We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter Break Academy Hotel- Much good some not so good!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Easter Break Academy Hotel- Much good some not so good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ok going to get the negative out the way first the towel rails in the Academy are absolutely lethal, my son (age 11) got out the shower right next to me and leapt in the air on contact, the room is 3917. I phoned reception to advise he had been burnt and a foreigner whom I am not quite sure understood me advised no ice-packs could bring ice. A silver bucket of ice arrived 20 minutes later, far too late to avoid a blister as big as a mans thumb on the rear of my boy. (I was not for throwing him into a freezing bath as an alternate). I had blister plasters so put these on with antiseptic having cooled it as best we could, we left and let the wee man at the Academy Reception know and we were greeted with a big glazed smile and again had no idea if he knew what I was talking about. In the defence of both staff I had spoke to, they did indeed understand me as when I went to the main reception he said ahhhh yes I know and that was about as much acknowledgement as we got (offered first aid at this point?) , apparently a switch switches the rail off and housekeeping would do that for us. No sorry or is you son ok? Very poor show for a family resort and was a big let down as we like Macdonald hotels.

So the rest is fairly easy we arrived for Easter Weekend 2014 on the Friday, the Academy is basic but clean and when you have kids it is an ideal base for a weekend. The main hotel is lovely and the grounds are beautiful it is two minute walk from centre of Aviemore so lots of places to eat etc.

The pool is great there is lots for kids to do on site the play park is more for younger kids but just outside is goals so the bigger ones just enjoy the open space.

Overall we had a really great weekend and would go back, it was our first time to Aviemore and wished we had gone there sooner.

Kids entertainments was average but it was there and that is important.

Last moan..........the lady on reception at the swimming area Easter Saturday requires a lesson on how to make eye contact and basic customer contact. 'You sign here', 'No you put towels there', and 'now come here and sign out', 'you pay £4 if not no', I was so relieved she was off duty on Monday as I was actually to the point where I was going to tell her how much I disliked her manner. Poor woman would be better placed as an attendant at a football game! However lady on the Monday who was also not first language English was an absolute delight and very friendly and how it should be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Firstly I would like to extend my apologies for how the incident with your sons burn was handled. I am sorry that you were left feeling unattended to and that communicating with staff was difficult. The matter has been brought up for investigation. I sincerely hope that the burn was not too bad and that your son is feeling better.

I am delighted to hear that you had the time to use the facilities offered on site and that you and your family enjoyed them - note that you comments regarding the reception staff has been passed on to the relevant department.

We cannot wait to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    473
    396
    200
    124
See reviews for
695
598
27
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned today from Aviemore resort had a great time, the weather was fantastic. Happy enough with the price we paid booked the hotel during January sale on website roughly cost £260 but certainly not happy if we'd paid over £500!!
Negatives: The rooms were clean but a bit shabby in the Academy building, there was a mark on the bath unsure what it was blue mark!
The breakfast was poor there was a selection of hot and cold food with cereals but not enough fruit and yogurts on offer and the bacon was tasteless also no fresh drinking water in sight and coffee was terrible.

Plus: Staff were all polite and helpful.
The pool was great when we went it was really quiet and the kids loved the water slide and wave machine.
Kids also enjoyed the soft play area.
Plenty to do if the weather not so good we didn't use all the facilities due to the great weather.

I would recommend the hotel at a good price but not worth over inflated prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your resort experience.

We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the Academy Hotel - please be assured that you comments have been passed on to the relevant department.
I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with breakfast options - we generally get positive feedback in regards to the breakfast that we offer, you feedback has been taken on board.

Thank you for your wonderful words regarding our staff - it is something that we work very hard on and I know they will be delighted to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.
It is great that you had the time to use the leisure faciliteis and enjoyed them.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

On our way back from Inverness we stopped a day in Aviemore and stayed at the Macdonald Hotel! Good location and hotel facilities. Great if your are visiting or planning to stay with kids and family (Not so good for couples). Restaurant was busy, Service was very slow and food average.

Room Tip: For sure great place for Kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilites that we offer onsite and that the resort location was accommodating for you.
I do apologise for the delay caused in the restaurant - you comments have been passed on to the relevant department.

We look forward to welcome you back again,
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

hotel was ok nothing to rave about , room was up in the gods and badly smelt of newly paint
as i got high. parking outside minimal but big place , never used swimming pool or gym
but looked good and supplied towels .walked into aviemore was nice wee pubs no to busy
brekfast was good staff very helpfull

Room Tip: good mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review - all guest feedback is always much appreciated.
I am sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced by a strong smell of paint - your comments have been passed on to the relevant deparmtn.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and that they made you feel welcome - that is something that we work very hard on at the resort.

We look forward to welcome you back again - hopefully you will be able to make use of the leisure facilties on that occasion.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 with the purpose of skiing in the Cairngorms for a couple of days. The rooms, the bar, the restaurant and the reception area were pleasant enough, but the hotel corridors are fairly grim and in need of refurbishment (which is currently underway). The staff were all pleasant too, but the information about the area was shockingly lacking. The reception staff appeared to have no knowledge about basic, tourist-required information such as bus times to the Cairngorm ski area, ski hire and lift passes. In addition, when I asked one receptionist if she had information about the Reindeer Centre (for which I'd seen a sign), she had no idea what I was talking about. The hotel does not appear to be set up for people who want to enjoy the outdoors - which is extremely odd for a hotel based in Aviemore! There was no hotel shuttle bus to the Rothiemurcus estate or elsewhere and no facilities for ski/boot storage.

The plus sides to this hotel are the attractive setting in beautifully landscaped grounds and the great facilities for kids (our three year old son loved the play park area with little wooden houses and wooden train for playing in).

However, in my view the hotel needs to tailor its needs better to the type of tourism it is catering for and make sure that it's staff are equipped with information about the surrounding area. The rooms were fine but not brilliant for a hotel of this star-rating. We stayed in an unrefurbished room and it may be that the newly updated rooms are better.

All in all, an ok stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Booked a short romantic break in January. The website hinted at renovations, saying that x number of newly refurbished rooms would be available in the Summer. Turns out, we were right in the thick of it. Noisy building work, blaring radios, builders shouting, dust everywhere. Incredible that one room was open for business whilst the adjacent one was undergoing renovation. We asked to be moved, but were over-charged because an equivalent room was not available. Staff had some difficulties with English, gave misleading information, probably because of communication difficulties. I am still in dispute and I don't hold out much hope. The food was very good, though you do get stung big time with extras and drinks if you take an inclusive package (which we did). But the restaurant staff were excellent and friendly (from Portugal, Spain, Eastern Europe). Swimming pool a bit shabby and tired. Would I go back? No, because of the bad experience and the failure of management to put it right. Might be great for kids, when renovations are over. May post photos in future showing the fog of building dust in the corridors.

Room Tip: Try to avoid ground floor with ugly car park view. This was one of their more expensive Executive ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pratt_warren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My partner and I wanted a weekend break away, and it delivered that. Rooms were o.k, not 4* I expected and we booked an executive room. Nice to have wine and fruit in the room though. The staff were very mixed, some were fantastic and so friendly and other were a bit rude. One lady just butted in while I was speaking to someone, although the girls I was speaking to asked her to hold on. She looked embarrassed. The bar was lovely, breakfast was very good. We did go to the Italian on the first night but wasn't really as good as what I was expecting. Aviemore is such a beautiful place you could stay anywhere and enjoy it. I also thought people were exaggerating about finding reception, but they are right. You follow signs for reception to find.....no reception. Just look at the signs on Hotel, find yours and go there. :) Overall we had a lovely time but you don't need to spend that much money to have a nice time. Everyone should also go to Skiing Doo. Fabulous place, packed out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3006Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time and effort taken to write a review and share your resort experience.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and foud the resort accommodating for you weekend break.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the breakfast served - it is something that our guests always tend to enjoy.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotels of our Macdonald Aviemore Resort are situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands - a magical location. Stay amidst ancient Caledonian pine forests at one of our four distinctive hotels or our luxury woodland lodge accommodation. You'll find the perfect room for your stay in one of our luxurious Scottish Highlands hotels at Aviemore. Our Highlands Hotel offer four-star luxury for all the family along with our newly refurbished Morlich and Aviemore Hotels which are due to open Spring 2015. Choose one of our Luxury Woodland lodges for a stunning escape in the forest surrounding our resort. You'll find everything you need and more at Macdonald Aviemore Resort - luxury brand shopping, 3D cinema viewing, top-class restaurants, our brand new, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. Designed by Dave Thomas, former Ryder Cup player, it features the longest hole in Scotland - a par 5 measuring 635 yards. Are you up for the challenge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing