We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
470
293
86
21
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
293
86
21
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lively bar traditional hotel opposite the train station generous portions non residents family meal lovely meal venison friendly hotel visit aviemore pudding evening meal waiting staff stayed here for one night breakfast was excellent no lift cairngorm
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent menu service and fantastic food I had the roast lamb massive Yorkshire pudding with at least 3 slices of meat and lovely veg then the white lady pancakes to die for,great lively bar with friendly staff and service friendly locals as well. Great entertainment as well not the first time been here and certainly not the last

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank Quest581176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

When booking this hotel we thought we would push the boat out and pay a little more that we usually do for a classy hotel in the centre of town. However with the exception of the breakfast (which was excellent) and the really friendly staff, this hotel did not fulfil our expectations
The room we were given was directly above the main bar. You could hear every clink of a glass, the shuffle of chairs and every conversation both inside and outside the hotel. The volume of the noise from the evening entertainment was horrendous and lasted till after midnight, admittedly we did receive an email from the hotel warning us that some noise would be evident but this in no way came near to explaining just how loud the noise would be and having paid £118 per night I expected more. In addition at check in we were advised that we could not pre book a table for an evening meal. The reason for this became blatantly obvious that evening, they really do not need your business. The dining rooms and bar are packed every evening in fact the reception becomes packed with waiting diners making it difficult to access the hotel. This pub (I can’t call it a hotel) relies on a high turnover of diners “pack them in and get them out quick” seems the operative phrase and I can imagine that the overall dining experience would not be very pleasant. Suffice it to say that we never dined at the venue (which is a first when we have stayed overnight somewhere).

Room Tip: Avoid room 105
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Spock56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We have dined at the Cairngorm Hotel, lots of times over the years of visiting the area, usually we took in the Thursday evening Scottish Buffet, tremendous value even though the price as increased over the years! This time thinking solely of our waistlines we called on Wednesday evening. No starters, just a main meal each I chose Chicken Ben Macdui, Mash and Roast Veg. my wife had one of her favourites Aberdeen Angus Steak, Mushroom and Ale Pie with Chips. Brought in no time at all and cooked to perfection, superb. Still a large amount of food and great value. Food bill £25.70. So good food in good surroundings and good atmosphere. Great.

Room Tip: Restaurant Visit Only
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Trotter49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We had passed this Hotel on a numerous amount of times while in Scotland over the years and on this occasion decided to pop in for our evening meal. So glad we did the food was spot on and overall a very pleasant experience. Will defo pop in again when next in Scotland

Stayed: April 2018
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

The hotel is in a great location and they provide an excellent breakfast. It had a lovely traditional Scottish decor and we had a recently decorated room, with a comfy bed. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was away from the main road, so was quiet and looked out over mature trees
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews