We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Bradford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“4 star not”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Before you book check which part of the hotel you will be in - if offered Aviemore Inn - decline - rooms are extremely dated and tatty there is also a musty smell to the building - location is great but hotel is misleading in claiming 4 stars

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gednevski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time to write a reivew.
I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with the resort.
The Aviemore Inn is actually one of our 3 star properties on the resort, with the 4 star being the Highlands Hotel, located to just next to the Leisure Arena.
I do apologise about any miscommunications that may have taken place leading to that confusion.

We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    481
    401
    202
    125
See reviews for
700
608
28
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aracaju, SE
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A perfect 7-day break escaping from 32°C on sunny Sandy beaches in Brazil to face - 8°C on snowy hills in Scotland in the cold March 2013. We stayed in Lodge #6 and wer delighted with the cousy atmosphere and the 5 star accomodation. The gymm and the pool were just a few steps away and being on a self-catering basis all we had to do was a quick walk down to TESKOS and buy differnt suplies for diferente types of dinner at night.

The fireplace was the perfect combination to wine, cheese, hot soup and relaxing. We also had dinner at the Hotel restauant and we couldn't ask for better.

The place is well-located to explore the woods, hills and go skiing.

Overall evaluation: 10 out of 10

Room Tip: If you are not fancy about cooking your own meals for dinner or light snacks, do stay in the Lodges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to write a review.
I am delighted to read your review and learn that you had such a pleasent stay with us and enjoyed the lodges.
It is wonderful that yourself and your family were able to take the time out to stay at our resort. I am happy that you enjoyed the leisure facilities that we offer and were able to make use of the dining options as well.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for my daughter's hen weekend. The hotel was excellent. Staff friendly, food delicious, rooms spacious with very comfortable beds. Lovely location. We had a private room for dinner on the Friday night & excellent service. It was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience.

I am delighted to hear that you and your party has such a wonderful stay with us.
We always strive to provide the best possible guest service and I am happy to hear that this was the case.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ok going to get the negative out the way first the towel rails in the Academy are absolutely lethal, my son (age 11) got out the shower right next to me and leapt in the air on contact, the room is 3917. I phoned reception to advise he had been burnt and a foreigner whom I am not quite sure understood me advised no ice-packs could bring ice. A silver bucket of ice arrived 20 minutes later, far too late to avoid a blister as big as a mans thumb on the rear of my boy. (I was not for throwing him into a freezing bath as an alternate). I had blister plasters so put these on with antiseptic having cooled it as best we could, we left and let the wee man at the Academy Reception know and we were greeted with a big glazed smile and again had no idea if he knew what I was talking about. In the defence of both staff I had spoke to, they did indeed understand me as when I went to the main reception he said ahhhh yes I know and that was about as much acknowledgement as we got (offered first aid at this point?) , apparently a switch switches the rail off and housekeeping would do that for us. No sorry or is you son ok? Very poor show for a family resort and was a big let down as we like Macdonald hotels.

So the rest is fairly easy we arrived for Easter Weekend 2014 on the Friday, the Academy is basic but clean and when you have kids it is an ideal base for a weekend. The main hotel is lovely and the grounds are beautiful it is two minute walk from centre of Aviemore so lots of places to eat etc.

The pool is great there is lots for kids to do on site the play park is more for younger kids but just outside is goals so the bigger ones just enjoy the open space.

Overall we had a really great weekend and would go back, it was our first time to Aviemore and wished we had gone there sooner.

Kids entertainments was average but it was there and that is important.

Last moan..........the lady on reception at the swimming area Easter Saturday requires a lesson on how to make eye contact and basic customer contact. 'You sign here', 'No you put towels there', and 'now come here and sign out', 'you pay £4 if not no', I was so relieved she was off duty on Monday as I was actually to the point where I was going to tell her how much I disliked her manner. Poor woman would be better placed as an attendant at a football game! However lady on the Monday who was also not first language English was an absolute delight and very friendly and how it should be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Firstly I would like to extend my apologies for how the incident with your sons burn was handled. I am sorry that you were left feeling unattended to and that communicating with staff was difficult. The matter has been brought up for investigation. I sincerely hope that the burn was not too bad and that your son is feeling better.

I am delighted to hear that you had the time to use the facilities offered on site and that you and your family enjoyed them - note that you comments regarding the reception staff has been passed on to the relevant department.

We cannot wait to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned today from Aviemore resort had a great time, the weather was fantastic. Happy enough with the price we paid booked the hotel during January sale on website roughly cost £260 but certainly not happy if we'd paid over £500!!
Negatives: The rooms were clean but a bit shabby in the Academy building, there was a mark on the bath unsure what it was blue mark!
The breakfast was poor there was a selection of hot and cold food with cereals but not enough fruit and yogurts on offer and the bacon was tasteless also no fresh drinking water in sight and coffee was terrible.

Plus: Staff were all polite and helpful.
The pool was great when we went it was really quiet and the kids loved the water slide and wave machine.
Kids also enjoyed the soft play area.
Plenty to do if the weather not so good we didn't use all the facilities due to the great weather.

I would recommend the hotel at a good price but not worth over inflated prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your resort experience.

We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the Academy Hotel - please be assured that you comments have been passed on to the relevant department.
I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with breakfast options - we generally get positive feedback in regards to the breakfast that we offer, you feedback has been taken on board.

Thank you for your wonderful words regarding our staff - it is something that we work very hard on and I know they will be delighted to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.
It is great that you had the time to use the leisure faciliteis and enjoyed them.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

On our way back from Inverness we stopped a day in Aviemore and stayed at the Macdonald Hotel! Good location and hotel facilities. Great if your are visiting or planning to stay with kids and family (Not so good for couples). Restaurant was busy, Service was very slow and food average.

Room Tip: For sure great place for Kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilites that we offer onsite and that the resort location was accommodating for you.
I do apologise for the delay caused in the restaurant - you comments have been passed on to the relevant department.

We look forward to welcome you back again,
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

hotel was ok nothing to rave about , room was up in the gods and badly smelt of newly paint
as i got high. parking outside minimal but big place , never used swimming pool or gym
but looked good and supplied towels .walked into aviemore was nice wee pubs no to busy
brekfast was good staff very helpfull

Room Tip: good mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review - all guest feedback is always much appreciated.
I am sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced by a strong smell of paint - your comments have been passed on to the relevant deparmtn.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and that they made you feel welcome - that is something that we work very hard on at the resort.

We look forward to welcome you back again - hopefully you will be able to make use of the leisure facilties on that occasion.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotels of our Macdonald Aviemore Resort are situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands - a magical location. Stay amidst ancient Caledonian pine forests at one of our four distinctive hotels or our luxury woodland lodge accommodation. You'll find the perfect room for your stay in one of our luxurious Scottish Highlands hotels at Aviemore. Our Highlands Hotel offer four-star luxury for all the family along with our newly refurbished Morlich and Aviemore Hotels which are due to open Spring 2015. Choose one of our Luxury Woodland lodges for a stunning escape in the forest surrounding our resort. You'll find everything you need and more at Macdonald Aviemore Resort - luxury brand shopping, 3D cinema viewing, top-class restaurants, our brand new, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. Designed by Dave Thomas, former Ryder Cup player, it features the longest hole in Scotland - a par 5 measuring 635 yards. Are you up for the challenge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing