We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit”
Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I do love this hotel and it's setting and will go back but will definitely not stay in room 101. It was disappointing that at £100 a night the wifi was intermittent at best, yet all you had to do was walk down the road to a pub where access was no problem. As I run a business wifi access is important to me. All meals are excellent but it does get very busy and you cannot book for dinner. It would be nice if there was a residents only lounge as the bar gets very busy. It also seems that locals pay different prices at the bar as I saw someone pay less than I did for the same drinks, if there is a locals arrangement why isn't there a residents arrangement?

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 101 or 100, the bathrooms are side by side. On our first night the person next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selanchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    250
    64
    19
    26
See reviews for
166
339
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel for the third time, the first time several years ago was by accident and we are so glad we found it.

The Cairngorm Hotel has a traditionally Scottish decorate which some people may find is dated, but I think it adds to the charm and character of the property. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is always a buzz about the hotel and it is nice to sit in the lobby area and watch the world go by. We ate here each evening while staying in and the food was great, my only slight critic this time was that the breakfast was not as good as it had been on previous stays.

The bar is always lively and has entertainment most evenings. On this stay we were particularly entertained by singer Dave Holt on the Saturday night.

A very relaxing stay surrounded by stunning scenery, we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar0n_Ma55ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I went snowboarding in the Cairngorms and I booked a weekend stay in this hotel. My room was spacious and comfy. We also tried the restaurant, the food was good and the price was great. One point that I think could be improved it that the hotel restaurant doesn't accept reservations, so even though we were guests we still had to wait in the queue for a table.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natali222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We just arrived on the day and got a rate of £98 B/B. The room we got was tired looking and the bathroom very old fashioned with a sink so tiny it wasn't the nicest bathrooms I have been in for a Hotel. The room itself was big enough and we looked out to the front, which was nice. I got a WI FI code but it didn't connect! so a bit of a let down. Very handy for walking about and near the Train Station. So they can charge a good rate for that reason alone.
The breakfast was really nice, lots of fresh fruit and cold meats with cheese. I thought it was really well presented and fresh.
The hotel had a good friendly feeling and the receptionists were helpful. The room itself was a let down as it needs a freshening up with paint. I would recommend staying there for the location and the friendly bar and food.

Room Tip: The front facing rooms are good and you really don't hear the noise of traffic as it is set back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAFINDLAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We visit aviemore every year and we drink and eat here at least 5 times in the week we stay it's great anything from a quiz to live music at night, good homely food for comfort after long walks in the snow. A great place to visit!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank spitspot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We checked the reviews on tripadvisor before we booked, so looked at all the hotels in Aviemore. We certainly were not disappointed with this hotel. It does not have a pool, it does not have a lift, but it certainly has character. We found the room to be a little on the small side, but we also found it to be clean and had everything you would want, including windows that you could actually open (a rarity now in most hotels). What made this hotel was the staff, every staff member we came across was happy, smiling, warm and friendly. Overall, we were very happy with the hotel and staff and would stay here again.

The beds were firm, but we had a great nights sleep, breakfast was cooked fresh each morning, there was plenty of car parking and the hotel is right opposite the bus stop for the bus to the ski station.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have just returned from a weekend stay at the Cairngorm Hotel. The décor may not be trendy/modern but I think that it adds to the charm of this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, albeit the en suite was a bit snug, the sink was really too small to wash in. The view overlooked the yard (bit tatty). On the plus side, the hot baths were heaven. The staff were absolutely amazing, nothing was too much trouble. The waiting staff were extremely efficient, the best service I have experienced in a long time. The Menu was varied, the food was well cooked, tasty, with good size portions. The hotel was very busy and the bar (open to non-residents) was buzzing. Would definitely recommend this hotel. If you are a nature lover, if you walk up past Macdonalds Resort their is a lovely nature walk that takes you up into the hills behind the hotel. The bus up to the ski resort only cost £7.20 return for 2 people,
great value. The bus stop is across the road from the hotel. Try Roos restaurant, (portions, bit pricey but good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or front have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franklydear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
6.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
9.8 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Property: Cairngorm Hotel
Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing