We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is there anybody there?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Is there anybody there?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Having flown into Inverness Airport we travelled by mini bus to Aviemore. On arrival at the Macdonald complex our driver obtained our room keys from the Conference Centre and dropped us at the hotel. We entered the reception area which was completely deserted as was the rest of the hotel, so we made our way up to our room on the fifth floor. The room was excellent with large,comfortable bed and views over the town and railway station. Overall, having read the reviews of other residents we were pleasantly surprised by the situation and facilities provided for us. The only negative of our stay was the quantity and quality of the food which we were provided with. Had this been of a better standard, our rating of the hotel would have been much higher

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review.
I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the food standard - we tend to get very positive reviews regarding the quality of the food. Please note that your comments have been passed on to the relevant department.

I am delighted to hear that you were happy the your room and found the resort accommodating.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    36
    32
    35
    28
See reviews for
20
45
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for one night while on an organized tour of Ireland and Scotland.

Its a big place with comfortable rooms. Keep in mind that you are probably just in the room to sleep. So enjoy the bar/pub, or the spa. Great big pool with steam rooms. Great for unwinding at the end of the day touring.

Breakfast was just right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found the resort accommodating.
It is great that you had the opportunity to make use of our leisure facilites and enjoyed them.

We hope to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

A Perfect Location in Aviemore


The Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, which seems to be part of a much larger ‘Aviemore Complex’ appears to be an austere Tower Block, almost prison like as you enter from the rear car park.

On entering, you are greeted with a fully refurbished attractive foyer, which has comfortable seating and is inviting.

The rooms are decorated to a good standard, although rooms on higher floors are still awaiting a lttle more attention. Room Maid Service was patchy – some rooms were missed on some days – but staff were friendly and helpful when asked.

Buffet breakfast was top quality – lovely fresh fruit – not tinned – and there was a wonderful choice for the cooked breakfasts.

The evening meal was waiter served, somewhat portion controlled, but again of top quality. The main asset of this Hotel is its position – Aviemore train station is a couple of mins walk down the hill.
Not forgetting a good sized ‘Tesco’ a couple of mins walk away too.

Don’t be put off by the dingy outside appearance – it’s a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanDWarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel accommodating.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the dining experiences you had and I am happy to hear that you found the staff welcoming and helpful.

We hope to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just had a friends reunion at this hotel. Although beds very comfortable and bathrooms obviously just up-graded, overall this hotel looks sad and tired. Our bedroom had a stale smell and the television only worked on occasions. Drinks at the bar were really expensive. Had a coffee in Costa bar in the centre this morning. Waited about 10 minutes to be served despite only a few people in the queue. When they arrived the cups were only half-full. The barista said it was the machine's fault. We waited for another 10 minutes while 2 more coffees were made. NOT good enough!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel and coffee shop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with you stay.
We always aim for the highest possible guest service and take it seriously when guests find this not to be the case.
I am sorry that you were dissapointed with the room you stayed in - I do wish you would have spoken to us during your stay in order for us to find you a room that would have been more accommodating.
Please note that you feedback regarding the coffee shop has been passed on to the relevant department.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back,

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Hastings Point, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is an older style motel although our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The dinners were very good and there was a variety of breakfast foods to choose from. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were told that winter snow skiing was only half an hour away making this hotel a popular base for snow skiers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieB1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor.
I am happy to hear that you had a good stay in the resort and enjoyed the dining offered. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again over the winter time if you do come up to do some skiing.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here 2 nights on a 16 day tour. This was by far the worst hotel we stayed at.
Lifts - were always very slow
Wifi - is available in another building 5 mins from the room
Pool - is available across 2 roads
Dining room - had 3 buckets on floor to catch water dripping from ceiling
Toilet - would not flush at all for the 2 nights
Shower - we couldn't get any cold water in the mix, so we ran a bath and let it cool.....
Room - there was no space to move, lots of cupboard and bench but nowhere for our bags.
The good things - the grounds had pleasant walkways, and rabbits.
Dinner - was just edible, lucky we were hungry.

Room Tip: There has to be one room with a working toilet but I don't know which it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louisa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the time taking to write a review. We always strive for the best possible guest service and I am sorry your did not feel that this was the case during your stay.
As the hotel is part of a resort we do not operate as a stand alone hotel – which is why the pool would be located in a different building that is dedicated to leisure activities only.
I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your bathroom during your stay – I do wish you would have informed us of your problems during your stay in order for us to find you a room that would be more accommodating for your stay.
I can inform you that the resort now offers WIFI in all four hotels onsite.
Thank you again for writing a review.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very basic room. Old fashioned tv set. Shower - fluctuated between full and a trickle, possibly depending on how many other guests were using theirs at the time. Drinks expensive. Lift only took 4 people at any one time. Many long corridors to find room. The windows in our room were so dirty we didn't really need to close the curtains. We did not get to enjoy the view at all. We were at the back, above the car parks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxtaNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor – we always appreciate all guest feedback.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room that you stayed in. It is unfortunate that you didn’t inform us of your concerns during your stay in order to find you a room that would have been more accommodating for you whilst staying with us.
Please note that your comments regards the hotel décor has been taken on board and passed on.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore
Four Seasons Aviemore
Aviemore Four Seasons
Strathspey Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing