We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Minister's House
Ranked #15 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb Accomodation”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Old Ministers House in July 2013. We had a wonderful stay in a beautiful part of Scotland.
Sheila the owner was extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. She took excellent care of us during our stay. The breakfasts were amazing, everything freshly prepared and sourced from local suppliers. The beautiful dining room added to the wonderful dining experience.
The whole house is tastefully furnished, impeccably clean and comfortable. It truly is a beautiful place. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. We had the most fantastic view of the Cairngorms from our bathroom window, a good vantage point for photos.

We hope to return to Scotland in the not too distant future. We will certainly visit Aviemore again and definitely stay at the Old Ministers House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    12
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
34
110
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I had a brilliant stay here, the accommodation was superb and the bed extremely comfortable - you could choose what type of bedding and pillows you wanted!

The breakfasts were very generous, varied, high quality and most importantly very tasty.

Shelagh, the owner was quirky and outspoken, perhaps even abrupt, but well meaning, helpful and clearly a perfectionist which certainly came across with the exceptional service received and presentation of every detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 462Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here for the last 3yrs, for a long weekend, for Thunder in The Glens ( Harley Davidson Rally), along with another 2 couples, we have always booked for the following year, during our stay, due to loving the accommodation, and every where else is sold out. The accommodation is excellent, rooms very clean, décor is beautifully done, great nights sleep in very comfortable bed, breakfast was very good. It is a beautiful place to stay.
On the down side, the TITG Rally is one of the busiest times of year for Aviemore, bringing in lots of revenue for local businesses, and we always have a warm welcome for the local people. We were all told by Shelagh, that we would have to leave on the Sunday, cutting our long weekend short. as she was closing on the Sunday. We all got the impression, we were not welcome, and all felt Shelagh was very cold towards us all, unlike the previous owner Kate, who couldn't have been anymore friendly and helpful. We were not asked if we wanted to book up for the following year by Shelagh, and to be truthful it felt like she didn't want our sorts staying there. Which leads me to a point, we are all the quietest, tucked up in bed early, well behaved people you could meet. We all have high profile jobs, so Shelagh, you should not judge a book by its cover and make people feel unwelcome, I feel very disappointed and let down. On a good not we have booked into another accommodation for next year, and when being shown around by the owners, they couldn't have been anymore welcoming.

Room Tip: Don't go for breakfast early, or you will be reprimanded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dibs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed the one night whilst heading up to John O'Groats. It's a real beautiful B&B everything was spotless and the breakfast was excellent. If you are eating out please visit Pizzariach and not the La Taverna on the roundabout. We had originally planned to visit Pizzariach but was put off by the lady owner of the B&B she quickly booked us into the La Taverna but once we got there we waited around for 5 min then quickly left (although the place was really busy) glad we did the food and cleanliness was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The setting avoids the crowds of downtown Aviemore, which is nice; it's also right next door to the Rothiemurchus activities center, perfect if you want to go horseback riding. The decor is fresh, with the pastel tartan fabrics brightened by more vibrant matching shades in the lamps. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, even the "smaller" room on the first floor. Shelagh has thought of every detail, from the stool in the entry way for removing your hiking books, to the right number of plugs, to free wifi, to an iPad for guest use in the living room, to blackout curtains and a pillow menu. Really nice to have a licensed inn, so you can have a tot of single malt after a long day's hike and not have to drive anywhere. (Be sure to have a car for this location.) Shelagh was very accommodating to our gluten-free needs, and even put a little GF treat in my sister's room for her. She is also very knowledgeable about food, and not only puts on a nice breakfast, but scored us some excellent dinner reservations. The whole establishment is spotless and beautifully maintained. I highly recommend this place. We stayed in the first room on the left at the top of the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I concur with everything said before. Shelagh's attention to detail results in one of the best places we've ever stayed at! Great recommendations for local restaurants, things to do and see. Everything was spotless and on its place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallysMissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Old Minister's is a relatively recently refurbished guest house close to Aviemore. There was an advantage in staying at Inverdruie rather than in Aviemore itself - quieter & within walking distance of local attractions. If you want cheap or very corporate (ie dull & could be anywhere), you may prefer somewhere else. If you want a well placed home from home with added extras, book the Old Ministers!
The public rooms and bedrooms are comfortable, immaculately clean and furnished to a high standard. The Old Ministers offers excellent value. Bedrooms are very well equipped and there are several nice touches - hand made biscuits, choice of teas/coffees, fresh milk, complimentary sherry. Breakfast was excellent & seing wild birds and a red squirrel from the dining room a bonus. The guest lounge has plenty of books on the local area and an ipad for guest use. Nice touch. Having just stayed in what purports to be a 5* hotel in Edinburgh, this was a far superior experience..
We hadn't appreciated the check in time of 4-6 and were late, so called ahead. For a small business I can appreciate that late guests are an inconvenience. Having initially seemed unimpressed with our lateness, on arrival, Shelagh could not have been more helpful in asking us what we wanted to do while staying, giving tailored advice on where to go and where to eat and made a booking for us. Dinner is available by prior arrangement & judging by the excellent breakfast, we'd book dinner on a return visit. The whole house is available to be booked for self-catering, which would be great for a group for a holiday or Christmas. The reason for our trip was to scatter my Mum's ashes at a place she loved in the area. That meant our trip came with mixed emotions. We couldn't have found a better place to stay at this time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the-ladies-who-dine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.9 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Minister's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Minister's House

Property: The Old Minister's House
Address: Rothiemurchus | Inverdruie, Aviemore PH22 1QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Ministers House is located at the foot of the Cairngorms and in the heart of the Rothiemurchus Estate. The Guest House is beautifully decorated and exceptionally comfortable. For guests comfort, you will find in the sitting room - an honesty bar, log burning stove, an i-pad, dvd libary, free wi-fi and many more extras. In the bedrooms, there are slippers and gowns, a selection of teas, coffee and fresh milk and most importantly ... Sherry ! Packed lunch is available by prior arrangement. Sports equipment can be safely stored and wet clothes can be dried. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Minister's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Minister's House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing