We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning and breathtaking”
Review of CairnGorm Mountain

CairnGorm Mountain
Ranked #8 of 44 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CairnGorm Mountain is a great place to visit at any time of year. Ride the UK's highest funicular to just below the summit of Cairn Gorm, enjoy a walk with a Ranger or on one of the self guided routes. In winter, enjoy great snowsports on 30km of pisted runs suitable for beginners to experts. Lunch at the UK's highest restaurant, shop for gifts or mountain essentials and depart with unforgettable memories of this unique place.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
99 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Stunning and breathtaking”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We didn't actually go to the correct Ski Lift area, by mistake we parked in the area before the main Cairngorm site. There were no signs so we assumed we were in the right place.

Anyway, despite this we found a small muddy path that led up the other side of Cairngorm, the path disappeared and it was a bit treacherous at times, especially with low cloud and rain. There were little streams to cross, frozen rivers, orchids and colourful moss. When we reached the top the views were really something special and we didn't come across one person, it was very peaceful. A red grouse flew past us, annoyed at being disturbed!

We afterwards found the correct car park... it would be nice if there were info panels about wildlife and nature of the area, not just about the ski routes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fjane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,067
    535
    178
    81
    55
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Guided tuition desent down the mountain on mountain bike”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Totally exhilarating decent from top station (travel up by furnicular railway,)on mountain bike, guided tuition, three runs down on great bikes, not for the faint hearted, but great value want to do it again, recommended

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joihound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Absolutely breathtaking and these are the moments you live for . A must see .Even if you journey to the top to see the snow atop the peaks you wont be disappointed , enjoy a coffee , take snaps . A must see attraction.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No DOGS up but DOGS down!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We were recommended to go on the funicular due to the stunning views but were extremely disappointed as dogs are not allowed to go up but if you walk up then you can take the dog back down on the train. Just doesn't make sense, especially in this day an age where they tell you not to leave the dog in the car and not to leave them in the caravan. What is the logic in this rule.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Traveled up on the funicular railway, the day was warm and clear; the views were outstanding. Had coffee in the Ptarmigan restaurant overlooking the views - there was even a set of binoculars next to the window (chained up for obvious reasons!) to use to look at the views. Well worth the drive and railway car trip to see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CairnGorm Mountain also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to CairnGorm Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing