We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service - in need of an upgrade”
Review of Strathspey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathspey Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Visited this hotel on a business trip and had a look around the whole Macdonald Resort. I learned that this was the oldest hotel in the complex and it is starting to now show its age. When new it would have been and is still to an entent fairly impressive in the public areas. The following is a summary:

POSITIVES
Staff - without exception all were very friendly and professional
Food - decent breakfast and all main meals were of a good standard
Location - good overall location close to the main building and town centre

NEGATIVES
Bedroom - sparse and dated- in need of modernisation. Simple things like no headboard on the bed, TV sitting at a precarious angle , remote control barely working and general decor neding redone.
Bathroom - had to wait about 3 minutes for hot water in the morning. You have to be a controtionist to use the toilet!. Again needs modernised.

Would I stay here again ? I would stay in one of the other hotels min the Macdonald resort but until the bedrooms are upgraded not at the 4 seasosn.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doonhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Strathspey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Dear doonhamer
Thank you for the positive comments about the resort and the staff.

All feedback is welcomed and your constructive approach is noted to the points where we can improve.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2011

I arrived at the Four Seasons and after trying to gain entry for a couple of minutes, I realised that it was actually closed. There is a vague sign apologising for any disruption during renovations but nothing to indicate that its closed or what to do. After sitting with my wife pondering over what to do, I decide to drive round to the McDonalds Reception where after giving an account of these events, I was nonchantly informed that I had been upgraded to the Highland hotel further down the way.

No explanation, no apology.

The Highland hotel is like a large Youth Hostel. All of the doors are sticky, the place smells of cigarette smoke, presumably coming from the smokers at the entrance and is terribly sign posted.The room was small, shabby and dated.

Upgrade??? Only if they meant from the building site which is now the Four Seasons.

On the positive side, we ate in the Aspects restaurant which was the only positive aspect of the whole stay. It was under staffed. but the staff were very pleasant and did their best. The food was excellent.

On saying that, breakfast was understaffed as well and a bit of a shambles.

If the Four Seasons is closed why not tell people, rather than con them into believing that the hotel which they've viewed on the website is where they will be staying and putting them in another hotel and conning them again by saying it's an upgrade.

I welcome some response from the hotel management, who were conspicuous by their absence during our check in and checkout.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dalethedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Strathspey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2011

Dear Dalethedog

Thank you for your review about the Four Seasons Hotel, the title of which we do not agree with. We obviously do however want to solve what is clearly a very complicated scenario as we do not have your contact details to be able to respond directly to you. To this end please at your convenience please feel free to contact me at the telephone number provided below so we can resolve this issue for you.

Best Regards

Gina Macpherson
01479 815 123

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Had a really nice room with a fantastic view. Staff were friendly and helpful made you feel very welcome. The food on the resort was of a very high standard.
Excellent Leisure Facilities according to my partner. I decided to opt for a couple of treatments in the spa which were great again the girs in the spa were fantastic. The Resort is located a couple of minutes from the village. Had a Great Stay and will return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dgm037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Strathspey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Dear Dgm037
Thank you for your feedback – it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about the resort and the staff and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

As with the previous reviews the hotel is tired and in need of a complete refurbishment. Stayed for Hogmanay, food was horrendous, service was terrible and the brochure was misleading. I would recommend the Cairngorm Hotel at the bottom of the hill where the food is home made and every member of staff smiles and wants to have a friendly chat, you can tell this is the place to eat & stay in Aviemore the restaurant & bar were heaving.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Strathspey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience whilst staying at the Resort. Delivering the highest standards of service for all our guests is very important to us and we would strive to improve this where this has not been the case.

If you would like to contact me at the hotel directly, Gina Macpherson, I would be more than happy to discuss your comments further and to resolve any issues for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Sstayed here for skiiing break with friends over new year on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast deal. Food was good with plenty of choice on the buffet and was of decent quality. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bedroom was clean and comfortable but in line with all public areas was in need of renovation as the furnishings are dated and worn throughout.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillWBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Strathspey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Dear GillWBay

Thank you for your review, I know our executive chef, Mark Swinney and his team will be delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience while staying with us.

I have passed on your kind comments to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.

We note your comments on the room and will ensure that we take these points on board when completing our refurbishment planning for the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Aviemore Resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Nice hotel

Helpful and efficient staff
Good location
Rooms nice as you would expect in a 4 star

But the same menu 2 nights running at the Aspect restaurant is not acceptable given the narrow choice of just 3 things. I hope it changes tomorrow!

There are other places to eat but I was hoping to take advantage of a traditional hotel dinning room.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank York21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Strathspey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Dear York 21

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us.

I have checked with our Executive Chef and he assures me that there is always a choice of six main courses available on the Aspects restaurant. The menu items reflect the seasonality of our fresh produce.

Across the resort we have several dining options available to guests including Aspects, we also have Laggan lounge bar and Giovanni’s Italian Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Rooms were spacious and very clean. Breakfast was excellent.
Staff, very helpful.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nader y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2010

Many thanks AlcazarJerusalem for thepositive comments you have given our hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind remarks to all the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
If you are planning on visiting us again AlcazarJerusalem, pleasedo not hesitate to contact me and I would be happy to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
24.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathspey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathspey Hotel

Address: Strathspey House Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RP, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £77 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathspey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strathspey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore
Four Seasons Aviemore
Aviemore Four Seasons
Strathspey Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing