We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funicular Railway”
Review of CairnGorm Mountain

CairnGorm Mountain
Ranked #14 of 49 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Consistently voted one of Scotland's Top 10 Visitor Attractions, CairnGorm Mountain is an unforgettable visitor attraction throughout the year! Nestled in the heart of the spectacular Cairngorms National Park, CairnGorm is home to the UK's highest Funicular Railway and Restaurant, incredible snow-sports (plus our own on-site snow school) during the winter and epic guided walks during the summer season. Add to that our atmospheric Storehouse Cafe (with the region's best homemade cakes!), our Outfitters Store, the UK's highest postbox, beautiful wildlife and plenty of other adventures, there's something for all to enjoy during your visit to CairnGorm! Join us for our spectacular summer line-up in 2018, where we've got a whole host of family adventures to enjoy on the mountain! Visit our website for further details...
Reviewed 29 January 2009

I have been on the funicular railway several times now since it opened as a tourist. We have been there in February, May and October and each time its different and worth just going up there for the views. In February its great because the snow is around but the funny thing is that the best views we have had are in February and October. Those times its been blue skies and views for miles. The times we been in May its been a bit overcast. Its a great experience especially when you see the snow buntings and any other creatures/birds.
The restaurant at the top does great hot chocolate!
Not done the ski-ing but would have tried out the sledging if we had had time in January this year. Go and visit Cairngorm Mountain and enjoy the experience!

21  Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"funicular railway"
in 401 reviews
"viewing platform"
in 169 reviews
"ptarmigan restaurant"
in 74 reviews
"base station"
in 69 reviews
"windy ridge"
in 25 reviews
"guided walk"
in 72 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 75 reviews
"car park"
in 156 reviews
"ski resort"
in 27 reviews
"fantastic views"
in 75 reviews
"low cloud"
in 24 reviews
"gift shop"
in 79 reviews
"half term"
in 25 reviews
"great trip"
in 38 reviews
"soup"
in 35 reviews
"sunny day"
in 28 reviews
"cakes"
in 24 reviews
Filter

2,251 - 2,255 of 2,362 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2008

have been on numerous visits "up the mountain" over the past 20 years and have been up the funicular about 4 or 5 times. The views on a clear day are spectacular and when there is snow (if you can get on the train!) it is worth a visit just to be in the snow.........

it is pricey (£8 i think) but the way i see it that the money goes back into the upkeep of the mountain.

Definitely worth a visit but i would try and make it on a clear day as the views make the rip worthwhile.

7  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnGormPhotos, Manager at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2009

Thanks for visiting and posting your comments. The mountain is truly spectacular in clear weather but visitors often find it exciting in stormy weather as they stand on the terrace and experience 50-60mph winds! I note your point of £8 for a return train journey and all entry money goes back into the mountain - this includes the upkeep of footpaths, the mountain garden and the whole mountain infrastructure. Great value for money is our Friends of CairnGorm Pass which allows visitors to visit as many times as they like in a year for only £15 - just under the price of 2 visits. Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

We did a walk with the Ranger to the summit - it was amazing. We are total novices and would never have had the guts to make the accent without an expert

It was a clear but windy day, we were the only people on the walk so we got one on one attention. Rex monitored conditions and our pace constantly ensuring that we were suitably challenged and on the best route for the conditions (we had wind gusts of 50mph so he kept us sheltered as much as possible).

He was really supportive and we leant loads along the way about how to get the best out of our kit, how to pace yourself, how to monitor conditions and safety and also about the area and other walks we could do. Oh yes and he pointed out some really rare wildlife too like a pair of ptarmigan!

The view from the top was spectacular and worth the slog. I would never had said climbing a mountain is accessible activity to most people regardless of fitness and experience levels but having the encouragement and support I got from having a professional made all the difference! Go for it.

Oh yeah and the mountain railway is great even if you are not into skiing or outdoor activities – you get the view without the hike!

5  Thank K8snr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnGormPhotos, Manager at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2009

Delighted you enjoyed your walk. Great for staff to see it posted for all the world to see. Please visit us again soon. Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2008

£28 for a lift pass, to get you up the mountain and onto the ski runs, even if when you get to the top, there is only one t-bar lift running. Appallingly expensive.

They offered us a £5 voucher for the canteen, but I would have preferred £5 off the ticket price.

What's more, they won't allow you to buy a half day lift pass.

They need to adjust their prices according to the accessibility of the ski runs.

Not very impressed guys.

11  Thank SunnyChickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2008

I've walked up this mountain 3 times in 2 years and am set to do it again next month. I've also taken the funicular train to the cafe at the top. I agree that it is an expensive train ride if the weather is poor as for most people, the idea of going to the top of any mountain, half the enjoyment are the spectacular views from the top (unless you happen to be of the likes of Sir Edmund Hillary (RIP)).

The summer months walk tends to offer better weather than the winter months, but that doesn't mean that it's not worth hiking up it in the snow! My favourite walk is in the snow. It takes a little longer (avoiding skiiers & snowboarders) but there's something about looking out over snow-topped mountains and looking over to Ben Nevis (57 miles away?) that really does take your breath away (and not just from the walking).

It's worth mentioning that if you do take the funicular then you won't be allowed to wander around outside and get to the summit. For me, all the effort expended on foot (about 1hr 30mins) to get to the summit is absolutely worth it for the incredible views. My wife (who's super-fit) can get from the car park to the summit in less than an hour but even for the slowest hikers, a 3 hour amble will get you there. The sense of achievement is overwhelming and Britain's 5th highest peak can be ticked off your list!

I am looking forward to walking this great mountain again next month and hopefully do some skiiing down it.

It's a truly wonderful place to be.

8  Thank White_Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnGormPhotos, Manager at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2009

Thanks for the review. You are right the mountain is a truly special place in magnigicent weather but it can be equally exciting in some of the worst weather we get. Part of the thrill for some visitors is stading on the terrace and leaning into 50 - 60 mph winds!
I would also like to add to your comments regarding the management system that we operate. It is possible for walkers who do make the effort to walk up to the Ptarmigan Station to enter the building and enjoy the facilities and if they want to take the train back down the hill. This is a recent change in our visitor management arrangements and we hope more walkers will take advantage of it! Please visit soon. Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CairnGorm Mountain also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to CairnGorm Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing