We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were very surprised that we were only told AFTER checking in, that the facilities were cloised (swimming pool). If we had been told at reception then we would have asked to speak to the manager, had our booking cancelled and then went elsewhere. Instead Macdonald resorts made sure they had taken our cash before informing us that facilities were closed.

Room was advertised as having bath and shower, did not have a bath - pretty crappy situation when you are out in the cairngorms partaking in advernture sports and cannot come back to your hotel for a swim or bath.

Room far too hot and stuffy.

I called the resort this morning to speak to the duty manager, she didnt really sound that bothered that our trip was wasted - so will be leaving feedback on laterooms, and tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Dont bother - rooms dont have facilites advertised
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank craig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for leaving a review on trip advisor.

As my Duty Manager said when you called we had to close the pool unexpectedly due to a child vomiting in the pool. At Macdonald Hotels we take health and safety very seriously and it was with regret however necessary that we had to close the pool for a couple of hours that day.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. We have lots of exciting developments in the hotel over the next coming year including new outdoor activities that start this week.

On your next visit please contact myself directly on Lindsey.randall@macdonald-hotels.co.uk and I will personally look after you.

Kindest regards

Lindsey Randall
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Visited Giovanni's Italian Ristorante at the Macdonald Aviemore Resort, tonight 10/07/14. @ 18.45.
After giving our order to the waiting staff which was only a main meal for two adults and two meals for our 6 year old twins. We found ourselfs waiting a considerable time for our meal to arrive. After 25 minutes I had to ask the management what had happened as the kids were falling asleep. They duly went and inquired, but what they told us was, that if we had ordered a starter first, we would have been catered for quicker. 30 minutes after arriving we received our meals. By this time a table that arrived after us were 3/4 through their 2nd course. The kids macaroni was far to rich and ours was over cooked. One meal was chicken the other a sea food stew.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Alonaaccess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor.

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Our primary aim here at the resort is to exceed our guest expectations and I am sorry to read that we have not done that on this occasion. I have passed on your comments to the relevant manager to ensure that this does not happen again.

If you would like to discuss your comments further please do not hesitate to contact me on 01479815300.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards

Lindsey Randall
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed at the Highland hotel in Aviemore in July 14. The hotel was recently refurbished to a good standard and was pleasantly surprised. Having stayed at this hotel on previous occasions I knew what to expect, the service is excellent and the staff are always on hand if needed. The room itself was very spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. If your looking for a getaway, you can't go wrong with this hotel and of course, Aviemore is just a brilliant base to explore.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time taken to write a review.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and found the newly refurbished rooms accommodating.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff - I know that they will be happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very disappointed to be told when we arrived today that the double we booked has been set up as a twin and can only be moved to a double if we pay £120 more! Poor service and start to our holiday. Expect better from Macdonald Hotels than to be fobbed off with 'read the small print'.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonMcC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review.
I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with your recent stay with us.
We always strive for the highest guest service available and I apologise that you did not find this to be the case during your stay with us.

If you do wish to discuss your dissapointment in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we would be more that happy to speak to you.

We do hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Booked into room 362 in the inn , very dated room and bathroom seemed to have been decorated by someone who had never done it before , this room was by the lift shaft and every time the lift was used the room shook with a loud rumbling. Not the best recipe for a restful nights sleep.
I had the room changed to the family block and to be fair the staff did this without a problem.
We were informed that unless we were in a coach party we could not use the food hall restaurant, a situation we were unaware of again the staff on the ground dealt with this, I have the feeling they are quite used to dealing with a multitude of complaints and problems.
Great staff but bad management, you are on a coach party conveyor belt here and the place is not designed for the independent traveller.
If a manager from the resort reads this just thank your on the floor staff for keeping a wobbling ship afloat

Room Tip: If you are anywhere near a lift shaft go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew.
I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with your room when you arrived but happy that it was dealt with quickly by our staff.
Thank you for your words regarding our staff - I am delighted that they were helpful and made you feel welcome.

Please note that all your feedback has been taken on board.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I traveled North to celebrate our wedding anniversary and stayed at the Macdonald Highland Resort in Aviemore from Saturday 10th - 11th May 2014. Firstly, the stunning surroundings were breathtaking which was just right for the occasion, the staff from the reception, rooms and dining area were very hospitable and made us feel very much at home after a long trip. The room we stayed in was classic and very comfortable. The response we received upon lacking an item in the room was also exceptional. The breakfast had a great selection - and we loved every aspect of our weekend away. keep it up!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Psalms46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us - thank you for all your wonderful comments.
I will make sure to pass on your feedback - I know the staff will be happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The rooms were very comfortable and a decent size. Staff were helpful and welcoming. The hotel is in a great location - only a 5 minute walk into the town centre, which has a great selection of shops and bars.

Food did the job, a big selection at breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T0m_Y22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your resort experience.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - it is a pleasure to read that staff was so welcoming and accommodaing, I know they will be delighted when I pass on the message.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £107 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of three 4-star hotels located within Macdonald Aviemore Resort situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands. This hotel is most popular with families who enjoy the special family rooms featuring special bunk rooms giving kids their own space within their parents room - a popular option with all family members! You'll find everything you need and more within the wider resort - luxury brand shopping, a cinema, top-class restaurants, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing