We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night on a bus tour . Very nice . Good bed. Clean . A little bit knocked around but very roomy . Wifi great . Very quiet . Breakfast very good . Plenty of room in dining room . Staff lovely . Shame about the weather . Beautiful country. .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future...finger's crossed for better weather.

Kindest regards

Lindsey Randall
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,228 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Decide to give this hotel a try as we had heard some good reviews about it. It is divided up into 4 different hotels and lodges. We stayed at the 4* Highland Hotel for one night as we got a cheap deal through a 3rd party online booking site other wise we would have been double the price. The young lad at reception checking us in was very polite and helpful. It was a bit of a maze trying to find our room and the lobby's were a bit dark and dingy. Our room was nice enough and equipped with hairdryer, iron and tea making facilities. The bathroom was a little bit small and the shower was not very powerful. We had our evening meal at the Italian restaurant which is situated in a different hotel on the site. It was a bit disappointing - the waiting staff kept getting orders wrong and the food was just so-so. We went to the Laggans bar in our hotel but only had one drink each as it was so expensive. Breakfast in the morning was excellent though. We went to the swimming pool but it was really crowded and noisy so didn't stay long. Overall a bit disappointed and would have been really upset if I had paid the price Macdonald were asking on there website.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aberdeenquine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your review on trip advisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kindest regards

Lindsey Randall
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

So, we were looking forward to a stay at a lovely looking resort. We were disappointed.
On arrival it all looks super, but a LOT of cracks started to appear which undid a lot of hard work that the young inexperienced team think they may be putting in.

We were checked into the 'Academy Hotel' - A second class (3*) block of rooms on the edge of the resort. Not a great start.

- The rooms, although sizeable had issues.
Our towel rail didn't work. The light in the wardrobe didn't work (an issues as opening the door covered the window). The radiator didn't work, after every attempt to turn every knob and switch. We had to dry our shoes (it was raining) and swimming trunks - as no spin dryer was available. I would have called down to reception but our phone didn't work.

Next door my parents have two blown light bulbs. I looked for a pen and paper so I could leave a note for the housekeeper about the issues but when I had to go to the main reception (the Academy reception is only manned part time), I was told that 'Guest stationary was reserved for our 4* guests Sir.' - that made me feel great. A pad and pencil would have been appreciated. I made sure all my issues were reported to the duty manager, they were not around and I had to wait while the young receptionist opened the 'log' and types transcribed my comments - a lengthy and frustrating process.

Also, whilst waiting for my wife to get ready one evening I said I would wait in reception. Big mistake as no sofa or seating is available in the 'Academy' reception. It is a very bleak place. And the carpet in the lift is really very poor. A small point I know, but should you every visit you will see what I mean. No help offered with luggage.

Breakfast was another let down for the sake of simple things. They have a rotary toaster that is the noisiest I have every heard - a continuous high pitched squeak and squeal could be heard across the whole dining room. They have one coffee station (with two machines) serving the whole room. It is a self service so, as we were on the far side of the room quite a long way to go. Why not put one machine each side of the room?

I asked why the toast machine hadn't been services and was told 'it only makes that noise on certain functions'. Like the toast making function?. Buffet breakfast items were good apart from the coffee trek and noise.

We used the pool facilities and were hoping for a relaxing Jacuzzi after a days travelling and walking - but it was broken. As was the Children's waterside - all roped off and a lot of disappointed kids were evident. A real shame as this is a massive feature. The Sauna had a fixed temperature and could not be heated by water on the coals as is usual.

As mentioned, no spinner for wet trunks - and no heating in the room to dry them.

Overall, a very poor experience. We paid £83 for each of the two rooms and my Amex App has just alerted me I have been charged £109 for each room. Just called and they have said it is normal and will be refunded. They automatically take £26 extra for each room in-case of extras. In all my years of travelling, this is especially odd - and a bit hostel like.

Won't be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in the Academy Block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Adam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Please be assured that the comments you have raised have been taken very seriously and addressed thoroughly. I can assure you that this is not the normal standard we strive for in our daily routines and is certainly not what we are all trained for.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please contact me on Lindsey.randall@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Kindest regards

Lindsey Randall
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Booked for one night only as a top up to our stay elsewhere in Aviemore. The resort comprises a number of hotels and we stayed in the "inn" version. Depressingly dark, tired and dingy rooms with ageing bathrooms. Perhaps the other hotels in the resort are nicer - I hope so - but they all share the same breakfast buffet which is sadly also well below pa. My cooked breakfast was luke warm at best by the time it reached the table and the continental breakfast selection was limited. If your toast gets stuck in the conveyor, like mine, then don't worry all you have to do is use the conveniently placed giant wooden spatula to shove into the toaster to dislodge it. A strange place which is terrible value for money.

Silver linings? I would have been harsher but the staff were friendly and helpful allowing us an early check in; and if you have kids who are not content with the many outdoor activities going on in and around Aviemore then I guess your overpriced room is also subsidising use of the indoor swimming pool and soft play area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor.

I am pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

As a result of customer feedback the Inn will close in January for refurbishment and will reopen in April as a four star hotel.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future. On your next visit please email me on Lindsey.randall@macdonald-hotels.co.uk and I will personally deal with your reservation.

Kindest regards
Lindsey Randall
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I think this resort was nice decades ago, but it is ridiculously run down. The paint is peeling. The carpets are worn. The rooms are dingy. There wasn't hot water in the shower and the toilet didn't flush properly.

A particular highlight was the terrible food. We made a reservation in person. 30 minutes later they couldn't find it. After 45 minutes, our waitress came to the table to ask if everything was ok. We pointed out politely that we had yet to get our food. When it came, the food was terrible and when we very politely told them, a slimy 20 year old manager told us he'd received no other complaints that night. This after we watched dozens of people have words with the hostess. Clearly they capitalize on location as the place is packed, but it totally sucks. . .

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

To allow me to investigate fully can I ask you to email me the hotel that you stayed in within the resort and the restaurant that you ate in? My email address is Lindsey.randall@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest regards

Lindsey Randall
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We are just home from a superb weeks holiday in Aviemore . We did many outdoor activities during that time with the play park and 5 a-side football pitch at the Macdonald Highland resort being a tremendous place for our two lads to let off some steam. We also enjoyed the indoor swimming pool with flume which was a fab way of cooling down as the weather that week was touching 30 deg cel.
There is a new play area with x-box and ps4 stations which is a great respite for mums and dads who have children who are having withdrawal symptoms from their home-tech.
As we have discovered this week , there is so much more to do than we realised in the Aviemore area when the weather is fine with beautiful lochs , cycle tracks and golf. However having a facility like the Macdonald Highland Leisure Arena within the village gives mums and dads the option for fun and exercise when the weather is not so hot.
Everyone is very friendly too which is only to be expected as folk up there are known for their 'Highland hospitality '.
If there was anything that could be improved then I would suggest taking back the old menu in 'The Scottish Steak Club' which is an eaterie on the Dalfaber site . My wife , two boys and I ate there on Friday evening which I would have expected to be busy , but wasn't . This is a very nice lounge /bar with leisure facilities which should be used to its full potential.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank skiboy_robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Owner at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments on trip advisor.

Our new children's activity centre is fabulous with the games room being extremely popular. We have more improvements happening in the Resort over the coming weeks including the arrival our new Segway's.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards

Lindsey Randall
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We decided to book a last minute trip and got a good deal at this hotel. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who was very helpful and polite. The room was quite small but was very clean with a big comfy bed. The staff we met on our stay we're all very friendly and helpful. And I can't rate the food or staff in aspects restaurant highly enough!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisewalker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your positive review on trip advisor.

I am pleased you found the staff be friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kindest regards

Lindsey Randall
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
794 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £108 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of three 4-star hotels located within Macdonald Aviemore Resort situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands. This hotel is most popular with families who enjoy the special family rooms featuring special bunk rooms giving kids their own space within their parents room - a popular option with all family members! You'll find everything you need and more within the wider resort - luxury brand shopping, a cinema, top-class restaurants, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing