We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Minister's House
Ranked #15 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice accommodation.”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

One of the best places I've stayed. You know how almost all accommodation makes you think 'I wish it had X and Y..' - nothing like that here. The room had everything and so did the breakfast. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    12
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
34
111
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Just returned from a 2 day break at the Old Ministers House.

This B&B is fantastic, everything just oozes quality, from the condiments on the tables to the homemade cookies in the rooms, to the bedding and the crockery.

The breakfast is amazing!!

Shelagh's local knowledge is great too,please take her recommendations regarding restaurants,you will not be disappionted.

She even gave us flasks away for a day trip,along with some great homebaking. Its the little touches that make this place a gem.

We will definetly be back.

Thanks Again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mj-ronny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Old Ministers’ House is a perfect place to stay when discovering Cairngorms National Park. Rooms are spacious with a nice decoration, attention is paid to each detail as, e.g., for the organic cosmetics in the bathroom . We were excellently welcome with gargantuan breakfasts (enough to last at least few hours walking), small biscuits patiently waiting for our return and of course thanks to the advice we were given. We would like again to thank Shelagh for her precious help, whether it was for restaurants, activities or walks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raokshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Shelagh.....A massive thank you for making our recent stay so memorable. On arrival this house has the WOW Factor. Beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Our room was on the ground floor and it was fabulous. Breakfast is made to order and delicious, my husband commented that it was the best Egg Benedict he has ever tasted.

Shelagh has owned the B&B for one year and has already upgraded the public rooms and now has a ground floor bedroom named the Druie which was our good fortune to be allocated.

Shelagh knows the area very well and will also recommend eating places and phone ahead to book a table for you if required.

To summarise, we would wholeheartedly recommend The Old Minister's House. Will we go back? Believe me, we can't wait for the next opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMAC1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukfamily
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We notified the owner at time of booking that we would be late after a 5 hour drive .We were appalled that she had taken the liberty to raise the alarm with our home that we had not arrived by 730.The welcome was no example of Scottish hospitality."Did we not know that all b and bs in GB have an arrival time between 4 and 6?" "Did we not know I might have something to do?"
Nice house apart from wafts of someone smoking - maybe her No Smoking policy needs as rigidly enforced as her arrivals policy!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
24 Thank dandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Ditto SmilesScotland's review (Mum)

To add: I think Shelagh has upgrading plans for the B&B which will only enhance her guests experience. I am a bit of a 'Princess and The Pea' sleeper. My wishes were met Fairy Godmother style! Goose feather pillows and duvets would make this perfect!

Breakfast was exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hell2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
529 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

What a wonderful well appointed well furnished friendly B & B. The bedrooms area very generous size with great bathroom facility the use of special bathroom soaps and shampoos is a very nice touch. The whole trip was rounded off with a spectacular breakfast. The situation of this B & B is excellent for touring the Cairngorms National Park.

Room Tip: Highly recommend this B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IGW187351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
7.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
466 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#9 of 29 in Aviemore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Minister's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Minister's House

Property: The Old Minister's House
Address: Rothiemurchus | Inverdruie, Aviemore PH22 1QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Ministers House is located at the foot of the Cairngorms and in the heart of the Rothiemurchus Estate. The Guest House is beautifully decorated and exceptionally comfortable. For guests comfort, you will find in the sitting room - an honesty bar, log burning stove, an i-pad, dvd libary, free wi-fi and many more extras. In the bedrooms, there are slippers and gowns, a selection of teas, coffee and fresh milk and most importantly ... Sherry ! Packed lunch is available by prior arrangement. Sports equipment can be safely stored and wet clothes can be dried. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Minister's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Minister's House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing