We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
Mince Pies and Mulled Wine

2nd Jan 2019 Lovely sunny day for a trip on steam train . On arrival found the Station at Aviemore... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
bomberosteve
,
York, United Kingdom
Amazing

The journey is amazing , can't wait to see the extended route when it's built. Love the late night... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
mchaggiz
,
Aviemore, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,219 reviews
  
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveller rating
705
322
107
45
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
322
107
45
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea steam engine santa express first class mince pies sunday lunch light lunch broomhill station buffet car run by volunteers rolling stock step back in time return journey dining car santa train waiting room tv series
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon tea on board and upgraded to 1st class to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Nice sandwiches and cakes. Plenty of tea and coffee. Train travelled at a very nice pace. Staff very helpful.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank pammy869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Great station, memories brought back of trips in rolling stock which is still used now,smells of steam engine,noises from the past!
Huge commitment from a lot of volunteers to make this wonderful experience, much appreciated!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank sandymA8365UJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We knew our Gran would like the scenery and the steam train but it came as a very pleasant surprise to all 6 in our party that the quality of the food, the lovely laid out tables, drinks choices and the service of the enthusiastic and professional staff (including chef who we thanked having cooked and prepared everything in an adjoining carriage!) was so good! We understand that this year is the first year they have catered 100% in house (in train??) anyway - keep it up guys - granny enjoyed it but we all appreciated the effort - when I jokingly requested we go around again at the end of the trip another passenger shouted yes can we??

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Tidi-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Visited on Saturday for my mums 70th birthday. There were 7 of us. The steam train was brilliant, and the scenery beautiful. Our afternoon tea was better than I expected seeing as it was on a train! I don’t drink hot drinks so liked having the option of having a soft drink. Liked the fact that you chose your sandwich too, the smoked salmon and cream cheese was delicious! When we stopped at the station half way through the journey you could go and talk to the driver and even get into the drivers compartment. My mum pulled the rope to blow the whistle which was a real highlight!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank cherub85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We took this train as part of a day trip from Invergordon. We were looking forward to some great views of the Spey Valley and Cairngorms. We were very disappointed as the train travels below grade in many places or through forests. We were suppose to be served tea on the train, but the service did not arrive in our car until the train had stopped at Broomhill - where we were to disembark. There are good opportunities to get up close to the steam engine when it is in the stations.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Cruise281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews