We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions”
Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel but ate here a couple of times during our stay in Aviemore. Fabulous atmosphere, authentic Scottish experience with Scottish dishes on menu and a piper every evening Staff very helpful and friendly, food was superb quality very reasonably priced and absolutely huge in portion size, would highly recommend if you like a good value plate full

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moopboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    258
    67
    19
    26
See reviews for
177
350
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaudreuil-dorion, Quebec
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

A wonderful place to relax, laugh and dine. A suit of armor at the entrance, the tartan carpeting in the foyer and the warm comfortable feel of the hotel made our stay there memorable. There is a pub at the hotel so no need to go elsewhere. The meals served in the dining room are fantastic and the staff the same. Our next trip to the Highlands will include a stay at the Cairngorm.

Room Tip: There was a Harley Davidson bike week during the 3rd week which we missed but we did hear it was noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stopped off here at night last weekend, sunday night was not that busy but was quite drink, we were last 2 leave, good prices and then i went back next day for hot chocolate, it was cold but they replaced it no problem.

Ideal and great location

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank G_Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

If you like tartan and bagpipes this is the place to be! Beautiful hotel with delicious local food. For starters I had black pudding with apples and bacon which was amazing. Followed by fish cakes and chips which was very filling and finally Osprey Folly which was a mix of ice cream, meringue and berries. Service was friendly and efficient. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladvonbounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel in for 3 nights in June 2014
Cost: £65per night.
Location: central - right opposite the train station
Parking: plenty of parking in the hotel car park
Staff: friendly but professional.

Room: my room was on the first floor at the end of the corridor (room 114 I think) at the back of the building, so no scenic views but easily accessible for me and my dog and very quiet which was ideal. It was small but very nicely decorated and comfortable (lovely thick, plush curtains and soft furnishings etc.) Shower was a bit outdated but it did the job and the water was hot. They also provide miniature toiletries
.
Food: breakfasts were AMAZING! I would stay again just for one of their breakfasts! But I couldn’t try the restaurant or the bar food for reasons which I’ll go on to explain.
Dog Friendliness: had I been staying here on my own I probably would have scored a 5 rather than a 4 because it really is a lovely hotel which I would/do recommend and would stay at again. However, travelling with a dog did mean that I was somewhat restricted - even at a 'dog friendly hotel'. My dog was only 13 months old at the time of our stay it was her first time away from home. She is crate trained but I discovered that she didn’t like being left in a strange room on her own so would bark when I tried to leave her to get food. This is not the hotels fault (obviously) but it had a big impact on my stay. Because of this, breakfast was the only meal I ate during my stay. How I coped with the situation doesn’t have any bearing on this review but had I been able to take her into the restaurant or bar area it would have greatly reduced my stress levels during my stay.

Room Tip: There are no lifts in this hotel so if you have any concerns about climbing flights of stairs I reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Well situated in the centre of Aviemore the hotel has all the required facilities for a comfortable stay, although in need of refurbishment. Our twin room had a good shower, important for two wet hillwalkers. Dinner and breakfast are of a good standard. The restaurant does not take dinner reservations, but we were shown straight to a table at 8.00 pm on a Sunday, despite the hotel being very busy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in The Cairngorm Hotel in Aviemore for 2 nights, as a family of 4. We were given a family room at the 2nd floor, which looked like attic. Room was very small to take a double bed and another double/sofa bed for the kids. We could barely move around. Luckily we found excellent, hot, weather when we visited but that meant that the room was boiling and with no airconditioning we struggled to rest.

The lady at reception was helpful for any request, as were most of the people at the restaurant and the pub. Talking about pub, it is a great place to hang around after a day out. Good crowd, with a singer on one of the days made it feel all very welcoming.

Room Tip: There is no lift, and although the stairs are comfortable to use, this can be an issue for some. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sel099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
1.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
9.9 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Property: Cairngorm Hotel
Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing