We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good wee trip”

Strathspey Steam Railway
Ranked #9 of 45 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Steam through the stunning Scottish Highlands in style.Our steam engines take you on a very special trip through the Cairngorms National Park as you travel between Aviemore, Boat of Garten and Broomhill.Why not make your trip extra special with one of our dining on board options: Light Lunch offers soup, sandwiches, tea and coffee; Afternoon Tea has some sandwiches, scones with jam and cream followed by some delicious cakes; or enjoy a full three course Sunday Lunch or Dinner. Why not upgrade to First Class to enjoy a meal in one of our compartments, finely decorated in it's own tartan, with vintage British Rail mirrors and luggage racks inside.Split your trip up with a visit to Boat of Garten to explore some fantastic walk trails or bring your bike on board to explore the great cycle routes in the area. See if you can beat the train back from Broomhill on your bike!We are also taking part in the Great Railway Treasure Hunt 2013, so there's plenty for the kids to do on the trip!
Barrhead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good wee trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

All three generations enjoyed our trip with the introduction to steam trains a fascination for the youngest members of our party. We had a twin pram & the guard was very helpful in storing this in the guard's van. Fantastic views over towards Cairngorms and even the immediate woodland & farmland surrounding the line.
The seats are so comfy and will be a new experience for those of a younger age.
The guard is also the ticket collector & was happy to answer questions & was very helpful.
There are a couple of stops (if travelling from Aviemore) and these give good photo taking opportunities.
The gift shop was pretty reasonable price wise & had pocket money priced items for kids. Staff in the shop were very friendly & helpful.
Certainly worth considering and you will find times and more details on their web site.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Campbell888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    255
    90
    36
    37
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ok half day out, nice scenery.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

OK half day out, well run, nice staff.good scenery .what more can I say not a steam fanatic like my husband.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloomers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

we took the evening journey and enjoyed spectacular views and an excellent evening meal it took about 3 hours but it was a very enjoyable time with a starter, soup, main course and sweet finishing with coffee. something we would do again very enjoyable and relaxing

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peppa pig day out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Because of an accident, we actually missed the train we were supposed to be on but tickets were swapped no bother. Great service, programme & staff. Only let down and why I have marked down is because I had to pay full child price for my 10 month old daughter despite her not using a seat nor partaking in any if the days events

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacie-Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathspey D, Marketing Officer at Strathspey Steam Railway, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for your reply.
The Railway is delighted to hear that overall you and your family had a great day. The response from other visitors from the Peppa Pig special has also been very positive.
It was our first special of this nature – so all feedback is being gathered and will be filed for action for next year.
We’re also delighted that we managed to accommodate you and your family on a later service. By the end of 4th August, we recorded that almost every seat over the two day special had been sold – so we’re delighted you and your family didn’t miss out on the fun!
We anticipated families (up to two adults and up to three children) constituting the largest proportion of visitors for the special (though we also expected grandparents, aunts, uncles and so on, to join in the fun!)
Due to the large number of families anticipated, we introduced a value for money Family Ticket for the event. We took into account discussions with other Railways and Peppa Pig event organisers to determine this. The Family Ticket meant one child could essentially travel free of charge when the ticket was used to maximum capacity. The family ticket proved particularly popular, based on the sales recorded for the event, but we also found that a significantly larger proportion of our visitors were babies and toddlers – more than other events had experienced – hence why we originally stuck with Family, Adult and Children tickets for the event.
Your point has been highlighted by other Peppa Pig visitors and this had already been taken into consideration for future - we will certainly be introducing a specific toddler ticket should we run the event again next year.

Kind regards
Deborah Quinn
Strathspey Railway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Nostalgic Journey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The steam railway was like a nostalgic and beautiful clockwork model, but on a grand scale! The journey takes you through woodlands, past a golf course, then opens out into a wonderful view of the River Spey and surrounding valley. Wow! There is even an ancient stone ring and standing stone you can see from the train. Broomhill station is nothing to write home about, but would make a great jumping-off place for some great hiking, returning on a later train. (Next time, next time!)
While the views are fantastic on the south side of the route, the big windows have a disadvantage. We were there during the July "Highland heat wave" so it was far too warm in the cars, even opening the window! We managed to find a seat on the less-sunny side for the return. Still beautiful. We passed the "Flying Scotsman" luxury train on a siding at the Boat of Garten and got to see inside the vintage sleeping cars and lounge cars, as we did. Wow. Someone said it's around 1000 pounds a night. While it was interesting to see how the upper class lives, I think next time, I'll just take breakfast in a first class car on the steam railway!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jilara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strathspey Steam Railway also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Strathspey Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing