We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop for a meal”
Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My family and I were looking for a place to eat on Monday and we came across the Cairngorn Hotel in Aviemore. The place was very busy but we managed to get a table in the restaurant. The staff were very pleasant and friendly, we were served almost immediately after we were seated and the food came shortly afterwards which we all enjoyed very much. We would definitely go back again when next in Aviemore.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glentorets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Cairngorm Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were in Aviemore to celebrate a birthday by having dinner on the Strathspey Railway (something I can heartily recommend!) and the hotel seemed the ideal choice just opposite the station. our room was one of the smaller ones at the back of the hotel (we were told about this when we booked) but it had everything you need for a short stay. The welcome at the hotel was warm and friendly (even although the hotel was busy with a wedding). The bar is well stocked and a pleasant place for a drink. We sampled the hotel's food on the train (the hotel does the food on the evening dinner "specials") and despite the obvious difficulties there must be in serving a four course dinner in the restricted facilities on a train the food was excellent and professionally served. I was very happy with this hotel and would use it again.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a few days try to get one of the larger rooms. The rooms at the back of the...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My wonderful boyfriend booked this hotel as a surprise for us. Fantastic hotel, lovely food & friendly staff. Our room was at the back of the hotel which was very quiet. Good spacious rooms, comfy bed. Very relaxing. Definately coming back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 114. This room was at the back of the hotel which was quiet apart from the birds i...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

A great place to stop if yopu are passing through Aviemore and looking for a quick meal. Easy parking around the hotel. Service is good, food portions fairly large and good value for money. One of these days I will take a longer stop and hopefully try the food on the train which this hotel provides.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

After 9 hour journey was denied access to our (empty) room + had to sit in reception. Woken up by noise in the small hours by hotel revellers in hotel grounds. Unconvinced that the English are actually welcome and overall quite disappointed with the lack of a warm welcome, in no doubt that this is a business first and clearly a good one!

Room Tip: If you want to stay IN Aviemore then this is smack bang in the centre but were I to go back I would...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stopped here on way South for lunch and was not disappointed. Efficient service, especially when you have kids with you. Food is good value for money, try the prawn baked potato have never had such a large helping, very fresh and tasty, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peppa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

A nice, clean and traditional hotel. The rooms were small but well equipped and clean. The staff was professional. The food in the restaurant was good, and the breakfast diverse and satisfying. The bar was fun and they had locally brewed Cairngorns beer on tap. Like everything in Aviemore, everything was in walking distance, including some wonderful morning walks in nature.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_Donald_Stein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
1.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
224 reviews
9.9 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £94 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing