We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5* plus !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Minister's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Minister's House
Ranked #15 of 31 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Troon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“5* plus !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

By far the best B&B we have ever stayed in and upsides with the very best of hotels.
Where to start ? Choice of pillows and duvet; carafe of sherry; multitude of tea pigs; cafetiere; hot chocolate; home made smoothie and raspberry yoghurt; best of Scottish produce right down to the day's BBC weather forecast on each breakfast table.
Shelagh could not have been more helpful even digging out a website when we expressed interest in the stag head coat hooks.
The Old Minister's House is ideally placed for access to Aviemore itself and the Cairngorms.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    12
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
34
108
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dunedin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Well I can only say this is the best accomodation we have stayed at in the UK so far. Everything was thought of, special touches everywhere ,even a face cloth! The host was very helpfull. The place was clean and comfortable. The bed sheets were lovely! The breakfast was also good. Would stayed there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pazDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burwood East, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our family of four adults and three children from Australia stay in three bedrooms of this magnificient accommodation The breakfasts were fantastic, very generous, of very high quality and great service and excellent home cooked biscuits. Shelagh, the owner was outspoken on our late arrival, but very helpful and had exceptional service. The staff were great with the children and I highly recommend all to stay here on your travels through Scotland

Room Tip: All rooms are great the one on the ground floor is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Old Ministers House in July 2013. We had a wonderful stay in a beautiful part of Scotland.
Sheila the owner was extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. She took excellent care of us during our stay. The breakfasts were amazing, everything freshly prepared and sourced from local suppliers. The beautiful dining room added to the wonderful dining experience.
The whole house is tastefully furnished, impeccably clean and comfortable. It truly is a beautiful place. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. We had the most fantastic view of the Cairngorms from our bathroom window, a good vantage point for photos.

We hope to return to Scotland in the not too distant future. We will certainly visit Aviemore again and definitely stay at the Old Ministers House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I had a brilliant stay here, the accommodation was superb and the bed extremely comfortable - you could choose what type of bedding and pillows you wanted!

The breakfasts were very generous, varied, high quality and most importantly very tasty.

Shelagh, the owner was quirky and outspoken, perhaps even abrupt, but well meaning, helpful and clearly a perfectionist which certainly came across with the exceptional service received and presentation of every detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 462Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here for the last 3yrs, for a long weekend, for Thunder in The Glens ( Harley Davidson Rally), along with another 2 couples, we have always booked for the following year, during our stay, due to loving the accommodation, and every where else is sold out. The accommodation is excellent, rooms very clean, décor is beautifully done, great nights sleep in very comfortable bed, breakfast was very good. It is a beautiful place to stay.
On the down side, the TITG Rally is one of the busiest times of year for Aviemore, bringing in lots of revenue for local businesses, and we always have a warm welcome for the local people. We were all told by Shelagh, that we would have to leave on the Sunday, cutting our long weekend short. as she was closing on the Sunday. We all got the impression, we were not welcome, and all felt Shelagh was very cold towards us all, unlike the previous owner Kate, who couldn't have been anymore friendly and helpful. We were not asked if we wanted to book up for the following year by Shelagh, and to be truthful it felt like she didn't want our sorts staying there. Which leads me to a point, we are all the quietest, tucked up in bed early, well behaved people you could meet. We all have high profile jobs, so Shelagh, you should not judge a book by its cover and make people feel unwelcome, I feel very disappointed and let down. On a good not we have booked into another accommodation for next year, and when being shown around by the owners, they couldn't have been anymore welcoming.

Room Tip: Don't go for breakfast early, or you will be reprimanded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dibs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed the one night whilst heading up to John O'Groats. It's a real beautiful B&B everything was spotless and the breakfast was excellent. If you are eating out please visit Pizzariach and not the La Taverna on the roundabout. We had originally planned to visit Pizzariach but was put off by the lady owner of the B&B she quickly booked us into the La Taverna but once we got there we waited around for 5 min then quickly left (although the place was really busy) glad we did the food and cleanliness was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.7 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 26 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Minister's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Minister's House

Property: The Old Minister's House
Address: Rothiemurchus | Inverdruie, Aviemore PH22 1QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Ministers House is located at the foot of the Cairngorms and in the heart of the Rothiemurchus Estate. The Guest House is beautifully decorated and exceptionally comfortable. For guests comfort, you will find in the sitting room - an honesty bar, log burning stove, an i-pad, dvd libary, free wi-fi and many more extras. In the bedrooms, there are slippers and gowns, a selection of teas, coffee and fresh milk and most importantly ... Sherry ! Packed lunch is available by prior arrangement. Sports equipment can be safely stored and wet clothes can be dried. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Minister's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Minister's House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing