We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome days hiking with the rangers!”
Review of CairnGorm Mountain

CairnGorm Mountain
Ranked #8 of 45 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CairnGorm Mountain is a great place to visit at any time of year. Ride the UK's highest funicular to just below the summit of Cairn Gorm, enjoy a walk with a Ranger or on one of the self guided routes. In winter, enjoy great snowsports on 30km of pisted runs suitable for beginners to experts. Lunch at the UK's highest restaurant, shop for gifts or mountain essentials and depart with unforgettable memories of this unique place.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome days hiking with the rangers!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

So this weeks been the Cairngorm mountain walking festival. I did one walk with them - Shelter stone. Our party consisted of 6 of us, plus Attila (Ranger) and John, another mountain trained member of the cairngorm team. The day out was far more than a fabulous hill walk. The information that both staff members were able to share with us about the flora, forna and the mountain in general made this a very interesting day out. I'm hopeful that Cairngorm mountain may make this an annual event!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,115
    572
    191
    87
    58
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Birds on the Roof of Scotland”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We used the funicular to go to the Ptarmigan Restaurant on a wonderful, clear, sunny day. We took the guided tour to the summit. The guide was friendly and helpful, as I am particularly careful (slow) walking downhill. The path up is easy, down is a bit steeper and paved with uneven stones. The view is wonderful and we saw ptarmigan, snow buntings and dotterel, with time to take photos. Highlight of our week in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WildlifeWatcher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views - Take the Funicular”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We took the Funicular up to the top of the mountain on what turned out be a lovely clear day. The trip up was a lot of fun and the tour guide was pointing out interesting things on our way up. Once you reach the top, and after you navigate the interesting exhibition and the obligatory gift shop the views are spectacular. Obviously your views are dependent on the weather, however we had clear skies and the views just went on for miles.

We were going to go on a guided tour, however unfortunately they were not available on the day, however still thoroughly enjoyed my visit up the mountain and the funicular was definitely one of my favourite parts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Genepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A trip on the Funicular”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A good day trip,the funicular runs every hour in the summer and is reasonably priced.Their is a restaurant at the top,perfect place for a coffee and cake and a chance toenjoy the scevery

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Cairngorm Funicular Railway - a great asset”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Brilliant.... a wee bit overpriced, however the views from the top are fantastic, as you can see the Cromarty Firth, Moray Firth and beyond, and also Ben Nevis - on a clear day. The dining facilities and food are also very good. I had the 'Cullen Skink' soup - with 5 or 6 potatoes in with the Haddock, not the sort of low quality that you would normally expect above 3000feet up - well done team. The train driver was also very good at informing us of all the different things to see and do. Highly recommend it to visitors.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Splishsplasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CairnGorm Mountain also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to CairnGorm Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing