We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, the way a guest house should be run!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Minister's House
Ranked #15 of 31 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic, the way a guest house should be run!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Exceptional attention to detail and very comfortable indeed. Everything works and has clearly been carefully considered and thought through. Superb breakfast too.

This is the way a guest house should be run!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but choose Braeriach to the front of the house for a great view out toward Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thurner F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    12
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
34
109
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here for one evening on skiing weekend to Aviemore. Everything about this accommodation was faultless from arrival to departure. We had sherry and home made shortbread in our room on arrival. The room was pristine and spotless. The breakfast was fantastic too. This was a wonderful find and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ce04dje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent long weekend. Fabulous accommodation, first class service, high quality breakfasts. Definitely will return again & highly recommend a stay in this very well run, superb, very well-earned 5 star guest house.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We're just back from a 3 night stay at The Old Minister's House and what a treat!

This is a lovely, warm and inviting guest house which is tastefully decorated with the greatest attention to detail.

The breakfast is fantastic; it is all made with locally sourced food and created by Shelagh the host. We tasted the most amazing french toast and the fruit pots were just bursting with flavour.

The Old Minister's House is ideally situated for exploring the wonders of Rothiemurchus and the surrounding areas. The house and the staff are a wonderful advert for 5* Scottish Tourism.

We will most certainly be back - go on.... book it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Espr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

It is easy to see why this B&B has won so many top awards. It is beautifully presented, fastidiously clean and stylishly comfortable. The little touches are simply the icing on an already very pleasing cake. It is not the cheapest, but is certainly excellent value for money. Breakfast was incredibly tasty and freshly prepared. Only tiny improvement would be a soap dish in the ensuite bathroom as I went wet-soap fishing several times as it flew about the sink. The 15/20 minute walk from the train station is easily achieveable on foot as well.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Absolutely loved this B & B. By far the best B & B i have ever stayed in. Everything was perfect, the breakfast was outstanding, everything was to the highest quality and included everything you would have expected and more. Loved the big bed and the fact we were offered a pillow and duvet menu. The furnishings were to the highest quality. The snow was the icing on the cake. Will be back next year for defiant. Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippa_couzens93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just home from a fabulous few days in Aviemore with my partner & our 10 month old daughter..... The old ministers house was a wonderful place to stay & we were made to feel so welcome by the owner Shelagh. Attention to detail was outstanding & very thoughtful..... Rooms were very spacious even with a travel cot in the room & there was plenty space for a little monster to crawl about. The public rooms were also spacious & like everything immaculate......there were DVDs to borrow, books, magazines, an honesty bar & even home baking :) we all slept so well, the bed was exceptionally comfortable & the bed sheets were just wow!!! Breakfast, there was a great selection, our daughter was very impressed with the porridge & we both loved ours, with the added bonus of Stornaway black pudding!! Our only complaint would be we never got to stay longer..... We wish Shelagh all the best & send her a big thank you for our wonderful stay, we will definitely so her again soon... Xx

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraABlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.9 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Minister's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Minister's House

Property: The Old Minister's House
Address: Rothiemurchus | Inverdruie, Aviemore PH22 1QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Ministers House is located at the foot of the Cairngorms and in the heart of the Rothiemurchus Estate. The Guest House is beautifully decorated and exceptionally comfortable. For guests comfort, you will find in the sitting room - an honesty bar, log burning stove, an i-pad, dvd libary, free wi-fi and many more extras. In the bedrooms, there are slippers and gowns, a selection of teas, coffee and fresh milk and most importantly ... Sherry ! Packed lunch is available by prior arrangement. Sports equipment can be safely stored and wet clothes can be dried. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Minister's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Minister's House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing