We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic day out

Decided to have a wee impromptu trip and we were not disappointed. Fantastic experience on an old... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
donnaross1969
,
Dundee, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great for afternoon tea treat

We booked afternoon tea as a birthday treat and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The sandwiches and cakes... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Caz L
,
East Midlands, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,389 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Aviemore
from US$111.25
More Info
from US$83.44
More Info
from US$703.42
More Info
from US$782.90
More Info
Reviews (1,389)
Filter reviews
1,389 results
Traveller rating
817
354
119
51
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
817
354
119
51
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea steam engine santa express first class sandwiches light lunch step back in time aviemore station lovely trip lovely scenery take photos carriage garten boat railway volunteers platform
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 1,389 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon tea on board and upgraded to 1st class to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Nice sandwiches and cakes. Plenty of tea and coffee. Train travelled at a very nice pace. Staff very helpful.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Great station, memories brought back of trips in rolling stock which is still used now,smells of steam engine,noises from the past!
Huge commitment from a lot of volunteers to make this wonderful experience, much appreciated!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank sandymA8365UJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We knew our Gran would like the scenery and the steam train but it came as a very pleasant surprise to all 6 in our party that the quality of the food, the lovely laid out tables, drinks choices and the service of the enthusiastic and professional staff (including chef who we thanked having cooked and prepared everything in an adjoining carriage!) was so good! We understand that this year is the first year they have catered 100% in house (in train??) anyway - keep it up guys - granny enjoyed it but we all appreciated the effort - when I jokingly requested we go around again at the end of the trip another passenger shouted yes can we??

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Tidi-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Visited on Saturday for my mums 70th birthday. There were 7 of us. The steam train was brilliant, and the scenery beautiful. Our afternoon tea was better than I expected seeing as it was on a train! I don’t drink hot drinks so liked having the option of having a soft drink. Liked the fact that you chose your sandwich too, the smoked salmon and cream cheese was delicious! When we stopped at the station half way through the journey you could go and talk to the driver and even get into the drivers compartment. My mum pulled the rope to blow the whistle which was a real highlight!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank cherub85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We took this train as part of a day trip from Invergordon. We were looking forward to some great views of the Spey Valley and Cairngorms. We were very disappointed as the train travels below grade in many places or through forests. We were suppose to be served tea on the train, but the service did not arrive in our car until the train had stopped at Broomhill - where we were to disembark. There are good opportunities to get up close to the steam engine when it is in the stations.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Cruise281
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews