this and the inclusive breakfast. The Macdonald Inn could do with a bit of a spruce up but this did not spoil our stay. Included within the price of our rooms was free use of the gym and large swimming pool, which included a wave machine and long slide. At the pool side were a steam room and sauna- well worth it. The breakfast was a buffet style with all you could ask for and if what you required was not there all you had to do was ask. The staff throughout the hotel were very attentive and professional.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travellingjoist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review as we alwaysa appreciate guest feedback.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the resort accommodating. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I am happy to hear that they made you feel welcome.
It is great that you had the chance to make use off the leisure facilities as well and enjoyed them.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    494
    410
    209
    135
See reviews for
720
624
28
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Second year half-term ski fest for our family. Reluctantly, due to a complete lack of competition in aviemore, we returned to the 'canteen' resort which is this place. Same 8 quid glasses of average vino, shoddy rooms which are in desperate need of full refurbishment and the most miserable bar tender/s you could imagine. The only thing in its favour is the pool, which strangely shuts it's slides just as the kids come off the slopes? , it's location and a thoroughly good breakfast. Come on Macdonald, this place is crying out to be brought up to speed. Hotel managers copy and paste reply below.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eastland72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your resort experience with us. I am sorry to read your review and learn that you were left feeling dissapointed with your stay.
We always aim for the best possible guest service and I am sorry that you felt this was not the case during your stay.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the leisure facilities and breakfast offered on site.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Third consecutive year we have visited for valentines day. Location wins however think will try the hilton next year. At nearly £380 for two nights not cheap and not sure the experience was worth it. Room service was a disaster for breakfast - fried eggs instead of scrambled, one small jug of milk for cereals teas and coffees despite requesting extra, no tea coffee sugars etc on day one and day two no cheese selection, one measly slice of toast each and 15 mins late and upon checking with reception is funnily arrive shortly after and freezing cold. Told we would not have to pay tray charge due to lateness, wow thanks. We arrived late on the first night due to bad weather. The room was freezing and clear the heating had been off all day. Call reception to request heater to be told there's none left, what kind of hotel runs out, they promised to call back and we are still waiting.
Checkout was the biggest pain point 11am on a Sunday and would expect enough reception staff to cover it, erm no, one harassed miserable receptionist and a long queue. 20 mins later and a few annoyed guests later we check out. Advised 3% surcharge to pay by credit card! ridiculous considering a large chain! rob the guests blind. Pay cash and have to wait another 10 mins for receptionist to get change from safe, why am I surprised, Not sure if will return. Little things but make for poor experience.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor noisy car park and guests in corridors to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evievi123139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with your recent stay with us.
Please rest assred that your comments and concerns have been taken on board and passed on to the relevant departments for further investigation.

If you would like to discuss your dissapointment in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Highland resort for three nights over the February half term break. The children loved the hotel and had a wonderful time in the pool.

The hotel is in a good location and it is easy to walk in to Aviemore centre.

The room was a little tired looking although I believe the hotel is in the middle of a renovation!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeF433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken out to write a reivew - all guest feedback is always appreciated.
I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
It is great that you had time to make use of the leisure facilties that we offer and that you enjoyed them.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My husband booked a night away here just before Christmas as a treat.
It was a wonderful experience and although we are not skiers we loved the resort.
It was so well equipped and warm and cosy. The staff were excellent and the food delicious.
I highly recommend it, especially for city dwellers like us as it is a real escape.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank size_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your resort experience with us.
I am delighted to read your review and see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all your wonderful comments.

We look forward to welcome you back again, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Recently stayed at the Macdonald resort at the end of January, greeted by a very rude receptionist first of all then when we found our room it was in the middle of a building site, refurbishments going on due to it being a quiet time of year.......not a problem but at least contact guests to pre warn them before arriving!!! Got shifted to different room on different floor after my wife complained!!!

Went to use the leisure facilities the 1st day of our stay and found the changing facilities to be really unclean and stinking of urine, when entering the swimming pool seen one of the on duty lifeguards texting on his mobile phone!!!

On 2nd night of our stay us and our friends had planned to have a few drinks in the residents bar up the stair in hotel but when receiving 1st round was told the bar would be shutting soon after......even though there was still quite a few guests around at that stage of the evening, so that cut our night short!

When reporting the disappointing level of service we had received throughout our stay when checking out a receptionist tried to blame the travel company we booked with for not notifying us of possible disruption even though we booked DIRECT with the hotel themselves!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to learn that you were dissapointed with your recent stay with us. It is always our priority to ensure the highest possible guest services available and we take it seriously when guests feel that this is not the case.
I have taken note of all your comments and concerns, and rest assured that they have been taken up with the relevant department and are being investigated.

If you would like to discuss your dissapointment in more detail directly with us, please do not hesitate to get in contact with us at your convenience.

We hope you welcome you back again and thank you again for your review.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Advertised in Inverness city advertiser Family Day Passes from £10.50 per person. New family day passes available for our top activities, these include lunch and:
Full use of wet leisure facilities
Entry into soft play area
Entry into the inflatable fun factory
Only small print was family day pass pricing is based on 2 adults & 2 children.
So when our family of 2 adults and one child turned up we expected to pay a total of £10.50 per person but instead we were told £10.50 is only to swim, if you want lunch as we'll it's £15, and if you want into soft play that's an extra £4 as this was now at £19 per person (almost double) I didn't even ask about how much to get into the inflatable fun factory.
We have been for many swim lunches at top class hotels and would normally pay £15 per adult and get at least 2 courses of good quality food, however the Macdonald Aviemore Resort was yet another disappointment when we received our voucher for lunch it was just a main course in the carvery to the value of £9.50. There was a choice of 4 items that looked like they'd been sitting there for quite some time and one of the items was a roast that required a supplement payment of £3.00 per person. One of the dishes was displayed as chicken curry, I asked the chef what type of curry it was to be told 'chicken', not quite the information I was hoping for. I asked for the chicken but it looked like he was counting out the few bits of chicken he gave me with a tiny pouring of sauce. Certainly not the size of portion I would expect for £9.50 but I have to say now I'm grateful it wasn't any bigger since I spent the whole night on the toilet and being sick. Won't ever be returning there, awful place from start to finish.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petermacp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew. I am sorry to read your review and learn of the dissapointment you were faced with during your time at the resort.
We always aim for the best guest services and it is taken seriously when guests feel that this is not the case.
Our family passes are based on a family of four as you mentioned and I apologise that this caused a confusion regarding the price when you arrived on the resort.
Please rest assured that all your comments and concerns have been taken on board and are being looked into with the relevant departments.

If you would like to discuss your dissapointment directly with us, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of three 4-star hotels located within Macdonald Aviemore Resort situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands. This hotel is most popular with families who enjoy the special family rooms featuring special bunk rooms giving kids their own space within their parents room - a popular option with all family members! You'll find everything you need and more within the wider resort - luxury brand shopping, a cinema, top-class restaurants, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing