We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairngorm Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Fairwinds Hotel(Carrbridge)
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Range Hotel(Aviemore)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel(Carrbridge)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel(Aviemore)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveller rating
438
282
78
20
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
282
78
20
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslively bartraditional hotelopposite the train stationgenerous portionsnon residentsfamily meallovely mealvenisonfriendly hotelpuddingvisiting aviemorean evening mealwaiting staffno liftbreakfast was excellentcairngormturret
Filter
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 845 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

11 of us turned up for lunch on 30 Dec no booking, we were seated within 5 minutes. Food Excellent portions great service excellent. Waiting staff very helpful, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great value lunch. Will be going again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dornoch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We tipped up at the cairngorm at around 2am on Sunday 22nd December after driving up the A9 in a total whiteout and spinning our car off the road.. We limped into Aviemore as we couldn't drive any further in the conditions and we found our way to the Cairngorm Hotel , we were welcomed by the staff on shift who were complete angels... We were in a bit of a state, no bags, a rescue dog we had only just picked up and a bit shaken by our journey so far.. We were given a lovely comfortable room, with space for our dog, and offered drinks etc to settle out shattered nerves .. The kindness and thoughtfulness we were shown was wonderful.. Even our poor rescue dog was given 100% star treatment.. Before completing our journey in the morning we both had a fantastic breakfast and some titbits for the dog .. We can't thank the staff enough for all they did for us or recommend this hotel highly enough... We would stay here again in a heartbeat.. A perfect example of Scottish hospitality x

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rocomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have stayed at the Cairn quite a few times now and have never been let down in any aspect of the stay. From the excellent Bar food, to the wonderfull Breakfast and the service has always been of the highest standard. There are very few places we have stayed that I would so gladly rave on about. Well done to everyone at the Cairn and looking forward to seeing you in February.
All the best for 2014. Burnsy

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burnsy-fae-Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I will come back to the hotel in general in a moment but first i have to say that, as someone with a reasonable appetite, I have often commented on how hotels etc could perhaps push the boat out with an additional sausage or rasher of bacon at breakfast.

I am no hotelier but i do understand the basic principles of waste and cross-subsidy, and as such have wondered why a hotel could not perhaps offer an "upgrade" option.

Ta-daaaa. Whilst the 'standard' size breakfast would no doubt be fine for many visitors, there is an option to have a larger version for just a few pounds more - thus those with smaller appetites are not wasting food or being over-charged, whilst folk such as myself are more than happy to accept the upgrade option.

The hotel could not really be better situation for Aviemore, being on the main road, directly opposite a train station (there was no noise disturbance) and having adequate car-parking.

The hotel exterior and interior has character - this is NOT your typical characterless lump of corporate friendly brick and glass. Now i am not going to say it is the most plush or luxurious of hotels BUT it is the sort of place you can walk into and instantly feel comfortable.

The hotel has an adjoining restaurant and then bar - seemingly popular with both visitors and locals alike (which i feel suggests something). There was a minor irritation that, having initially sat in the bar, we had to move into the restaurant area in order to eat a 'proper' meal rather than a bar snack but that was hardly the end of the world.

Our meals were chosen from an expansive menu, were of good home-cooked style and service was astoundingly quick given how busy the place was.

The room itself, again was not luxurious, but was pleasantly adorned and decorated tastefully, it was clean and not claustrophobically small - although the bath was not meant for anyone of 6ft2.

Hotel reception and restaurant staff were pleasant and engaging - overall a great place we shall delight in revisiting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owsphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have stayed at The Cairn several times and have always had a great experience. The staff are really friendly whilst still being professional and could not do enough for us. Breakfast offered a good choice from fruit and cereals to a full Scottish breakfast. The restaurant at night did not disappoint either with a great choice and huge portions. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews